We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY HAPPY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed 3 nights. Paid $145 NZD for 1 brm, for 2 adults and 1 child. Reception were welcoming and friendly. A friendly porter was promptly available and met us in basement carpark to help with lugage. Good things:- great view of lake, very spacious, comfortable king bed, dryer, washing machine, clothes rack, bathrobes, slippers, deck chairs, plunger & coffee, endless supply toiletries, heated towel rack. The only possible downside but no big deal, sofa bed ok for child, but not recommend for adults, we had to pay for stay when booked, they take a $10 authorisation on credit card at check in, and a couple of worn patches on sofas. They do have a shared reception, and the hill back to suites is challenging was no big deal to us. We didn't use the restauarant or room service, so can't comment. Our room key got us in an entrance facing street, so we did not have to go through reception. There was nothing really to complain about. I rang to check in early as our child was unwell it was not a problem. If you particularly want a view or something done for you all you have to do is ask really, I think a lot of the time people just prefer to whine about trival things. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 910 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2009

Leisurely walk down to the town centre. (Uphill walk home) Rooms comfortable and clean. Shuttle to the snow fields directly across the road. Short walk to meeting place for most tours. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Samanthao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Having booked this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, we were excited about the location and views and weren't disapointed! The short walk into town was a pleasant one, and the front desk was helpful. The only small inconvienience was getting to our room- we had to go through the lobby, up the stairs, back outside, down a sidewalk, then down a long ramp! Other that small detail, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktfrostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

we stayed in this hotel for 23,24 andf 25 jan 2009 having booked it thro our travel agent specifically after seeing the good reviews on this website.

the good part - the room was spacious and well loaded with amenities.... (although the fridge wasnt working - the water which we had kept in the ice tray the previous evening was still water the next afternoon!! and when we called the hotel service to fix it, two boys came who in the first place had no clue where the fridge was plugged in the wall socket !!! and left apologising and saying that we would be given ice if called for!!)

apart from that, everything put us off!!

first, the hotel has no separate reception area and dining of its own!!!! the thing is that there is a hotel called Scenic Circle A-Line which is a three star hotel. The same hotel has constructed a different wing ( attached to A-Line) and named it as Aurum. hence Aurum has no separate reception etc. To walk to the Aurum rooms, you have to enter A line and solve a maze and trudge up within the hotel to reach the rooms.

The corridors of the rooms are absolutely grim with no sense of design and architechture at all!!

When you pay to stay in a 4 star hotel you dont want to do a marathon and reach your rooms and you also would want a sense of fulflment and privacy of your hotel!!

It was like the hotel was eating two meals in one buffet plate.

Secondly , there was no AC in the rooms. On being asked, the reception lady said that since it was winters and freezing 9 out of 12 months, there was no need for the AC !!!! Someone should ask her what about the rest three months when that is your peak tourist season - the summer season!!

Thirdly, the hotel itself was a very long and steep climb uphil from the downtown market ( no fault of the hotel but I mentioned this fact for the benefit of the fellow reavellers - since I could not read it in any of the reviews: had there been any mention of this fact I would probably have stayed in a different hotel)

Fourth, apart from the long climb uphil ( when one returns to the accomodation after a long day) , you are absolutely left seeting with rage to find that the ordeal is not over. The driveway of the hotel to reach the reception from the gate is another steep climb uphil. Should the hotel not have the sense to lower the reception area or install lifts from the gates!!! Surely you the there in queenston for adventure, but you return to your hotel to relax - having done the adventure thing!!

Finally, we stayed in NZ for about 16 nights. But nowhere were we given previously toasted bread for the breakfast . Here they kept the toast initially at the start of the breakfast, then refilled the basket only about 2 times ( max 3) during the course of the 3.5 hrs breakfast. When we reached the toast, they were totally soggy or not toasted properly and hence not worth eating.

So if you have a drive option or are OK with above - go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank globetrotter_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We drove into Queenstown without a hotel reservation.
After visiting half a dozen hotels, we arrived at the Aurum.
We were able to compare prices, rooms and location.
Our expectations were more than met at the Aurum.
They have a 3 star, cheaper hotel next door called A line....it looked very cheap and no where as comfortable as the 4 star Aurum.
It was an excellent experience with the only bad aspect being 2nd rate view. But this is only an issue if you plan to spend all your time in the room. Dont get me wrong, the hotel itself is well located walking distance to town.
Of the other hotels we reviewed. Novotel was shockingly over priced with ordinary views. It is well located but means that you have to pay for the parking.
The Heritage was waaay over priced. The rooms looked old. The only rooms offered to us were in a wing which had poor views.
The Rydges seemed good and was very tempting. Excellent views, cheaply priced, brilliant service by a Japanese front desk girl. Well located with parking. The only thing that the Aurum seemed to have on this hotel was better room and bathroom.
The Copthorne staff were very nice, rooms cheap, good views but the rooms seemed very old.
The Kingsgate was similar to the copthorne.
Hope that this review helps.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Kookieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

we arrived in Queenstown just before NY eve and were lukcy to get a room, the only room they had was a suite and we decided to treat ourselves.
Its was amazing - absolutley huge, massive bed, super clean bathroom.
Fantastic location - you cant go wrong with this hotel.
If your on a limited budget this is not the place to stay but if you can afford to splash out then i would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Fantastic suite apartments, easy parking, just a stroll down the hill to the town centre. Staff all friendly and happy to help!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SRK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $147 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing