We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
New York City, New York, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Copthorne is about a 10-minute walk or a one-stop bus ride from central Queenstown, so the location is removed from the downtown noise. The bus also continues to the airport, making for a convenient exit from town. I generally liked my stay at the Copthorne with a couple reservations. On the plus side, the helpful staff stored a bag for me while I went hiking for a few days. The room was big and well appointed enough. On the minus side, the king-size bed was really two twins pushed together, so I'd always feel the ridge on my back if i rolled to the center. The hotel's sprawling layout and unusual numbering system made getting around a bit confusing -- just as I was getting the hang of it, it was time to check out. There's no swimming pool or fitness room (facilities one might expect at a large resort property). Also, I noticed that the front desk was unattended several times during my comings and goings, which would have been inconvenient if I had a problem.

Would I stay here again? If I found a decent room rate (as I did this time), I'd consider it, for sure. Without that, I'd be more likely to try another Queenstown hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    350
    182
    64
    31
See reviews for
146
356
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through wotif, making it a very reasonable stay for the price we paid. Service was good and efficient and we were also lucky to get an upgrade.

The hotel is a bit further out of town but for the money we paid in queenstown, in peak season, is good value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilani79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a response on Trip Advisor, I will pass on to the staff your kind comments and I hope you had a good break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There are two Copthorne hotels in Queenstown, the Lakefront Resort where we stayed and the Lakeview, just across the road (I gather Copthorne bought this from a previous owner). Slightly confusing, particularly as we had a lake view room at the Lakefront resort. Both are a 20' taxi ride from the airport (and on the edge of town nearest the airport).
We were well pleased with our three-night stay - the staff were very helpful (eg loan of a British plug charger) and once you had the layout sorted in your mind, it was an easy trip between lobby and our spacious room. The view of the lake and mountains was spectacular, though this is the upper part of the lake rather than the busy part facing downtown. A bottle of wine welcomed us to our room, which was very quiet.The grounds between hotel and lake are quite attractive, but watch your need for a daytime nap does to co-incide with the lawn mowing schedule.
The first night we thought we would try their restaurant, and were surprised to find that this is just 20 covers on a balcony above the lobby (the breakfast room is separate, and could provide extra restaurant space if there was the demand). Only three tables were occupied the evening we were there; food and wine were excellent and the French waitress charming, but she admitted that most guests ate in town, or were in groups whose dining was accommodated elsewhere. One problem is that the noise from the lobby (particularly groups arriving and departing) impinges on the restaurant's ambience. A glass screen is needed.
The hotel is a 10' walk into town, downhill going, uphill coming back, though there is a bus service running every 30 minutes until late evening. The front desk will call taxis. We preferred the quiet location to the bustle of downtown.
It is true that some parts of the hotel could do with a bit of a freshen up. Our room was opened with a key, which meant we had to hand it in to the desk when coming and going, no problem except when finding the lobby full of groups trying to check in. However we were generally able to catch the eye of the front desk staff and 'jump' the queue. In fairness we were there at a busy time (pre-Christmas).
This is not a hotel for the party crowd, the bar adjacent to the restaurant being equally small!

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very convenient location- easy walking distance from Queenstown city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave us useful information on what activities to do while here. No issues with customer service whatsoever. The only issue we had was that the walls are a bit thin... So we were woken up a few times early in the morning by other guests in neighbouring rooms and in the hallway. Besides that- no problems at all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I will pass on your comments about the staff to them, glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post a comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is overpriced and had a very strict, stingy WiFi policy. Just give free WiFi - it's so basic and makes guests happy. The staff was also difficult when I was making the reservation - again, locked in strict policies. The hotel itself is tired, with threadbare carpets on the stairs. On the upsdide, it is an easy walk from the center of town for those who can take hills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found everything about this hotel perfect. All the staff were amazingly kind, helpful and friendly. I had a great view from my room. The hotel was very clean and I heard no noise from my room during my 16-day stay. The location was perfect - just a short walk into town. Tours and activities were organised so efficiently. The lounge with the panoramic view was an ideal place to sit and read. I enjoyed receiving a free paper, delivered to my door each morning, which I could read in the lovely, comfy bed while sipping a free hot chocolate from the selection of beverages. Gosh it was hard to leave !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathsMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments I will pass them on and I hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I choose this Hotel as I like the brand and I assumed it would be on the lakeside. It wasn't, it was well above the lake and well out of Queenstown up a steep hill. The hotel catered for asian bus parties and I would not reccomended it for the casual visitor. The place was well run but sterile, the rooms were a bit dated, the TV options poor and they wanted $300 for limited 7 day internet connectivity in the rooms: a rip off! They did have 20 minute free wifi usage (per day) in the lobby but this was limited and once logged in it was use it or loose it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing