We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“100% Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel was exceptional, fantastic helpful friendly staff, beautiful rooms with everything we needed and great views. Easy quick walk into Queenstown central (a bit of a hill on the way back, but manageable and worked off the great Queenstown food) . Great location for ski field shuttle services. Scenic Suites is awesome and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We value your comments about your room and enjoying the views. Our location is definately ideal and it sounds like you managed short walk up the hill with no problems.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    326
    98
    27
    9
See reviews for
153
485
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent six days in Queenstown and was spoilt by the attention and care of the staff of this hotel. It was great to be welcomed by a fantastic staff and you all did the hotel proud. Thank you for making our time with you so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. It is great to recieve such wonderful comments about the staff it is all part of the service culture here at Scenic Suites.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were originally given a quote by our travel agent for a week in Queenstown that was close to $4500 for my partner and I which seemed over the top so after a little bit of research we managed to almost halve the price and book something ourselves. We stayed from the 30th July 2013 to 6th August at The Scenic Suites in Queenstown, which was exactly what we were looking for and definitely at an affordable price. We chose to sty in a 1 bedroom apartment which was highly recommended. It was great to have a separate lounge area to chill out in after a day on the snow and relax before hitting the town. Also had plenty of room for 6 of our friends to come back and watch the rugby one night so plenty of space. I had originally called from Australia to try and book a room with a view (extra $40 per night, which was the only disappointment because that was out of our budget but we really wanted a nice view), but was told nothing was available but they would do the best they could. Upon arrival I was told that they had given us one of their rooms with a view free of charge THANK YOU!! The view was fantastic and the large glass windows allowed us to take it all in.
Plenty of heating in the rooms, and lovely little heater in the bathroom meant you were never cold. washing machine, dryer and dishwasher were all great facilities. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff! Fantastic friendly crew who management should be very proud of. The porter that originally showed us to our room was more than helpful throughout our stay. We often chose to sleep in and housekeeping always left us fresh towels and toiletries outside our door if the do not disturb sign was on which I thought was lovely, most large hotels they wouldn't bother. After reading reviews of "the hill" we were very surprised that the hotel was not located in one of the steeper parts of town. We were expecting a monster but it really was not that bad at all. Kept you warm on the walk home! WIFI was a little pricey considering most places in town offer at least 30 minutes free. Pillows were VERY average and the overlay on the bed made it a little uncomfortable as it didn't fit properly but we managed. The outer door near the entrance to the two rooms often woke us up from being slammed too so would recommend fitting some kind of device to make it close slowly. Didn't dine at the Lobby bar or restaurant but they have some great deals and the menu has plenty of choice. Definitely would recommend the Scenic Suites to others, thank you for a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: One bedroom apartment made our stay much more comfortable. We stayed in room 9326 and the view was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. I am pleased to hear we were exactly what you were looking for. We are currently in the process of renewing the bedding in our Scenic Suites. It is great to recieve such wonderful comments about the staff I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Obviously, it goes without saying that Queenstown is a terrific part of the world to spend sometime in. Great location and outlook.
The hotel is located close to the centre of town. A bit of traffic noise from the the road out the front when we had the balcony door open, but it is a small price to pay for the ease of being able to walk around town without having to take the car out. Parking in the centre of Queenstown can be a drag at times.
We had a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen and it came with a fantastic view of the bay, and surrounding mountains. Brilliant to just sit and look at for a while whilst recovering from all the activity that is available in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the rooms with a view. It is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. Great comments about your room and the view from your room and also our location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is our second stay at the apartments so we knew we would receive good service with top notch apartments. The one bedroom is very spacious with plenty of storage for suitcases and the bathroom has a large bath, perfect after a day skiing or walking. We asked for a room with a view although we did not pay any extra and had a mountain view, super. For skiing the bus to the slopes stops right outside the door. The apartments are spotless and the kitchen/laundry facilities have everything required. We stayed 5 nights and the apartment was serviced every day. Parking is provided underground at no charge.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. Great comments about the view and the cleanliness of your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. The rooms were serviced daily and were very clean. Bathrooms were fantastic - very spacious. Only downfall was that it is a big walk downhill to the restaurants and cafes - which is fine if it is not raining. Also, no free wifi which almost killed my 3 teenagers - most other places we stayed in gave at least 2 hours free a day. Perfect having a washing machine, dryer and dishwasher in the room. Had a little trouble getting the heaters to stay on in the rooms. Beds and couch were very comfortable and after a couple of days skiing, it was great to all sit down and watch some tv with the family at night to help chill out.

Room Tip: Rooms could be a bit noisy with other guests coming home and at night time if you stay down towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmb0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. Great comments about your room and the facilities in your room our 2 Bedrooms suites are definetly ideal for families.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently returned from a trip to Queenstown, New Zealand. We stayed at the Scenic Suites after doing extensive research of location, amenities etc. It was absolutely the best service we have ever received hands down.

I booked my reservation online because the rates were cheaper, but had called first to see if I could book a room with a view like suggested in other posts. Because they couldn’t give me the same rate that was posted on the Internet, I decided to take my chances and just request for a room with a view via the Internet.

When we arrived, we were very early and someone was still in the room, but the front desk attendants were so friendly and helpful. I asked if they had placed us in a room with a view and they stated that they had at no extra cost! I was so pleased!

We completed all the paperwork, paid for the room and they worked with us to book fun things to do during the morning there until our room was ready. They receive no commission for assisting you with the bookings and it would have cost the same if we had contacted the company ourselves. They were so knowledgeable about everything there was to do in Queenstown and every single event that they suggested and we signed up for, was an amazing experience!

We stayed in room 9303 and it had a beautiful view. I believe that there are other rooms on that floor that had better views but we were completely happy with ours. It was an amazing site to wake up to every morning. The hotel is very close to downtown and is within walking distance, but there is a large hill to climb up when returning from shopping so keep that in mind if you do decide to walk.

The room was immaculate and very large. We had a full kitchen with black granite countertops and everything was provided for you to be able to cook in your room. There was a washer and dryer as well which came in handy. The living room was very comfortable and there was a very nice flat screen LCD TV with DVD player in case you want to watch a movie. The bed seemed to be a king size bed – it was huge. You are able to choose the type of pillows that you want – they have several varieties. The bathroom was beautiful, it had a separate glass enclosed shower and there was a heating unit in the bathroom so you didn’t end up cold when getting out of the shower or bath.

Room service is at no extra charge and we had breakfast almost every day in the room looking at our beautiful view. The one complaint we had is that every day we ordered French toast, they would forget the maple syrup but when we mentioned it, they ran down and came right back with it.

I will definitely come back to Queenstown and I will always stay with Scenic Suites ~ Our experience was so lovely, I can’t express how much that meant to us during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. Thank you for your comments about our staff and the great customer service that you recieved, your room and the complimentery views. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.

Once again thank you for your wonderful comments and we look foward to your return visit soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#37 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Property: Scenic Suites Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing