We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great locale & breakfast”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Great breakfast of fruits, yogurt, cereals, croissants & toast. Our room had a kitchen, but if you don't book a room with kitchen there is a large shared room with TV, games and books that has a microwave, tea kettle and more for any quick food prep. Also a beautiful deck with several tables and chairs with mountain and lake views. The location was excellent-only a 5 min walk up from the crowds and noise from town. Wonderful owners and staff that went above and beyond.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hartski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    91
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
107
76
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Having been to Queenstown several times before, we were travelling through and booked a couple of nights on spec, on the way through. This place was great. We were in the block up the steps at the back, and the room was excellent' newly refurbished with a new en suite, small balcony, very private, and totally isolated from road/party noise(which can be an issue in Q'town. The room was airy and very clean. Perfectly adequate for two of us. The TV channels seemed to be limited - to 1,2,3, but that wasn't an issue for us as we didn't require SKY for entertainment... WIFI was limited to 1 hour per device, and again. we had no issue with that, as it was quite sufficient for my emails and other bits and pieces. It could be a problem (as could SKY) with families who have 'digital' kids who expect enormous bandwidth and endless TV. The staff were great on reception and in the dining room. Great common room with superb views. The continental breakfast was excellent - juices, cereals, fruits, yoghurt, toast, croissants, tea, coffee... We didn't think that a cooked breakfast was needed at all. Impeccable, friendly service all round ! Negatives... well, I can't think of any. The location means that it's a 5 minute walk to town - a bit steep in places for those who might be a bit incapacitated, but there's a car park for your vehicle... All in all, highly recommended !

Room Tip: Back room with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A well appointed located Motel with good views over the lake from its balcony deck. Its just a short walk from the town going down hill, the walk back though is much more strenuous ! Its a bit disjointed in its layout with effectively rooms leading off two entrances, the main and the back which are in different streets ! The owners have presumably extended their property as the opportunity has arisen over the years, its a bit like a Lego building !
Depending on which street your room is nearer is where you park your car ! The rooms are airy and clean and perfectly adequate. What is rare for a Motel in New Zealand is that a modest breakfast of fruit and toast with coffee and tea is included in the price. I think for a few NZ dollars more people would happily pay for a cooked breakfast, the breakfast room offers a marvellous view over the lake ! Frustratingly though during our entire stay the WiFi signal didn't work and was capped at only 60 usage minutes per day if you finally could get on ! You had people sitting on the floor in corridors attempting to get on their laptops ! When I raised the matter at reception, the wife of the owner put it down to technology not functioning, I'm not so sure ! I just wonder if this was a one off experience with the WiFi, or a deliberate cost cutting exercise during the busy period by the proprietors ! The jury is out on that one !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

When I arrived at my usual motel in Queenstown, I found out I had not booked, so the manager graciously canvased the immediate area for a bed.
I slept in a simple but clean and tidy single room, no frills, but a full breakfast included the next morning.
I have to say, I had one of my best sleeps in a very long time, the single bed was so comfortable.
There was very little road noise to worry about and the wonderful lady at check-in was most helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Melbourne Lodge.The breakfast was a very good buffet of good quality and quantity.The rooms were fresh and clean with new facilities with a very comfortable bed.Very friendly staff attended to all our needs.And what a fantastic view from the deck towards lake wakatipu.Close to town and restaurants.All this for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very close to the city centre and affordable place. Me and my friends stayed in a good sized, comfortable and really clean apartment with all the facilities. Delicious and healthy continental breakfast was served by friendly, welcoming staff.
Les and Cis were always more than happy to help us and answer our questions.
I totally recomend it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelynha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Coomera, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband, I and 2 children opted to stay here when visiting Queenstown for a family wedding in December 2013. Cis, Les and staff were very accommodating answering any questions we had about the local tourist attractions, family restaurants and family fun. Rooms are modern, fresh, clean and set up to allow a family of four a comfortable stay. We had our own private courtyard. Breakfast buffet had a great selection for both children and adults. We were always greeted with a friendly face. The communal guest lounge has a million dollar view of Lake Wakatipu, plenty of games and books for the children to keep themselves amused while the adults talk up a storm with other guests or just chill admiring the view. It is located a short stroll downhill or a cheap $6 taxi ride to the hub of queens town. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 35 Melbourne Street, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast lodge with a choice of lodge rooms King, Triple or Quads with en-suites & Garden Terraces or Balconies. Lodge rooms all have Flat screen TVs, Coffee & tea making, Private En-suite with Mountain views or Garden Terrace. Some have Lake & Mountain views, and all Include Breakfast. For the independent traveller who likes to cook we have a selection of Studio Apartments, sleep 2 or 3 persons and 2 Bedroom self contained Apartments with kitchen These are on a room only basis and a Breakfast is an optional & extra charge. For the Budget conscious we have Guest house rooms breakfast included 2 Queen/twin rooms & 4 single rooms with hand basins & Shared bathrooms down the hall, communal guest lounge with coffee & tea making, sky TV, microwave, outdoor deck overlooking Queenstown bay. Onsite laundry. Free wireless, Off street parking and tour activity desk. We are only 300 metres to the downtown centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Melbourne Motor Hotel Queenstown
Comfort Inn Melbourne Hotel
Comfort Inn Queenstown
Queenstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing