We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, apart from internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2010

These apartments are pretty good allround - spacious, clean, well located only a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Good value too - except for the internet access! Our apartment had no wireless access so I couldn't use my iPhone, and to use the cable broadband was about NZ$30 per day, which is the most expensive I've ever come across anywhere in the world.
Oh and one more small gripe - the kitchen has full cooking facilities but only a tiny bar fridge, with a freezer that didn't work (our icecream melted everywhere).
If they fixed these two problems I would recommend this place without any hesitation whatsoever, as everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetsDoLunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graemehorsley, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2010

Thank you for your comments.

I would respond however that the internet charges you experienced are typical in of most larger hotels in New Zealand as we all seem to use the same provider.
Yes you can get cheaper/free internet at other establishments but these generally have no controls, are on cheap/slow broadband plans, have little/no security and little/no support should you have difficulty in using it.
We do offer a superior internet product but at a price - luckily there are other alternatives nearby should you choose not to use it!

Thank you also for bringing the problem with your fridge to our notice - our maintenance team have checked all other units to ensure the problem is not occurring in other rooms.

Hope to see you back in Queenstown again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 905 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2010

A medium sized hotel 5 mins walk from town centre. Very clean, modern amenities & with extras like a dishwasher, clothes washer & drier. We had a room at the back of the complex which was very quiet & we had secure underground parking. Try the pub "Guilty" for dinner & live music.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpnmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Hotel is beautifully appointed. Situated high on a hill on one of the main roads into Queenstown therefore some slight traffic noise. Secure underground parking. 4 min walk from the centre (uphill on the way back)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Offering great views over Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu these apartments are a hidden gem. Ours was appointed with a fully fitted kitchen, incl dishwasher, washing machine & dryer as well as a lovey bathroom and generous sized living area and bedroom. It really was a 'suite' as the name of the hotel suggests. The price of 160 NZ$ (120 US$) was excellent value vs other accommodation on offer.

Staff were helpful and accommodating and offer all of the services that you'd expect from a decent hotel. There is free parking on-site.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mn4tcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

These apartments were very nice, quite large and spacious, and felt safe. We had an apartment on the ground floor and the view was partially obstructed by the other apartments, but we booked via last minute for NZ$160 and out main concern was the time to walk to town. This apartment fitted our requirements perfectly, being close to town - but located up the hill so possibly difficult for elderly people to do this walk home. If you are after location, we walked past the crown apartments which were super close - but we didn't see inside. The cleaners did a very rough job, only making the bed and changing towels - no cleaning of the shower or cleaning the drinking glasses whie we were there. We also parked our car for free. There was a public carpark nearby though which charged NZ$2.50/day, so having the carpark included is not a big deal in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemiss009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed twice and used the Aurum suites one night in the delux room with fully equipped kitchen and laundry and two nights in the rooms without facilities. At peak times expect delays before you can use your room . The Rugby sevens were on and being fully booked we were told to come back in half an hour at 3.15pm. At 4.30pm it still wasn't ready when we returned so finally got into our room at 4.45pm Most unsatisfactory. We had noise from revellers walking by on the street and cars accelerating up the hill that kept us awake until the early hours. The bed was very soft and sagged visibly and confirmed its "past its use by date" Hopefully these will be on the replacement list when tourism improves. Everything else was very good with lovely organic toiletries apart from no air conditioning and no through ventilation. A small fan is provided. Being a ground floor leaving the patio door open would have made the noise excessive and breached our security. Porter and storage service was very good.
The second stay 5 days later, the room was ready when we arrived at 4pm and stored equipment promptly arrived and were guided to our new room. No detergent or dishwashing brush was provided so rinsing under hot tap. When we asked for it the cleaner left detergent for a dishwasher!! A toaster, jug and less toiletries but still had a lovely bath and shower. View was excellent and really enjoyed the third floor and no noise this time being set back further from the road and elevated. Our room towels were not renewed by 4.45 pm and cleaning was still in progress in adjacent rooms. Most unsatisfactory to have a cleaner in your room at this time. We found that we could leave our balcony sliding door open but to cool the room we found propping open both the external door and room door for about 5minutes created quite a draught and cooled the room. Ideally if it was to be a four star hotel it needs the beds upgraded and air-conditioning and more staff are probably needed in Queenstown in general.

The hotel has a convoluted method to get to your room but this was not a major annoyance. We found you could short cut this at the ground floor exit. Some complain about the hill 100m at 1in 5 gradient. It took us about 3-4 mins to get down to the shops and 5mins to return and enjoyed the exercise.
The bus from the airport is only 100m up the hill at the millenium stop and was very convenient.
Would I stay again. Only if I was set back from the road on the second or third floor. Would I recommend it. Maybe but only to tolerant and less fastidious friends who want a good value place to stay. Stanley street is a main thoroughfare for revellers returning to hotels further up and traffic goes all night on it.
We didn't try the restaurant and enjoyed eating out out Pog Mahones looking out as the Earnslaw came in but would be convenient if wet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TramperNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The rooms in the scenic suites befit those of a conventional four-star hotel, I was very impressed. And although our room appeared to have a restricted view, we still got a wonderful view of the gondola and part of lake wakatipu. The only downside was the breakfast, it was poor, which didn't bother us much as Queenstown's incredible anyway, but if I had to be picky, I would pick on the breakfast!
In spite of this, the hotel is good value for money and I would happily return there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobula26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $136 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing