We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nites in Jan 2014-was very impressed on general with the room and staff were friendly helpful & full of suggestions for things to see & do. Of course, the best thing about the rooms is the amazing view- best in the world ;)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lora4dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    288
    157
    44
    24
See reviews for
197
266
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Comfortable chain hotel with fabulous views across the lake to The Remarkables. Good service at reception and the room was comfortable and clean. Underground car park a particularly good feature. Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it, but hotel is a bit impersonal and we found eating in the town better value and better food. Cost of internet and lack of accessible Wifi not good and needs to be brought up to date

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Copthorne was great...clean, safe, nice view of the Remarkables and the Lake.

We stayed for 3 nights in a 1 Brd Apt, and were happy with our selection.
Close to town, but not too close to be busy 5 mins drive. Close to attractions.
We found the lack of appliances and cuttlery difficult with 2 kids, but managed to make do.

The outdoor balcony was great...but needs outdoor settings so you can sit out and enjoy the view.Bit of a bummer there is no pool, and you need to book in to use the spa.
The free o/s car parking was a nice bonus.

Staff were efficient, with requests for more towels, but not necessarily friendly.

All in all, would reccomend this to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneMcKelvey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and we really enjoyed it! We arrived by car, and it was easy to park under the hotel. Felt safe to park the car there. Everything went smooth in the reception. We got a lake view room, and the view was really nice! Big balcony, but we didnt spend too much time there.
The room was very spacious with two queen beds. A small "kitchen" area with a fridge. The bath room was spacious as well and had some nice toiletries. All and all, the room was fresh and clean. Beds were comfy, and we had two good night sleep.
Walking to the town took about 5-10 min. In the reception area you get free Wi-Fi, but it doesn't last for long. It's disappointing that hotels like this can't offer free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and unlimited.
A good surprise was that you could have the hot tub and "spa" for yourself for 30 min. We really enjoyed it! It was a nice end to a good day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everythingcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've just had four nights in one of the two bedroom apartments and were very impressed. The apartments are very spacious and having the bedrooms on a separate level if like us, you have small children and don't want to go to bed when they do. The views are amazing and the location is pretty good too - about a 10 minute walk into town with only one hill to negotiate - which isn't bad for Queenstown. The only slightly annoying thing for us was no radio.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in a 2-bed apartment in September 2013, and couldn't believe how big the apartment was when we opened the door. It was almost like having your own townhouse! The views from the balconies were fantastic.

We knew it was uphill from Queenstown when we booked, and I must be more unfit than I realised as it killed my legs walking back from Queenstown, although the rest of my family didn't have a problem. It really did make you think twice about going in to the town, but on the other hand, for us, it was a compromise: lots of space for five nights versus a small hotel room in the centre. Don't regret our choice at all. I would recommend eating in Q'town at night as the hotel restaurant caters more for groups, or is really quiet in the evenings, and there was a wait when we ate there on our first night (it was a "quiet" night). Loads of places to eat in town and great atmosphere. The views from the restaurant at breakfast time were amazing.

Service at the Copthorne Hotel and Apartments was outstanding at all times.

Laundry facilities were good, had no trouble doing our washing before we left.

Decent sized kitchenette, and great to have two bathrooms and two toilets.

Room Tip: Apartments seemed to be on the top floor. If booking a normal room, try and get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel is about a 15 minute walk into town. Going into town is not a problem but walking up the hill to get back home can be tough after a big day on the slopes. Rooms are fine they are older but not to the point where i would make a fuss about it or consider leaving. View is great but being 24 years old i couldn't have cared less about the view. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet so you can get a good nights sleep. Free WI-FI for only 20 minutes in the lobby is just ridiculous, it should be in the rooms and be free all the time. Breakfast is a great buffet with plenty of options. No complaints about the service or cleaning. Spa is great you do have to book a time slot to use it tho. The Gym is a typical hotel gym with a few sets of small dumbbells a treadmill etc. This is a good hotel i would think $200 a night or less would be fair value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing