We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotels in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotels in Queenstown”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The rooms were fabulous and great location! 15 min walk to downtown and far enough away that there was minimal traffic noise. For anyone looking for a central location in Queenstown, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Once again thank you for your comments and if you return to Queenstown we look forward to welcoming you back at Scenic Suites.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    334
    100
    29
    9
See reviews for
162
493
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were quite disappointed with our stay here and that was mainly due to the room we were given... R 9122. We'd stayed here back in 2003 and had a room with a great view of the lake but this time all we had was a glimpse of the lake but a great view of the back of the kitchen! What made it worse was that we also got the noise from the kitchen. Considering we probably paid the same as the guests around us who had views we felt a bit let deflated. We asked to be moved but were told the place was full. In a nut shell I think as we arrived late and were given the worse room in our category. So much for the name "Scenic Suites".

Anyway apart from the initial disappointment the room itself was looking a bit tired. Size wise it was great (70sqm) and well equipped. For self catering it worked well. The bed was a bit soft for us but that was mainly due to the topper. Due to it's position our room was quite dark which didn't help with our enthusiasm. Parking was free but as we arrived late there was nothing available under cover so we had to park outside. Not a big deal but undercover would have been better. Our subsequent nights there we were able to get undercover. Location wise it was very good. Within walking to everything. A bit of a hill to navigate just before you get to hotel so watch out if you have problems in that regard. An hours internet was provided daily which was a bonus we didn't expect. Should be a minimum with all motel/hotels!

Would we stay here again... only if we had a view otherwise we'd look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try and get a room preferably overlooking the lake and Queenstown (QT) itself. Don't get a groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your comments regarding your stay here. As all rooms do not have a view it is reccomended that you call or email to request a view room. If you wish to guarantee a view room there is also the option of paying a surcharge to secure this. Our location is definetly ideal only 200 metres from the town centre.

Once again thank-you for your comments.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay for business but very impressed with service and the quality. Spacious rooms, good facilities. Buffet breakfast very good value. Room very warm and air conditioning would have been good, but other than that, very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank chchgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your comments regarding your stay here. If you return to Queenstown we look forawrd to welcoming back to Scenic Suites Queenstown.


Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Only stayed one night but the rooms were very well furnished and the kitchen area was very swish. the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and the shower the most powerful.
Location is slightly out of town but not to far although a reasonable gradient if you have walking problems. Offstreat parking is included so a good place to stay. A small balcony with table and chairs lets you get some air although the weather did not play ball on our visit as it was cold and wet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank barbelbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

I am pleased you found the bed comfortable and the shower powerful. If you return to Queenstown we look forward to welcoming you back here at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable one bedroom apartment with well appointed kitchen + laundry. Beds very comfortable with a selection of pillows available - duvets maybe a little too cozy for the beautiful summer weather we had. Big bathroom with lovely New Zealand made toiletries and fluffy towels. We didn't request a view but the top floor units have some views of mountains/lake. Perfect location 5 min walk from town centre on a hill - great to walk off dinner! Building is quite spread out, but staff are very friendly, approachable and helpful. The underground car park can be a bit hard to find from the road, but after checking in we were met by a porter outside to direct us. Free wifi for one hour a day per device - would be great if this could be spread out over the day. Saying that, the connection was reliable (unlike some of the 'free' wifi access in a lot of the motels we stayed in) and unlimited wifi is $5 per day for a smart phone. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your lovely comments regarding your stay here with us. It sounds like you handled the short walk back from time on a number of times with out problems and the location is great. Very positive comments about our staff and how helpful they were with your requests I will be sure to pass these onto the team.

Once again thank you for your comments and if you return to Queenstown we look forward to welcoming you back here at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Once we found the correct reception area and parked the car in the right place (excellent secure underground parking), we embarked on the journey to find our room. From the carpark it appeared to be a maze of corridors and lifts, thank God we were not drunk! The map from reception wasn't helpful either. We made our way through the rabbit warren of corridors to our room and things improved immensely from there. The room was excellent, the bed and shower both rate as probably the best we've had for a long time. The one bedroom suite was tastefully decorated and fully equipped and is a step up from the classic Kiwi motel-style accommodation although the price was not. Small private balcony, though we didn't really use this due to poor weather. Scenic Suites are a good option for the budget-ish traveller as they are more centrally located than nearly all the other motel accommodation. Be warned - it's a bit of an uphill walk from town. In Queenstown it is very easy to pay more and get less, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your comments regarding your stay here. We are currently reviewing the signage within our hotel. I am pleased you found the room excellent and the bed comfortable.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Brilliant. Thank you our stay on 18th January 2014 was delightful, I was able reminisce about my first skiing adventure. Your facilities were outstanding and we are now trying to locate the Tussock Dreaming Overlay on the mattress, we slept in more clouds from 27-30 January. Cheers, Linley & Michael

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your lovely comments regarding your stay here and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Property: Scenic Suites Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing