We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomond Lodge
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in December. The room was freshly renovated and was very clean and comfortable. We also had a fab view over Queenstown, the lake and the mountains. The lodge was in a great location and was a couple of minutes into town. The staff were very helpful and the amenities of the lodge were great. Only a very small niggle, the parking at the front of the lodge was quite tight and not big enough for all the cars.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Front Office Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi thank you for your lovely review, we are all really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay!
The team worked really hard throughout the recent refurb and now the top floor rooms are even more comfortable with new carpets, Freeview TV & updated insulation!
As you said, the Lodge is a perfect location, being only a 2 min stroll in to Queenstown. Guests often park their cars and never use them during their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit,
Kind regards,

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    201
    46
    21
    4
See reviews for
109
267
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Perfect location with a big room. I stayed here recently for work and loved it, it had everything I needed.
I noticed that there are some comments below about the water pressure, I have long hair and normally have problems at other motels/lodges and didn't have any problems at Lomond Lodge.

Thank you for a great stay and see you next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay & the location of the Lodge was "perfect".
We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Queenstown, thanks for choosing to stay at Lomond Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had two weeks in Queenstown and chose to stay at one of the Lomond Lodge off-site apartments. We are a family of four and the apartment was perfect for us. It was presented so well, was absolutely immaculate and had everything we needed. It is right in the heart of Queenstown and despite being surrounded by other apartments, shops and restaurants it was really quiet. We loved being right in the heart of things and the kids loved the big balcony. Well done to the management for thinking of everything - we got to bed quite late just to discover that the electric blanket had been pre-set, bliss. We will definitely be back and recommend that you check this fantastic place out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo26870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here with my elderly grandparents and we all loved the apartment. We were in one of the off-site apartments and it was fantastic - huge with a fully equipped kitchen, 2 large bedrooms, and a balcony with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains. There was a large dining area both inside and out on the balcony - perfect for us as we were self-catering.

In terms of location, it was as central as you get - right on Shotover Street close to everything but we experienced no noise at all during the night. After parking our car, we did not use it until we left Queenstown!

The member of staff we spoke to was lovely - we didn't really see anyone again after that but they were there if we needed them.

Overall, we were delighted and can't recommend the apartment we had highly enough - it was slightly outside our budget but completely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in the Off-site Lake view apartment.
It is great to hear when guests have really enjoyed their stay and found everything to be exactly as they wanted.
We hope you return to Q'twn & visit us again!!
With thanks,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a two storey apartment which had a really big kitchen and bathroom downstairs with a huge living/dining room upstairs plus a large bedroom. The only real criticism was the decor and furniture which were both tired and outdated. Refurbished and this apartment would be stunning.
The location was really convenient with just a short walk down into central Queenstown and very close to Ultimate Hikes centre for our 6am start. Friendly staff too made us feel very welcome and we had opportunity to leave luggage for 2 nights during the aforementioned hike of Routeburn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karlosfandango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC metro area
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clean, convenient and comfortable! I stayed at Lomond Lodge in Jan 2012, when driving alone through the S Island, then brought my parents here in June 2012. Nice having a kettle and some kitchenware in the room and kitchenette with stove up the hall. Quiet street -- close to Gondola, Fergburger/Fergbaker (yum!), Info Centre and the Station, where you can get shuttles to different activities. Desk staffer was very helpful and friendly. She recommended Shotover Jet, Gondola, and Onsen Hot Pools...nice combo of a bit of action and mellow time. Note: There are series of steps leading to upper rooms.

Room Tip: Preferred second floor room on end facing back courtyard -- this room had a queen bed and was spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

When we arrived we were told that the room we had reserved was going to be near a renovation area so our room was changed. With the addition of a rollaway bed for our son there was no room to move around. The curtain rod was not functioning correctly but I was able to fix it myself. The best part of the hotel was its convenient location within walking distance of the gondola and downtown. It was a quiet location. On checkout day we had to wait for the receptionist as she was running late! Overall an ok stay but nothing outstanding other than location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaB536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi thanks for your review - we closed for 12 days in May to re-furbish the top floor rooms & were very conscious of ensuring other guests were made aware there was upgrade work being completed on site, hopefully with minimal disruption.!
We apologise that your curtain rail was not functioning properly, had we had been informed we could have fixed it for you, immediately. It may not have been fixed back correctly after the housekeepers had completed full cleans on the rooms and dry cleaned the curtains.
We hope as you enjoyed being so central that you would opt to rebook & stay with us at Lomond Lodge next time you visit, as we would like to ensure that your next stay is perfect!
with thanks.
Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Property: Lomond Lodge
Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 2 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front offering quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road. Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD, 5GB of complimentary WiFi per day plus free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. We have Lake & Garden studio rooms - Lake View rooms with balcony have "stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu. Garden studios have lovely views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing