We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Fantastic suite apartments, easy parking, just a stroll down the hill to the town centre. Staff all friendly and happy to help!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SRK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for Scenic Suites Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 892 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

Based on reviews from various websites, I made reservations at the Aurum on Stanley St. I had a one-bedroom apartment suite for 3 nights. I stayed at all kinds of accomodations throughout NZ (mostly south island) and Australia - the Aurum was hands down my favorite, for the quality and the price.

Check-in: Can be a bit crazy since everyone arrives on the same shuttle bus, but if you move fast and hit the counter first, you won't have to wait in line behind all the others! I had no problems checking in quickly, although it sounded like a couple next to me was confused about the rates they had booked for.

The Apartment Suite: fantastic - the kitchen had a mini fridge, nice stove/oven (although I didn't plan to cook), sink, small appliances, etc. I had a washer and dryer in the suite which was so much nicer than having to use a shared laundry facility and waste time waiting for your things. The living area was nice, in fact I was so comfortable just watching tv that I fell asleep on the couch on the first night. The dining area is 3 walls of windows (check the pics!), one of which is a sliding door leading to the big balcony. The bedroom was nice, it also had glass doors leading to the balcony. And there were sliding doors you could close to block off the living area, or leave it open and watch tv from the bed - which was super comfortable and after sleeping in it the second night, I regretted sleeping on the couch on my first night! The bathroom was also nice - clean and new. The whole suite felt refreshingly open, especially with the windows and balcony. With the cool early summer weather, you can open both doors leading to the balcony and bundle up under blankets.

The View: no complaints, it was fabulous - although I could only see a small 'tip' of Lake Wakatipu, that little piece was gorgeous, and there were great views of mountains and hills all around. Be aware though, its not on the lakeshore, so there's a street and a bunch of motels/inns across the street as part of your view.

Location: yes it's on a hill, so you will huff a bit on the return walk, but the exercise is good for you and you are in an adventure-sport resort town after all. Its very close to the center of town and the lake. There's also a shortcut if you go down Stanley St.

Issues: internet was very expensive (in total I was charged $84.03 NZD - there are extra fees if you exceed the stated bandwidth limit) and the lan cable wasn't long enough to reach all the way to the dining table so I couldnt enjoy the view from there while using a laptop. There was an issue with the button to flush the toilet; someone stopped by to fix it and said it wasn't really broken; I didn't want to have to change suites so I was just careful during my stay when I flushed it. Some of the window blinds were torn up, but I had them pulled up the entire time so it didn't matter. Also the blanket I used had stains. But I considered these minor compared to the overall experience.

I spent a lot of time in the suite, did not hang out in the dining room or public areas of the hotel , and didn't have room service or housekeeping service, so can't comment on those. Absolutely no noise issues from the adjacent suite or from the street.

Overall, it was a great experience. I will definitely stay here the next time in Queenstown. The cost for 3 nights was $380, not including the internet fees.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We had booked a room in the Scenic Circle A-line hotel but were upgraded on arrival to a room in the adjoining Aurum Hotel and Suites. Lovely big room with 2 queen beds and a balcony with view of the lake. Very spacious bathroom with fantastic cucumber and mint products by Earths Organics. Very short walk into the town centre but up a very steep hill which can be quite demanding when it's hot.

Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Cortleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Let's start with the positives: very helpful staff and spacious room; good facilities for the price; relatively good value for money.

On the down side: lack of attention to cleanliness - terrible stained bedspread that was replaced with a hair-covered duvet cover - also the servicing of the room was substandard; the 'view' included a tiny corner of the lake and much of the town; there was no air conditioning which (given the sun was shining strongly through the windows) was really required.

I think I'd look elswhere in Queenstown if going there again. Older people and disabled people beware: the hotel is at the crest of a steep hill which lies between it and the town centre. It's quite a climb on the way home

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Good cute little studio apartments, with great cooking facilities! bit noisy whith cars going past.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank godesskara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel is fantastic! From the very begining the customer service was fantastic! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Very spacious, Great Facilities and very comfortable. The staff helped us with all our needs and guided us to where we wanted to go. Our room was cleaned daily and we were very satisfied with the cleanliness. Very close to town, which was great, however on the way back to the hotel there was a hill you had to walk up, but overall this place was great! Throughly enjoyed our stay, would most definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This was our third stay. Property remains good value, but be aware of the rooms close to the road which are very noisey. We were booked into a suite on the ground floor, right on the street. Truck and car noise was very bad. We moved rooms the following day with no problems to a suite at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. Room service was no existent. Placed order, waited an hour and called, told food was on way, 15 minutes later still no food. Manager called and said order had not been placed and offered to send replacement meal. Cancelled order. On checking out found meal on our bill.
Would stay at property again due to value and proximity to town center.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kiwimumSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 57 in Queenstown
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $134 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing