We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Do not on any account stay in one of the rooms looking into the courtyard. There is no attempt by management to manage people sitting outside late at night. They don't have to be rowdy but since there is no air conditioning in the rooms you have to sleep with the door open which means that it is very difficult to sleep. This is our last night here. It will also be our last visit. Fine for a one night stay maybe. Oh, and don't finish the box of tissues during your stay - it is the only one you are going to get.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    336
    175
    63
    29
See reviews for
134
346
59
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived at the Copthorne one of two in town. We were met by a helpful and friendly receptionist. Our room was large, big comfortable bed and had an amazing view over the lake, which was lovely. The location of the hotel is a short ten minute walk down the hill into town. There is parking at the hotel which is charged however you are told that you can park any where in the street for free, which we did and got a space right outside the hotel. However, take note if you have a rental car and are new to New Zealands parking rules. Make sure your car is parked the same way as the cars are driving. We were not told this information and parked facing on coming traffic and got a parking fine of $40 dollars which worked out more expensive then parking in the hotel car park. Despite this, we loved our stay at this hotel and Queenstown is one of our favorite places that we visited. Have a Ferg burger (they are huge), blue cod & chips from Aggies Shack down at the lake front.(the best crispy batter that I have ever eaten). If you have time visit Arrowtown which is a quaint town approx twenty minutes from Queenstown.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redkaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, glad you enjoyed your stay and your trip to Arrowtown only sorry that you were not aware of the parking issue in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed three nights in December as part of a NZ tour. Our room (3323) was very clean, quiet and spacious with a fabulous view over Lake Wakatipu. Service was excellent throughout and the restaurant food equally good. OK its a bit of a hard stroll into or particularly back from the town centre depending on your fitness but it is worth it and there are buses.
The lakeside walk to Frankton is also nice - or in the other direction to the botanic gardens.
As others have stated - the short period of free wifi is annoying and very cheapskate for quality hotels - but it seems common practise in NZ. The hotel wings are quite separated and can initially be hard to negotiate but once achieved its fine. Queenstown is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

2 Copthorne's in town - this one is on the left side of the road with fabulous lake views. Lobby and dining room very nice. Note the custom carpet. Front desk helpful but not always there. Rooms are large and beds comfy. Ask for the lake view rooms. Bathroom needs an upgrade just from use. It's warn out.

Queenstown is fabulous. Do the jetboats and go up the gondola for sure. Good hikes up there too. Arrowtown is cute (20 minutes away) - go see the old houses the miners used. Pick some plums off the trees in that park. Yumm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthCuritiba_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments on the hotel glad you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I booked a Superior Lake View Room and was placed in one which looked straight out to a retaining wall with a peak of the lake. When I enquired about the view our room was changed from one end of level 2 to the other which although had a peak of the view was nothing like what is shown on the website.
As we moved to this new room we were met with a very flustered receptionist who was rushing to retrieve the message and bottle of wine, dressing gown and slippers etc which had been left for the guest this room was allocated to. On doing so he left a large wet patch on the table.
I mentioned to him that this room's view was also of a retaining wall but he told me it was a lakeview room and that's what I paid for.
I decided not to argue but I would have thought that lake view did not mean that you have to stand in the corner of the room to see a snippet of water.
Also for the duration of our stay there was hair from another traveller behind the bathroom door. obviosly the cleaner did not close the door to clean behind it.

Room Tip: I would not return to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on the hotel, I am only sorry you did not find your stay as good as it should have been, I will certainly look into why you were allocated the room that you were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here one night with a package deal we won. It was all inclusive one night, dinner and breakfast. The room we stayed in was very comfortable with an awesome view of the lake. The restaurant was well positioned with awesome views of the hotel and the snow top mountains. as for the food, it was not very appealing and hugely over priced. We had entree and main and that was a struggle to find anything appealing on the menu. Thankfully we did not have to pay for this. The breakfast was the usual buffet breakfast, although nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked our room thru wotif for a great price,was an easy 5 min stroll to town so was great to go out to eat & not have to use the car. Room was decorated to a very high standard & bathroom looked new. The bed was king size & gorgeous!!!! :) Very comfortable with lovely pillows. Our room was also very quiet we never heard any other guests coming & going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing