We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab views and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fab views and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

2 Copthorne's in town - this one is on the left side of the road with fabulous lake views. Lobby and dining room very nice. Note the custom carpet. Front desk helpful but not always there. Rooms are large and beds comfy. Ask for the lake view rooms. Bathroom needs an upgrade just from use. It's warn out.

Queenstown is fabulous. Do the jetboats and go up the gondola for sure. Good hikes up there too. Arrowtown is cute (20 minutes away) - go see the old houses the miners used. Pick some plums off the trees in that park. Yumm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthCuritiba_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments on the hotel glad you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    329
    175
    62
    29
See reviews for
131
343
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I booked a Superior Lake View Room and was placed in one which looked straight out to a retaining wall with a peak of the lake. When I enquired about the view our room was changed from one end of level 2 to the other which although had a peak of the view was nothing like what is shown on the website.
As we moved to this new room we were met with a very flustered receptionist who was rushing to retrieve the message and bottle of wine, dressing gown and slippers etc which had been left for the guest this room was allocated to. On doing so he left a large wet patch on the table.
I mentioned to him that this room's view was also of a retaining wall but he told me it was a lakeview room and that's what I paid for.
I decided not to argue but I would have thought that lake view did not mean that you have to stand in the corner of the room to see a snippet of water.
Also for the duration of our stay there was hair from another traveller behind the bathroom door. obviosly the cleaner did not close the door to clean behind it.

Room Tip: I would not return to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on the hotel, I am only sorry you did not find your stay as good as it should have been, I will certainly look into why you were allocated the room that you were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here one night with a package deal we won. It was all inclusive one night, dinner and breakfast. The room we stayed in was very comfortable with an awesome view of the lake. The restaurant was well positioned with awesome views of the hotel and the snow top mountains. as for the food, it was not very appealing and hugely over priced. We had entree and main and that was a struggle to find anything appealing on the menu. Thankfully we did not have to pay for this. The breakfast was the usual buffet breakfast, although nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HardyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked our room thru wotif for a great price,was an easy 5 min stroll to town so was great to go out to eat & not have to use the car. Room was decorated to a very high standard & bathroom looked new. The bed was king size & gorgeous!!!! :) Very comfortable with lovely pillows. Our room was also very quiet we never heard any other guests coming & going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Copthorne is about a 10-minute walk or a one-stop bus ride from central Queenstown, so the location is removed from the downtown noise. The bus also continues to the airport, making for a convenient exit from town. I generally liked my stay at the Copthorne with a couple reservations. On the plus side, the helpful staff stored a bag for me while I went hiking for a few days. The room was big and well appointed enough. On the minus side, the king-size bed was really two twins pushed together, so I'd always feel the ridge on my back if i rolled to the center. The hotel's sprawling layout and unusual numbering system made getting around a bit confusing -- just as I was getting the hang of it, it was time to check out. There's no swimming pool or fitness room (facilities one might expect at a large resort property). Also, I noticed that the front desk was unattended several times during my comings and goings, which would have been inconvenient if I had a problem.

Would I stay here again? If I found a decent room rate (as I did this time), I'd consider it, for sure. Without that, I'd be more likely to try another Queenstown hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through wotif, making it a very reasonable stay for the price we paid. Service was good and efficient and we were also lucky to get an upgrade.

The hotel is a bit further out of town but for the money we paid in queenstown, in peak season, is good value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilani79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a response on Trip Advisor, I will pass on to the staff your kind comments and I hope you had a good break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

There are two Copthorne hotels in Queenstown, the Lakefront Resort where we stayed and the Lakeview, just across the road (I gather Copthorne bought this from a previous owner). Slightly confusing, particularly as we had a lake view room at the Lakefront resort. Both are a 20' taxi ride from the airport (and on the edge of town nearest the airport).
We were well pleased with our three-night stay - the staff were very helpful (eg loan of a British plug charger) and once you had the layout sorted in your mind, it was an easy trip between lobby and our spacious room. The view of the lake and mountains was spectacular, though this is the upper part of the lake rather than the busy part facing downtown. A bottle of wine welcomed us to our room, which was very quiet.The grounds between hotel and lake are quite attractive, but watch your need for a daytime nap does to co-incide with the lawn mowing schedule.
The first night we thought we would try their restaurant, and were surprised to find that this is just 20 covers on a balcony above the lobby (the breakfast room is separate, and could provide extra restaurant space if there was the demand). Only three tables were occupied the evening we were there; food and wine were excellent and the French waitress charming, but she admitted that most guests ate in town, or were in groups whose dining was accommodated elsewhere. One problem is that the noise from the lobby (particularly groups arriving and departing) impinges on the restaurant's ambience. A glass screen is needed.
The hotel is a 10' walk into town, downhill going, uphill coming back, though there is a bus service running every 30 minutes until late evening. The front desk will call taxis. We preferred the quiet location to the bustle of downtown.
It is true that some parts of the hotel could do with a bit of a freshen up. Our room was opened with a key, which meant we had to hand it in to the desk when coming and going, no problem except when finding the lobby full of groups trying to check in. However we were generally able to catch the eye of the front desk staff and 'jump' the queue. In fairness we were there at a busy time (pre-Christmas).
This is not a hotel for the party crowd, the bar adjacent to the restaurant being equally small!

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing