We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Handy location and great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed two nights at the studio room in remarkable wing (west wing) during Easter holidays. Learned from the TA reviews and requested for a top floor room -- having a nice view of the mountain, lake, mall and the gondola. A walking distance to the lake and all pubs/restaurants. Underground car park is a bonus. Had broken lamp bulbs and iron, but the staffs are very efficient and helpful for the replacement. On the second day of our stay, the room services had not been done until we came back from our day trip (around 4pm), though we had put the "please clean the room" sign on in the early morning -- however it doesn't bother much. Overall, I would like to recommend to all.

Room Tip: Top floor at East wing should have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    326
    98
    27
    9
See reviews for
153
485
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We didn't choose it. It was part of a package we bought for 5 days in and around the Fiordlands. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning and we arrived on one of the hottest days of late New Zealand summer. There wasn't a working fan in the room either.We asked for a fan and were given 2 tiny ones.They didn't make much difference. The hotel is like a rabbit warren. It is easy to get lost on the very similar floors. There is a laundry room for the entire block and it is coin operated with only one washer and one dryer. i have a bad knee and so the hotel location wasn't the best for me. It is fairly close to the wonderful Queenstown,but an uphill slug. This is definitely not suitable for disabled or unfit people. I think there are apartments with cooking facilities in this block, but we weren't given that option. On the good side, the bed was very comfortable and the staff very pleasant. I don't think they pay much attention to the general condition of the rooms as we didn't have any chairs to go around our table on the deck (we asked for some and got them) and the washing rack was broken.

Room Tip: Sorry! I checked the swimming pool button by mistake. I don't know if there was one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindabigsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days at the end of our amazing trip to New Zealand. The rooms were very comfortable and it felt that we were staying in a 4/5 star hotel. The balcony offered us a lovely view of Lake Wakatipu and the complex was a 10 minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The staff were really friendly and helpful and offered us use of their umbrellas when we first arrived and the heavens opened. Nothing was too much trouble. There is a free laundry room on the complex, which enabled us to do most of our laundry before flying back to the UK, which was a huge bonus.
We ate in the restaurant on one evening and have a lovely meal, that was tasty and not overpriced.
I would definitely recommend the Scenic Suites and would have no hesitation of returning here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. Loved the gorgeous views of Lake Wakatipu from our room. Very close to the center of town, a little on the uphill climb going back from town but only a short jaunt. So close to good restaurants and sights. Very close hike to the gardens that eventually take you to the marina and the mall. The staff was very accommodating and helped us with the booking for activities, and made our visit easy and comfortable. Their recommendations were right on point and so helpful. Will recommend this again. The rooms were spacious and beddings comfortable. Love the clean nicely appointed bathrooms. Kitchen very well equipped. Great place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwannabewhereyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We enjoyed 5 days in February at the very good Scenic Suites. The rooms are modern and well appointed with good bathrooms. We had a small balcony that afforded views over the town, the Skyline Gondola and part of the lake. The self service laundry facility as very good. It is a short walk down the hill to the town centre with its many bars and restaurants but quite a steep walk back up. We did not take any meals in the hotel restaurant nor did we use the small bar. But room service was good value one night when we returned late from a day touring. We had a bit of a mixup over the cost of wifi which reception didnt really explain very well. I also thought it was expensive so we used the free wifi in the bars and restaurants in Queenstown. The underground parking was a bit tight but a real plus for a central location.

Room Tip: The higher up the room better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed on the top floor with glorious views over Queenstown and looking up at the gondola. The kids loved staying in the adjoining room, and we enjoyed our own space. The rooms were 5 star quality and staff were helpful in directing us to the car park and bags to the room. Would stay here again definitely

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It's really nice. Service is good! Close to where everything's happening! And great selection of red wines!! Easy access from the rooms to the streets. Staff very friendly and professional! Stuart is a charm!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#37 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Property: Scenic Suites Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing