We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Place”
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomond Lodge
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have stayed at Lomond Lodge twice with my friend and we will certainly return! This is a fantastic place to stay in Queenstown - wonderful view, clean and comfortable apartment.
All the staff are friendly and helpful.
On both occasions we have headed off on walks and our luggage was stored without any problem. The location is excellent just a short walk into the main town.
The walks we completed were Milford And Grand Traverse with Ultimate Hikes - GO-
IT WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!!!

Room Tip: The front rooms with the view are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 958Raylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hi thanks for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the fabulous walks on offer locally - we hope to host you again if you return to Queenstown!!
With thanks,
The Team at Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 554 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Lomond Lodge for 4 nights in room 9. This level had just been re-carpeted and painted so was all 'fresh' although the smell of fresh paint was a little overpowering. Because of the re-vamp, we had a few problems, but they were all sorted out to our satisfaction. The room itself was comfortable, although it could do with a few drawers. The heating was efficient (a little too efficient, so we kept it very low). Yes, the pressure in the shower could have been more, but it was adequate and didn't bother us as some others have mentioned. The supply of glasses, plates etc. was great and there was a small kitchen at the end of the hall where you could replenish if needed. You could also use it to cook if you wanted, but we ate out all the time. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows or an extra blanket. The location of the Lodge is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Queenstown, so is great in that respect. It is also right next door to the Gondola. The rooms are a little noisy. We were on the top floor, so couldn't hear anyone above us, but could hear the noise from next door.Top marks to the staff who were always very helpful and accommodating. We would return, so that speaks volumes in itself.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the street have the view over Lake Wakatipu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Hi thanks for your review, as you said, we had just finished refurbishing the top floor rooms & you were our first guests in those new rooms - hence we appreciated your helpful comments & support. We are all really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay & time in Queenstown.
We look forward to hosting you both again when you return!
Kind regards,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location of the off site apartment. It was near to restaurants & shopping areas. The view was also amazing! The rooms were clean & big enough to accommodate a family of 5-6 adults. We will be back to Queenstown!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hi thanks for your review - the off site lake apartments are great for being central, and as you say, the views are just fabulous from the balcony and bedroom!
We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
with thanks,
Lee & Rachel Exell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Flat 6.

The receptionist welcomed us very well, and staying in Flat 6 includes access to the parking just across the road. Those flats are indeed the best you can find in Queenstown in terms of location, if you want to live the Queenstown atmosphere as a visitor, with lake views and being a few steps away from everything.

Other accommodations may be fancy, may have stunning views, great customer service, but none of them have the location these flats have, not even the locals live in such a great location. The price is good enough if you are four people, five or six. The inside has everything you need, good kitchen, comfortable couch, dining table, heat pump, nice bathroom and nice beds. Flat 6 actually has beautiful views to the lake and mountains, nothing greater than having a dinner or breakfast out in the terrace with those views.

Our only problem was the way the building is built. One of the rooms is actually located on the "ugly and noisy" side of the building. There is an extractor outside (probably coming from the restaurants downstairs) which is working 24/7, making one of the walls totally black, and at night, when everything gets quieter, it makes a loud and annoying constant noise. Plus, if you open the window, the room gets a peculiar indian spice smell from the indian restuarant underneath. The other downside is particularly the two indian restaurants and the chineese restaurant under the apartments, as the whole building smells indian/chineese food 24/7. But closing the doors and opening only the terrace window, that is not a problem.

My suggestion to the owner is to insulate even more that room, with triple glass if necessary, or a double window, and to insulate the wall, to avoid the noise, which is certainly annoying at night. Without a change, I don't think future guests will appreciate sleeping in that room. We were lucky we were four, so that we could sleep in the sofa-bed of the lounge.

Apart from the noise and the smells coming from the outside, this is THE place to stay in Queenstown if you look for an affordable and beautiful stay in the middle of Queenstown.

I will certainly come back, but not to Flat 6.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We (4 adults) booked the off site apartment of the Lomond Lodge which was just fabulous and great value for money. The apartment is located right at the border of the lake with stunning views, directly in the city centre and no traffic noise at all. The apartment itself is very comfortable and spacious with two large bedrooms. If we ever will go back to Queenstown we will definitely book this apartment again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hi thanks for your review of the Lake view Off site Apt - it is great to know you had a fabulous trip to Queenstown and enjoyed the Apartment!
We hope to see you next time you visit Queenstown.
Kind regards,
Lomond Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed there just one night and was ok. Our room was plenty of space and a little kitchen that we expected bigger. But anyway they have a wonderful full-size kitchen to share among customers so no problem. The only problem we found was the noise from other rooms. Walls are really thin and you can hear other guest walking in there rooms. The staff was really helpful and friendly and the location is great so we would repeat again. Almost forgot to say that they have the most quiet AC machine I ever saw!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Front Office Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi thanks for your recent review and comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay, albeit a brief overnight one! We fitted the AC units last year and they are a great asset in the summer and as you say, really quiet!!
We hope to host you again should you plan to return to Queenstown...maybe we could tempt you to stay a few more nights!
with thanks,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The positives would have to be the great and convenient location, eco-friendly policy, friendly staff and amazing views! The negatives would have to be the poor water pressure (a comment mentioned by travelers before)... i have long thick hair and had to spend ages trying to wash it which took away any possible water saving benefit of the shower head. We also has problems with the tv reception which kept cutting in and out... perhaps an issue i could have brought up with them at the time but we were only staying a couple of nights and didn't see the point. My final negative comment would have to be the bed... we found it way too soft and therefore had little sleep... i am obviously aware that this comes down to ones personal preference and don't mean to be negative about it but i do think it is worth noting for others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Guest thank you for the honest review you logged regarding your recent stay at Lomond Lodge - it is important to us as owners to gain guest feedback in order to improve.
We appreciate you mentioned it was personal preference re the bed; we feel it is important to confirm all of our beds at the Lodge are from the Sleepyhead Executive range - we do put cushioned toppers on the beds, as they are designed to add an extra layer of comfort - which means the topper may have been too soft, we appreciate some guests prefer medium to hard beds, therefore our staff are able to take the topper off for you, which hopefully would have meant you would have enjoyed a better nights sleep.
In regard to the TV stations, on occasion the channels can lose their programmed reception, and again all our staff are trained on how to re-set all the channels - which only takes a short amount of time. We are looking forward to having Freeview at the Lodge this month, as this will alleviate any channel quality issues or guests trying to re-tune them on our behalf!
Our aim is for each and every guest to enjoy their stay, so we do hope you will return again to the Lodge as we would be keen to offer you the specific service to suit your needs so you can leave totally happy.
With thanks again,

Rachel & Lee Exell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $115 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 2 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front offering quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star, with a silver environmental award. Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road. Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's , Unlimited complimentary WiFi per day plus free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. We have Lake & Garden studio rooms - Lake View rooms with balcony have "stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu. Garden studios have lovely views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing