We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Scenic Suites @ queenstown is 4* hotel with excellent rooms. We had booked 1 Bed room suite and it was huge. Room has full kithen facilities, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer in our room. Our entire stay was quite comfortable except for we were given a room facing the main road, which was little disturbing. Location of the hotel is quite close to central market in queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We value your positive comments about enjoying the facilities in your room and our location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 920 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We bought two nights on Grabone in a superior suite, and were really pleased with our accommodation choice. The suite was spacious and warm, the kitchen was really well equipped and everything was clean. We ate dinner in the lobby bar one night as they had a 'two mains for the price of one' deal - extremely good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We appreciate your comments about your room being well euipped and clean and your feedback has been passed onto the team.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is mid-range in price and mid-range is what you get. No complaints other than to say the wifi that we paid for was pretty slow and that the cleaners appeared to forget to clean our room one day.

The good was the location. Don't be put off by the reports of a climb up the hill. It's not that bad. The location is good. The shower was great. The service was also friendly.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it if that's the price range you are looking for.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Warwick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. It sounds like you handled the short walk back from time on a number of times with out problems and the location is great.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Scenic after a horror trip in a campervan found us wanting to stay in a hotel in Queenstown. We did a last minute booking without fuss and the 1 bedroom suite we had was spacious and well appointed with leather or leather look lounge suite, large flat screen tv and magnificent views of the lake through the floor to ceiling window. There is a balcony and dining table plus kitchen and in room laundry facilities. We asked for the best view so were given the 3rd (top) floor street front suite. The receptionist did warn us some people found the street noise a bit loud but we were so comfortable we didn't find this an issue. The staff were very friendly and allowed us to park our awful campervan (thanks for nothing Apollo Campervans!) in the park usually reserved for buses.

The only thing I could fault was the bed was far too soft and hollowed out when we slept in it. Possibly due for a replacement. However, we would still stay here again and for Queenstown prices we thought the suite was good value for money. We love Queenstown so it was great to have a nice place to stay. It's just a couple of minutes walk down the hill to the shops so its in a great location

Room Tip: Go for the top floor if you can get it to maximise the views. You may get some road noise but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibraltarwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. Great comments about the view from your room. We are currently in the process of replacing the beds in our Scenic Suites. We appreciate your lovely comments about our staff.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Scenic Suites surely has scenic views of the Remarkables. The hotel is conveniently located to town and the accomodations are adequate. I found staff to be responsive to our requests, but this is a hotel with minimum amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meliss1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We value your comments about our location to town and the view of the Remarkables.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are a number of positives about the Scenic Suites, it's reasonable value and our stay was pleasant enough. But it is let down by lack of attention to detail. My gripes are all small, but there are just too many for me to either return to this hotel or to be able to recommend it.
I booked 3 rooms in April for our adult family of 5; we arrived mid-August to be told none of the rooms were on the same floor, one not even in the same building. The rooms did not have views and therefore "scenic" is a bit of deception. If there are rooms with views, i imagine these are much nicer. And less dank.
When checking in, the friendly but clearly inexperienced clerk tried to show us how to get to all three rooms in one go, which involved various stair, lifts and corridors and was confusing. He was only able to supply one person to help us with bags and the way. So my husband and I ended up in the single room instead of a suite. Much faffing about and cursing got us to the correct room eventually. It looked onto a main pass way though the hotel, was damp and musty smelling and had a hole in the bathroom door. That said, it was otherwise clean, well-equipped and spacious. I cooked one night and found pretty much everything I needed.
Location - the hotel is a short walk from everything but it's a steep climb back from the town centre.not good for those with dodgy knees! Most tours/ski buses will pick you up either at the hotel or from the very close corner bus stop, but if you want to earn town at the multitude of great eateries then the walk is required (helps burn off the generous helpings).
Staff were generally friendly and helpful but seemed lacking in experience. Aside from the check-in mayhem, they gave us a wrong suitcase from the storage area when we were checking out, despite there being numbered tags. Thank heavens my other half pays attention to detail and rectified the mistake himself. Housekeeping didn't refill the bath gel the first day which was very disappointing after the first day's skiing. A little thing, I know. But it's often the little things that differentiate.
All in all, this was an average experience. Most of all, I'd be looking for a genuine lakeside hotel next time. Queenstown is spectacular and you want to lap up the view very second you can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clefairy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regrding our hotel. I am glad that you found the hotel to be good value. Further training has occurred with the front desk to ensure that clear instructions are given to get you to your room with ease. I have had maintenance repair the hole in the door I apoligise this was not done prior to you checking in. I am glad you found our location to town good.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff were very helpful on our arrival. However I suggest they need to remember to check things like lights! Yet another place we have stayed in with blown bulbs or non-functioning lights. Makes for a particularly dark bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breeanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. I have reiterated with the team how important it is to check the light bulbs when servicing rooms. Thanks for the great comments about the helpful staff on your arrival.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $187 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing