We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not if you want to sleep in” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not if you want to sleep in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed two nights after finding a discounted rate on wotif. We had been staying in motels for the previous 1.5 weeks of our trip around New Zealand and thought a hotel would be a nice change at a good price.

POSITIVES
Big king sized bed (maybe the bed size names refer to different things in NZ, we found lots of other places claiming king beds were actually queens, queens were actually doubles).
Lovely bath with great smelling bath products.
Good location to quickly and easily walk into town (although it is up a gentle hill returning to the hotel).

NEGATIVES
VERY NOISY in the early mornings. Sound travels between rooms and lots of guests get up early for tours or flights.
We booked a room with a "garden" view - apparently a street is a garden.
As is usual with hotels rather than motels, parking and Internet cost additional. But there was lots of free unlimited street parking around, and many cafes and bars in town have free wifi.

Overall it was OK for a short cheap stay, but we preferred most of the motels we stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't stay near tour groups if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and feed back on your stay, we do have a couple of rooms that are close to the side road of the hotel and I think you have been mis allocated as you did book a garden view room, so my apoloies for that, appreciate your comments, thanks for taking the time to write in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    329
    176
    63
    29
See reviews for
131
345
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were asked if we wished to upgrade to a suite for the remarkably reasonable amount of $30. The suite was wonderfully spacious, clean and comfortable, had a view and allowed for us to relax in a 'homely' environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bailey74797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your room and the upgrade and thank you for your kind comments on the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May 2013. Gorgeous and comfortable room overlooking the lake. The autumn colours were glorious. Just a short walk from the centre of the town which has many cafes, restaurants and some good shops. (I had forgotten nightware and a Peter Alexander shop was open at 630pm on a Thursday night enabling me to purchase some!) Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. While I was attending a convention I didn't have a lot of time in the hotel but what time I had there couldn't be faulted, although when a tourist bus turned up the lobby was very crowded and the staff very busy. Nonetheless they were efficient and pleasant throughout. Unfortunately the hotel was coming to grips with a new TV feed and this wasn't working so well through our stay but didn't inconvenience us as we weren't in much of the time. Hope this is now sorted though.

Room Tip: Suggest lake front room. So nice to have the outlook. Worth an extra few dollars.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crystal_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we have now finished what proved to be quite a dificult transition to digital and have now flat screen tv`s in all the rooms. Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just what you'd expect from a large chain hotel. Staff were helpful and pleasant, room (2013) was a good size for three, comfortable and had a fine view of the lake and mountains. No air con tho'. Breakfast was good and a reasonable price but of course, price is subjective. Experienced some connection difficulty with wi-fi in room but used public areas instead. There was some noise in corridor from early risers going on coach trips . The hotel caters for many coach parties. The Copthorne Lakeside is within easy walking distance of the town centre. Heading into town is all downhill. Coming back, it is a steep climb for those not at their fittest. Queenstown has lots of great restaurants so we didn't eat dinner at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Bungy is great! Helicopter flight to Remarkables not worth money - too weather dependant. Gondola - great views - as good as helicopter trip and much cheaper! SS Earnshaw trip - very
pleasant. Arrowtown is an interesting place. Splendid all day trip to Doubtful Sound even although it's a long coach journey. Ferburger for lunch and you may not need dinner! Recommend 'Sosso' and 'Flame' for dinner

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the hotel and glad you enjoyed your stay, we certainly appreciate all feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This room has an awesome view! We loved it. Everything in this room works well and it's lovely and quiet. Nice friendly staff. Great place. (Also happy to refund a bond for a phone charger charged to our room by mistake when we found this on the bill a few days after our stay - great customer service, thank you)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Classkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments on the hotel and glad you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traveled to the Copthorne Lakefront hotel for the NZ Sweet Adedlines Convention. The hotel was back from the Lakefront, so it's name is misleading. Check in was straight forward. The rooms were clean and quite a good size. The one I was I had two queen sized beds. Bathroom was good, including a toilet, basin, bath and shower with good pressure and consistent hot water.
There was nowhere to plug in the jug to make a cup of tea or coffee other than on the floor or the bathroom.
We wanted to buy a meal but were told there'd be at least a one hour wait, so went over the road to the Millenium Copthorne where it was not at all busy but still took over an hour. We may as well have stayed where we were.
The breakfast was lovely. Plenty of selection and regularly replenished.
Nowhere to buy a nice coffee or muffin in the hotel and since it was raining we didn't want to walk to town.
Checkout was efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake. We didn't have one but people who had a view said it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TirelessWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments, we were much busier on that night than we expected and I apologise for not being able to serve you in a timely fashion, really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed on level six.
On enter to the room. We were greeted by a broken bedside light shade on one side and a bedside light that didn't work on the other. We opened the curtains to admire the garden view which we booked, only to be greeted with a street view. The windows were dirty with broken eggs running down them. Disgusting. The TV didn't work properly. We complained to reception who tried to make up some story about digital reception quality.The fact was the very old TV was on its last legs. They sent someone to our room who couldn't fix the TV and said they would get a workman out in four days time. He would tell the front desk. A hour later we complained again, but this time requested a new room. We won't be back EVER!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing