We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found ourselves stuck in Queenstown overnight when snowed-in so stayed one night in a 1-bedroom apartment.
Pros - fantastic shower, spacious apartment, comfy bed, good bathroom and kitchen provisions
Cons - street level so a bit of noise and light from the street and noise from upstairs neighbours
I read on the website after we checked-in we could have paid more for a lake view but weren't offered that option - we were offered many options, the property has a good range of rooms.
Overall, would stay there again, good price, good room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 928 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Worth the money if your room has a Lake view. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen facility due to very last minute. The 2 bedroom apartment has 2 bathrooms and provides good privacy as they are separate to each other.
On the first day, they assigned the room with disable toilets located at the ground floor. Personally, it is difficult for me in using the disable toilets. I voiced out my concern and managed to change to the room with fantastic lake view.
If you are willing to cook everyday, this is very nice to have a dinner inside the apartment with an enjoyable view of the Lake.

Location is great, close to pubs, restaurants and a 24 hrs small supermarket. If you want to buy meats for cooking for dinner, go to the Fresh Choice supermarket at Gore Street. Probably need a car to drive up there. It closes at midnight. If you prefer a good quality meat such as Lamb, go to Mediterranean Market - highly recommended but it closes at 6pm

Staff are friendly and willing to help out. Feel free to ask them any questions.
They have secured car park with a limited space

Again, if you want a Lake view, go for 2 bed-room apartment. If you don't care about the view and won't cook, this is not the choice for you.

Room Tip: Worthwhile for Lake view suite for 2 Bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Overall had a good experience with 3 friends staying here. Ladies at reception were always friendly and helpful so were the housekeeping staff. We booked in a one room apartment which was pretty roomy, everything worked and was ver suprised the kitchen was fully euipped with all the esstenial needed for cooking which made cooking our meals alot more enjoyable, they even provided pepper and salt (not many apartments provide this). Free underground parking and approximately 5 minutes walk into town. The only thing I didnt like was the allocated lift to our particular apartment block, a little confusing but got use to it after a few days. Will reccommend this place to others and willl stay here again. Also love the manaka honey bath gel anf hair cream.

Room Tip: under 5 minutes walk into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Whilst so many other hotels with all their rooms having the most awesome views we did not. We looked at the back street. And that was just SO DISAPPOINTING. The pics they show you on the website are only for a selected few. Although if you are only there for skiing and gone every day you might not care about the view!
It was clean and tidy and they did lovely things like providing laundry soap and such. Because of how it's made anyone shuts a door and the echoing slam is a shock to your system at 6am when those snow bunnies are up and moving. And for many you should know that you have a steep walk down and a steep incline back up. It's only 1-2 blocks from the edge of town and for those with health issues it's a hard walk. Dinner the first night in their restaurant was excellent. There were only two tables with people sitting. The next night however it was shocking. So really depends on the chef I guess who is on duty. And first time ever...I found it really weird to be waiting for our meal and watch the hostess setting up for breakfast?? And we eat early like around 6 and again only a couple tables being used. As for breakfast we didn't try cause there were too many choices in and around town to choose from. Would I go back to this hotel...probably not. There were too many others you could pay the same or even less and have the most magnificent views.

Room Tip: Ring them to book and guarantee you a room with a view out the front! You will be paying extra but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned home from a 7 days stay @ the Scenic Suites in Queenstown, accommodation was fantastic - apartments were in great condition with high quality furnishings - comfy beds, fully equipped kitchen and in-room laundry facilities, leather couches, flat screen tv, large bathrooms, great customer service with daily house keeping services and great location to experience all Queenstown has to offer! Yes, it is a big hill to walk up - but being aware of this from other reviews I'm was 100% happy with our stay @ the Scenic Suites and would definitely recommend to others. Hope to return soon - had an amazing time!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Krysten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wow. Is Queenstown beautiful or what?. We stayed here for a week in a one bedroom apartment. Everything was beautifully presented and very clean. Bed very comfortable. The whole complex is a bit of a rabbit warren however once you got your bearings was ok. Parking was never a problem although some spots very tight, Try and get in before 5pm or you will struggle to get a park as the skiers return from their day.

Had dinner in the restaurant one day and it was good although it lacks that atmosphere that turns it from an average to a good restaurant. There was a good array of kitchen gear so for those who want t cook in you are easily able to do so.

Housekeeping was adequate although we had to continually ask for replacemt of sugar etc for tea and coffee making.

All in all a great stay and I can recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask when booking for a room view. Most of the rooms don't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I wanted to book a nice hotel to have a small break in Queenstown with my parents in August for a quick south island trip this year, I made the booking on line a couple of months earlier, I booked a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit with Liz in reservations and received very quick and efficient replies, this was quick and easy and we were organized! This Hotel was awesome, exactly what we wanted! It is quality from the leather lounge suite to the Luxury Beds! What a sleep! They are so comfortable! Great spacious showers with great pressure! We had a wonderful view over Queenstown with Full length Windows in each room and a Full Kitchen! We had a drink in the down stairs bar in front of the log fire each night and had wonderful service from every bar person or restaurant staff that served us. I have stayed in Queenstown yearly for a winter break over the last few years but I would NOT stay any other place in Queenstown now, this is the home for us!

Room Tip: Book the apartments they are great, go for the best view you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $166 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing