We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lomond Lodge
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Super clean and tidy accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, great central location close to the centre of town. Would gladly recommend to travellers after cheap and cheerful accommodation. Thanks lomond lodge for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Front Office Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest thanks for your kind words - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was as you needed it to be!
We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Queenstown.
Enjoy your weekend,

The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    196
    46
    21
    4
See reviews for
109
257
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the off-site apartments earlier in the year with family and loved it so we instantly booked Lomond Lodge when we were returning to Queenstown for our wedding anniversary and some skiing. This time all the lake view apartments were already booked so we selected a garden view studio but unfortunately it did not meet the high standards they set with the previous stay.

Firstly the positives, the staff were absolutely fantastic and the location is brilliant - just a short walk from Shotover Street and all the action. Ski storage facilities are also provided.

Our main criticism was temperature control in the room. Considering winters in Queenstown get very cold, we expected there to be more than just a thin blanket on the bed. We are not a fan of sleeping with electric blankets and unfortunately for us, the previous occupiers had moved the thick blankets out of the room. We did not know that they should have been there - I would have hoped this would have been checked when cleaning the room. As a result our first night was pretty uncomfortable and we slept with thick jumpers and socks - not the romantic wedding anniversary we hoped for! Also the bathroom was very cold and we expected there to be some sort of heating - we turned the shower on about 10 minutes before we actually used it just to heat up the bathroom which is not eco-friendly but it was freezing! As others have said, the water pressure in the shower was not great and we could not get any hot water to come out of the tap so we used the bath tap to wash our hands.

If it was summer, I think we would have been a lot happier with the apartment but it still does not match the quality of the off site apartment. If we were to return as a bigger group, we wouldn't hestitate to book that again but would probably try somewhere else instead of the studio.

Room Tip: Stay in the offsite apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to log a review, it is really important for us to hear feedback from our guests and to understand what they enjoyed and where we may need to review things to ensure everyone is enjoying their stay each and every time, no matter what room or apartment type they book to stay in!

Firstly, we are pleased that our staff were attentive and helpful - we are really lucky to have such a fabulous team, so we will definitely be passing on your positive comments!

Regarding the Apartments & Lake view rooms - they do book out really quickly, particularly throughout ski season, but we would always want our guests to enjoy their stay no matter what room type they booked.

As you mentioned all our studio rooms have electric thermostat controlled heating, which allows guests to set the temp that suits them, whatever that may be 24/7. There are electric blankets on every bed and also there are extra blankets for the top of the beds, but as you mentioned it would seem that for some reason on your first night they had been removed, which is an error on our behalf and we would like to apologise - I am pleased that the issue was rectified the next morning!

Regarding the Bathroom - as you say it can get very cold in the winter here in Queenstown, so it is important to be warm - I have emailed you personally to find out which room you stayed in so we can review what options there are to add additional heating to ensure the bathroom is warm for the guests that stay in that room in the future.

I really appreciate your comments and do want to to reiterate that your points will be discussed and reviewed.
We sincerely hope to see you again next time you visit as we want to ensure you have a repeat experience of your first stay !!

With thanks again,

Rachel & Lee
Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent 7 days here in the studio lakeview apartment. it was perfect cant fault the place at all.. Great location far enough from town so it's not too loud but close enough so you can walk every where easy! Great view looking over the mountain and lakes.. A better storage and dry room would be great for skiers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twintips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to log a review - we are really pleased to read you enjoyed your ski trip to Queenstown and found the accommodation suited your needs well and was clean & comfortable!!
We hope to host you again next year for another fabulous ski season!
regards,

Lee & the team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I don’t normally write to these sort of things but I wanted to share about my experience after a recent visit to Queenstown with my Family, 8 of us in total.

We booked 2 2 bedroom apartments one facing the lake and the other with a view of the gondola.

The rooms were very well appointed with the basics so we could cook at home but we didn’t need to because we were meters away from a host of restaurants and cafes .

The front apartment has uninterrupted views of Queenstown Bay and the Remarkables. The balcony was the perfect spot for wine and cheese after a hard days touring!

The best feature of course was the hosts Rachel and Lee Exell. Nothing was a problem and they went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Will I be back??

You bet!!

Room Tip: Without a doubt go for the Lake View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest, we are thrilled to hear you and your family had a great stay with us recently - it is good to know people feel well looked after & the Apartments suited your family so well.!

We would love to host you all again next time you visit Queenstown -

with thanks,

Lee & Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just been staying he for 6 days. Can't complain about the location, just up from the centre of town but the lodge is really a pretty average motel. Pretty Small uncomfortable beds, single glazed slightly damp rooms, pretty drab decor. The staff were helpful and nice but I really can think of lots of better places to stay in queenstown for a similar price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaituna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest thanks for your comments - we are sorry to hear you didn't find everything to your satisfaction.
We do recall your stay, as you had mentioned to the Duty Manager you did not feel the mattress was firm enough in the top bedroom, so we changed it with another mattress immediately. All our beds are from the Sleepyhead executive range and are all under 2 yrs old, but we also appreciate that everyone sleeps differently on holiday and we wanted to ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible, hence the swift change over of mattress.
The Apartment you stayed in has recently been painted throughout and fitted with a new kitchen as well as plasma TV's in both bedrooms and the front lounge - our decor of course may not be to your taste which we accept, but we don't consider it drab at all.

As you mentioned the location of the Lodge is perfect for those wanting to stay central as guests can walk in to Queenstown, as literally everything is a stones throw away.!
We hope that you do return to Lomond Lodge again and maybe next time you stay we can get everything "just right" as that is our aim each and every time for each and every guest.

With thanks,
Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in flat 7 (the offsite apartment on shotover st) and we weren't disappointed. The location was perfect - close to the station where you can take the shuttles to the remarkables and coronet peak ski fields and close to some great eateries! The flat itself was comfortable although you do have to lug your luggage up a set of stairs (no lift available) which was a bit difficult after a day on the slopes. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even showing us the the rooms and giving us tips about where to go and what to do in queenstown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellohigoodbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments re Flat 7 our Off site town centre apartment - as you said they are a great location for families/groups who want to be in the heart of Queenstown and accessing all of the ski transport as well as the restaurants. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and felt our staff looked after you all well...we try our best!
We hope to see you next year for 2014 ski season,if not before!

Kind regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed a week at the lodge with my girlfriend in a King Room. The establishment was very well presented, extremely clean and was in the perfect location to downtown Queenstown. It's a 2 minute walk to the restaurants and pubs. The staff are very helpful and went over and above to make sure we had a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ward1981honda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest thanks for your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed both Lomond Lodge and Queenstown and you felt well looked after!
Our housekeeping staff work really hard at keeping the rooms in "tip top" condition and perfectly clean for our guests, so I will pass on your kind words!

We look forward to hosting you both again sometime soon,
kind regards,

Lee & Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Property: Lomond Lodge
Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 2 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front offering quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road. Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD, 5GB of complimentary WiFi per day plus free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. We have Lake & Garden studio rooms - Lake View rooms with balcony have "stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu. Garden studios have lovely views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing