We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lomond Lodge
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Lomond Lodge in in a great spot in Queenstown. The view from out front is gorgeous and it's only a few minutes' walk to the town centre. The room wasn't flashy, but was quite clean and tidy, which is all anyone should really need. Nobody goes on holiday to sit in their room all day! The washing facilities were handy and there's a nice little courtyard out the back. Quite reasonably priced for ski season and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vinylmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thanks for your comments, it is great to read you enjoyed your ski season trip to Queenstown. We ware also please you felt well looked after during your stay at Lomond Lodge as it is important to us that our guests are comfortable and have all they need during their visit.

We hope to host you again next year.

Regards,
The Team at Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 578 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place is a really convenient location and has car parking - Its not too far from the central area and takes a couple of minutes to walk down and be amongst the action. The lake view rooms with balconies have beautiful views and the staff who work there are so friendly and helpful. The room was bright, clean and a very reasonable price. At times we could hear the next door rooms' TV but it wasn't a complete distraction. I really wanted to stay here again on my recent trip but unfortunately it was sold out. Book early so your not disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Hi Kristen, thanks for your trip advisor review. We were really pleased to learn you enjoyed a trip to Queenstown and a felt well looked after during your nights at Lomond Lodge.
As you mentioned, the Lake view rooms do have wonderful views and we are lucky the Lodge is so centrally located, which in return can mean that those Lake view rooms do book out quite quickly, the good news is we do have other room options available!!

We hope to see you next time you are heading over to Qtwn and thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Regards,
Lee Exell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days at the onsite housing and booked the 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms layout is terrible with the lounge room being upstairs, and the 2nd bedroom coming in from the main entrance. The free wifi is limited to 500mb a week and they charge ridiculous prices for add-ons. The receptionist was rather unhelpful with advice and took a while gathering information. The skytv as advertised does not exist, barely any free TV channels are available. Other than that, Location is great as it is a 500m walk to the town centre and the room overlooks the Remarkables!

Room Tip: Choose the offsite accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_E_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest, we trust you travelled safely back home from snowy Queenstown.

In response to your review, we are really pleased to read you found the location of Lomond Lodge to be so convenient to central Queenstown.
You mentioned that the entrance of the Split level apartment was directly in to a studio room, which is true, but what you didn't mention was that studio room is a self contained studio which is one of two entrances in to the Apartment. The second entrance is via the backdoor, through the kitchen at the rear of the Apartment. It is designed this way so that guests can chose to either enter directly in to their room or via the separate kitchen entrance, hence not disturbing the occupants of the downstairs bedroom if they were in the upstairs bedroom.

We have endeavoured to look up your booking, but it may have been made through a different name, hence we have not been able to contact you directly, as we wanted to confirm that we do not offer Sky TV on site at Lomond Lodge, although it is available in our Off site apartments. We believe your booking may have come via a 3rd party online website and have double checked to ensure there is no mention or promise of Sky.

Regarding the Wifi, we believe the Lodge are quite forward in their Wifi services, as we ensure that the speed is fast and the complimentary Wifi is above the level offered locally by other motels and hotels. Additional Wifi is offered for a minimal charge, which again we believe is more than reasonable.

We do always encourage guests to ask specific questions at the time of booking, if they require a specific type of layout, we have 5 different apartment types which generally suit all guests needs. We always ensure that third party providers have the most up to date photos on our listing by room type so that guests can make the most informed decision. Our aim is to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed stay at Lomond Lodge.

Thanks for your comments and we hope to host you again next time in another Apartment type.

Regards,

Lee Exell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here with 3 other friends in July 2012. We stayed in the off-site apartment number 7. It was perfectly located and the Lomond Lodge staff were always on hand to provide assistance. I have continually recommended this place to stay to other visitors to Queenstown! It was reasonably priced especially during the ski season!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hi Adam

We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Queenstown and Flat 7 - its great to know guests are happy and returning to us year after year!
Thanks for the recommendations - we look forward to seeing you all again next ski season.

Till then, take care and safe travels home.

regards,
The Team at Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed here at the beginning and end of my Milford Track hike. It's very well-located, only a few blocks from the town center. Comfy bed and great views of the Remarkables from my lakeview room. Friendly, helpful staff. They let me store my suitcase there during my hike. Good value, compared to other hotels I looked at in the area, but still a bit of a splurge for me. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room instead of a garden view. The cost is not that different and how many times ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tall1z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the stunning Milford Track hike - we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Queenstown.

Regards
The Team at Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We traveled down from Fox Glacier and stayed for two nights. Very fortunate to pick up a cancellation and the young lady on reception was a star in sorting it out. A twin room with a balcony and lovely views perfect for a father and son wanting to explore and eat and drink out.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, shower and bath room again clean and functional and the location is very good. The girls on reception will give you good advice on places to eat and drink and the attractions nearby.
Queenstown was the jewel in the crown when it came to cities and towns. It has everything you could want. Great bars, restaurants, shops and things to do. Great place to stop over for a couple of days at least.... one night is a waste of time and you would leave having missed out.
The Lomond Lodge is perfect if you intend to keep busy during the day, take a drink on the balcony before going out in the evening. Great value for money and a short walk away from the busy town centre made for a good sleep, nothing to do with the beer!
I would highly recommend staying but make sure you book well in advance and ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a view of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear John,

What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on both Queenstown & your recent experience with us at Lomond Lodge!

We are very lucky to have such great staff, they really do go the extra mile to ensure people are comfortable and well looked after!! so it is good to hear we are delivering on our service to guests.

We hope you return to Queenstown again and if you do, we would love to host you both again at Lomond Lodge!

Safe travels,

Lee & The Team at Lomond Lodge
Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lomond Lodge is just a stone's throw of Queenstown's city centre with all the restaurants and shops that town has to offer.
I stayed at Lomond Lodge in late May 2014 in one of the Lakeview Studios with balcony. The room was a bit dated but comfortable but the views over the town with Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in the background were delightful. Free WiFi is available. Unfortunately the weather was wet and the car park in front of the Lodge was being dug up and provided a few challenges. The proprietors did, however, provide free parking in the commercial parking station just down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Philip, thanks for your review and comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the views from your room - the sunrise & views over the Remarkables is quite stunning!

Thanks also for your patience regarding the car park - the Lodge is very busy & we only have a limited time to complete any refurbishment or major maintenance on site, and we have been keen to get a new forecourt laid down for some time. Typically the week they were due to lay it, we experienced snow in downtown Queenstown, which meant it was too cold and hence the lay was delayed.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the Lodge and we hope you had a safe trip back to Brisbane!

Kind regards,
Lee & The Team at Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,281 reviews
1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $116 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 2 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front offering quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star, with a silver environmental award. Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road. Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's , Unlimited complimentary WiFi per day plus free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. We have Lake & Garden studio rooms - Lake View rooms with balcony have "stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu. Garden studios have lovely views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing