We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly located with lovely views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 47 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfectly located with lovely views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had one night at Melbourne Lodge and found it to be wonderful accommodation. We were upgraded to a room with ensuite and the room was spacious and quiet. The owner was helpful and friendly answering our questions and explaining an easier way to walk into town which was less steep. The walk was 5 mins and when we returned, being slightly away from the centre of town ensured a quiet night for sleeping. The WiFi worked really well and was unlimited. The whole place is being renovated in stages. The owner mentioned it is best to book through their website but I notice you cannot access their website directly from Tripadvisor. Once this is done it would be easier to book directly. The view from the deck of the lake in Autumn was stunning and a plentiful continental breakfast buffet set us up for the day. Highly recommend for value in Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    88
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
53
103
71
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have spent the weekend in Queenstown in this lodge where I had a room with this amazing view to Queenstown Lake! Incredible! 5 minutes walking from the town centre, I've get really good service quality ( a personnel always smiling); the room was very clean, same for the bathroom and I have appreciated their very good continental breakfast ( cereals,muffins, croissants, yogourt, fresh fruits salad, juice, coffe). I definitly recommand it!
Un weekend super sur queensown, dans ce lodge de qualité. la vue était juste incroyable de ma chambre! un personnel toujours souriant et disponible, j'ai apprécié la propreté de ma chambre et des douches. etablissement très chaleureux, comme à la maison! Le petit dejeuner continental avec muffins, cereales, croissant, jus est très copieux! Je recommande définitivement ce lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0emie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Fantastic views and friendly accommodating on site owners made our stay very memorable.
We booked in for a week and extended to 2 weeks. The position is the best,a lovely stroll down the hill,though the beautiful park if you want,and your in the centre of Queenstown.
We had lots of luggage so we opted for a 2 bedroom,one we used for changing and bags,and this worked very well,they looked after us with the account and we left VERY happy.
They have a magnificent guest lounge overlooking the lake with free tea & coffee and a big TV with many channels,and lots of games & books etc.
Breakfast is taken in a nice room,yes more views!! When we left this week they were installing a very modern up market wi fi system,not sure but i think its free?
Ring or as we did email for a quote,it may surprise you, once the word gets out think that there prices will move up.
We had friends who paid lots more and a smaller room and no view.
PS The house dog is called Benjy and he is a full on poodle ish.........take him for a walk

Room Tip: Ask for a quote to be upgrade to on of there 3 penthouse style apartments,don't worry it may onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWilburys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, co
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

GREAT location. Minutes walk to town. Amazing view! Wonderful staff! Very friendly and accommodating. Was there on my honeymoon...an initial 2 day visit turned into 6 nights total we liked it so much. Owners are very attentive and do their best to make your stay a wonderful one! Loved our little patio and flower garden.....definitely recommend this place to others looking for value with that personal touch.

Room Tip: King en suites are great! Room 22 had a little kitchenette (bonus!!!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Staff were very friendly and the location is great as well :) breakfast served is wholesome! View from the motel is also superb :) would recommend friends and family to stay here..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianatanwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Melbourne Motor lodge gives good value for money
If you are prepared to be up the hill a bit the prices drop.
The continental breakfast was a highlight with fresh fruit and yoghurt added to the standard fare and no scrimping on repeat serves.
The communal lounge had a great outlook and the rooms were well appointed although ours did look out onto the next door neighbours.
Parking was a bit tight but with a small car OK
All in all we had a relaxing stay in a scenic environment

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst staying in Queenstown. Couldn't believe how close it was to town considering the price I paid. Good, clean room. Friendly service and very helpful with helping me book trips and activities! Thanks Melbourne lodge for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiewellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 35 Melbourne Street, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast lodge with a choice of lodge rooms King, Triple or Quads with en-suites & Garden Terraces or Balconies. Lodge rooms all have Flat screen TVs, Coffee & tea making, Private En-suite with Mountain views or Garden Terrace. Some have Lake & Mountain views, and all Include Breakfast. For the independent traveller who likes to cook we have a selection of Studio Apartments, sleep 2 or 3 persons and 2 Bedroom self contained Apartments with kitchen These are on a room only basis and a Breakfast is an optional & extra charge. For the Budget conscious we have Guest house rooms breakfast included 2 Queen/twin rooms & 4 single rooms with hand basins & Shared bathrooms down the hall, communal guest lounge with coffee & tea making, sky TV, microwave, outdoor deck overlooking Queenstown bay. Onsite laundry. Free wireless, Off street parking and tour activity desk. We are only 300 metres to the downtown centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Melbourne Motor Hotel Queenstown
Comfort Inn Melbourne Hotel
Comfort Inn Queenstown
Queenstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing