We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close by town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomond Lodge
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close by town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lomond Lodge is just a stone's throw of Queenstown's city centre with all the restaurants and shops that town has to offer.
I stayed at Lomond Lodge in late May 2014 in one of the Lakeview Studios with balcony. The room was a bit dated but comfortable but the views over the town with Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in the background were delightful. Free WiFi is available. Unfortunately the weather was wet and the car park in front of the Lodge was being dug up and provided a few challenges. The proprietors did, however, provide free parking in the commercial parking station just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Philip, thanks for your review and comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the views from your room - the sunrise & views over the Remarkables is quite stunning!

Thanks also for your patience regarding the car park - the Lodge is very busy & we only have a limited time to complete any refurbishment or major maintenance on site, and we have been keen to get a new forecourt laid down for some time. Typically the week they were due to lay it, we experienced snow in downtown Queenstown, which meant it was too cold and hence the lay was delayed.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the Lodge and we hope you had a safe trip back to Brisbane!

Kind regards,
Lee & The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    197
    46
    21
    4
See reviews for
109
261
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is ideal as a base to go do various adventure activities. There some steps closeby which take you right into queenstown near the famous Ferg Burger.
The room is clean and even though we didnt book the room with a view, they upgraded us for free when we expressed our interest.
There are many DVDs you can choose from at the reception ,to keep you entertained if you just want to relax in the room. The view from the room is fantastic.
The shower was the highlight of this room for me. The pressure was just right. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent review - we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay & the gorgeous views of the Lake from your room....and of course the shower!
Many guests comment on the location of the Lodge, being such a short walk in to the centre of Queenstown. As you say, it is only moments away from the famous Fergburger..which most people want to try whilst they are in town.
We aim to ensure our guests feel they get value for money and are well looked after, so thanks for taking the time to share your comments and positive review!

Kind regards,
Lee Exell - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is a short walk, uphill, from the center of town. It is nice that it is a little ways away from the action because it is much more quiet. The staff was very helpful and gave great restaurant recommendations. The room was small but adequate and the bed was comfortable. This hotel had no refrigerator but did have a small sink and coffee pot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otsnow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi thank you for your recent review - we are very lucky with our location, being so close to town yet far enough away that our guests can enjoy some peace and quiet once they return to the Motel.
You mentioned in your review that the rooms were comfortable, which is great to hear, but that they didnt have a fridge - We wanted to clarify that all of our rooms have kitchenettes, which include kettle, microwave, toaster, crockery/cutlery and a bar fridge. The fridge is located, in each room, just under the kitchenette work top.
Our policy is to offer milk on arrival, so when the Receptionist shows guests to their rooms they put the milk in the fridge. For late arrivals, we place the milk in the fridge prior to arrival.

We are pleased you enjoyed Queenstown and look forward to hosting you again should you plan another visit!

With thanks and regards,

Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location was perfect for us. The staff was truly excellent and a joy to do business with. We stayed here for two nights, on either side of a visit to Milford Sound. The staff saved us a bit of money on the credit card fee by processing payment for both nights at once. For the first stay, we had requested an early check-in and and a quiet garden room, and we were accommodated on both requests. The second stay, we requested a late check-in, and again were graciously accommodated. We found the after-hours check-in process to be very easy.

Room Tip: You might want to pick a garden-facing room for a quieter experience, because there is a somewhat bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April_Mexico_bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear April thank you for your review - we are all really pleased you enjoyed your trip to Queenstown, Milford Sound and also your two stays with us at Lomond Lodge!

The team work really hard to ensure the Lodge looks spic & span and that the Garden area is well maintained, as its a nice quiet area for people to relax & enjoy a moment or two of peace and quiet - as Queenstown can often be a busy place, as there is so much to see & do.

Thanks again for your commentson the staff - we will definitely be passing those on to the team, as it is important for us to acknowlodge their hard work and excellent service.

Thanks again and we trust you had a safe trip home.

Regards,
Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Lomond Lodge for a total of six days spread over four different occasions as we tramped the Milford Track, cycled the Rail Trail and generally enjoyed the Queenstown area.
The staff were all very cheerful and helpful.
Looking after our excess baggage when we were not staying there was not a problem to them. We had four different rooms and were pleased with all of them. The furnishings were modern and everything was spotlessly clean.
Everything in central Queenstown was in easy walking distance.
We would recommend Lomond Lodge to anyone and intend staying there again, when we revisit Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for posting up your review - we were all really pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us at the Lodge and also enjoyed the variety of rooms you were booked in to!
It is good to know that our service is proving to be consistent and guests are feeling well looked after - we get a lot of trampers and bikers during the summer months, and therefore we appreciate how important it is to store luggage and move it around to suit the guests return dates.

Thanks again for your review and comments - we would love to host you again next time you visit Queenstown in the future.

With thanks and regards,

The Team at Lomond Lodge
Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Lomond Lodge recently for 3 nights and I highly recommend it. We were very impressed by Lauren's friendliness from the first greeting until the end of our stay. She made us feel as if we were welcomed into her own home. Everything was clean and convenient. We cooked our own breakfasts in the well-equipped kitchen and used the laundry facilities. We even hung our clothes to dry in the back garden so we didn't have to waste time waiting for them to dry in the dryer. I felt safe and comfortable and the views of the lake were perfect to wake up to each morning. The lodge is in a perfect location that is convenient to everything and within easy and short walking distances.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite or larger room if you have the budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for your wonderful review - We are very lucky to have such a great team of staff at Lomond Lodge. It would be fair to say that many people comment on Lauren's fabulous attitude and friendliness...in fact she would be a good example of true Kiwi Hospitality!

We are pleased to read you found the facilities useful and made the most of the guest kitchen/laundry - there is so much to do in Queenstown we want to make sure people feel relaxed and enjoy warm, comfortable accommodation. The housekeeping team work hard to ensure the rooms are spotless - There is nothing nicer than to sit and enjoy the gorgeous Lake views after a hard days sightseeing!

We hope to host you again if you should return to Queensotwn in the future!!

With thanks again for taking the time to log a review, we will definitely be sharing your comments with the team.

Regards,

Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Really great stay at Lomond Lodge, ideally located for exploring Queenstown, beautiful views and spacious accommodation. Well equipped kitchen and good sized bathroom. Lauren really looked after us and helped make our stay in Queenstown a highlight of our trip to NZ. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesprideaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear James thanks for coming to stay with us at Lomond Lodge recently - we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the location well suited to exploring all that Queenstown has to offer!!

We hope to see you next time you are planning a visit.

With thanks and regards,

Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Property: Lomond Lodge
Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 2 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front offering quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road. Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD, 5GB of complimentary WiFi per day plus free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. We have Lake & Garden studio rooms - Lake View rooms with balcony have "stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu. Garden studios have lovely views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing