We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Nearby Hotels
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$316
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$130
$117
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$162
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$198
$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,080
$830
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveler rating
178
385
206
72
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
385
206
72
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewrabbit warrenshort walktown centrecar parkingan upgradetwo double bedsnew zealandsouth islandstayed here for two nightsspa poolspacious roomeasy walkamazing viewslakeviewhillremarkables
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 874 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel a couple of times before so know what to expect. Breakfast is great and a short walk to town. The rooms could do with a revamp but are always clean and tidy and have plenty of room. There is a bus stop just across the road, perfect to catch the bus to and from the airport. If you receive a room overlooking the mountains it is lovely or enjoy their outside balcony for a drink to sit and relax and take in the scenery. Moments to treasure deal is good which includes your breakfast at $129 per night. Noise can travel a bit between rooms but we can honestly say it has so far not been a problem for us. We have also enjoyed a bar meal which was of good standard and staff have always been polite and helpful. The hotel also has two spa pools which are great in winter, just remember to book a time.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain views are nice
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed your break and the mountain views.Most of the rooms have had a refurbishment and the next batch will be done early next year. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

After just returning from a 10 day stay at the Copthorne I feel totally refreshed! From arrival until check out we felt very looked after.
Sam at reception was very helpful (even with the most obscure things) and Lisa the Ski Host seemed very knowledgable and nothing too much trouble. The housekeeping staff very friendly and always greeted you in the corridors.
We had what appeared to be a newly refurbished Superior King Room with a view of the lake and snow peaks from our balcony. Reasonale range of TV channels and plenty of wardrobe space for unpacking. The bathroom was smallish but an ample size with a very good shower over bathtub. The bathroom toiletries were also very good quality.
The breakfast room was a little dingy and just needed the curtains to be opened up to the view, breakfast buffet was good but after 10 days a little bored as menu never changed. Would have liked to see the tomatoes in the hot buffet have a little flavour as you could tell they were straight from a can. Crossaints always fresh and warm though.
Didnt eat at the restaurant, seemed a little pricey and the choices in town were so many. Bar prices a little high but you expect that I guess.
The private spa's are also another bonus. The get pretty popular late in the day/evening so book early. Basically it is two seperate rooms with an outdoor spa which caters for 6 people in each. You book it in 45 minute blocks and return the key tor eception for the next person to collect. A great idea and really nice in winter.
Internet handy with a free 20 minutes of wifi each day and then 3 terminals and the cost minimal at $1.25 for 15 minutes. You could also print for free from these terminals.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A superior King room seems to be the newest refurbs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments on the hotel, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown, I will pass on to the chef your comments on the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A romantic getaway for 4 nights, managed to secure a very cheap rate and then got an upgrade. Our room had recently been updated and had a lovely view across the lake.

The walk from the reception to the room was a long way, but this was great as we felt far away from the noise of this busy hotel. A short walk into town, hill a little difficult to manage with snow/ice, but taxi's are plenty and reasonably priced from here if you feel lazy or want to stay dry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Well, after 2 nights in this hotel i didn't want to leave Queenstown, the furnishings are fantastic, the service is superb, and the breakfast is quite nice.

Located right near town and with beutiful views accross the lake what more could you ask for.
a great place to kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Always a lake view room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your commenst on the hotel, pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and your stay in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Check in was friendly and quick, 4 night stay in a Garden view room and it was a bit of a let down. The room was very dark with barely any lighting. There was no information in the room about the hotel so we had to trek up to reception to ask any questions we had (the phone had no internal contact numbers on it). This was only a burden because you would often wait up to 5 minutes (and this is not an exaggeration) for a lift to arrive to take you upstairs. The bathroom seemed to have very little ventilation and so was constantly wet from steam for the duration of the stay. Some staff were friendly, others were brash. The room seemed as if it had not been maintained in a very long time and was missing so many little things. It's also perhaps a bit rich to describe the room as 'garden view' as there wasn't one really. The breakfast itself was quite good with a fairly large selection. Excellent location. I struggle to decide if it was good value or not but it is unlikely I would return unless it were for a very good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks for your comments on the hotel, we certainly did have a problem with our lifts at the time as one was out for 7 days which is how long it took for the contractor to get the necessary part so I do apologise for that. We are in the process of refurbing the rooms and have so far completed two thirds of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews