We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and booked a 2 bed apartment for 4 people.
The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel was spotless clean with underground car parking. Only 600m from town.
We asked for extra towels as us girls needed an extra 2 for our hair :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitrionaB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    297
    162
    46
    25
See reviews for
203
272
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Copthorne apartments is not very close to city(6-8 mins walk) area and one has to walk the long road and coming back could be challenge as it seems like trekking the mountain hill(very steep). Also staying at ground floor does not offer much fascinating views of the wakatipu lake or the remarkables( as they have named the ranges).
Also guest have to carry thieir luggage to rooms as their is no hotel concierge. Breakfast option are fairly limited and I was tired of having the same stuff(sausage,scrambled eggs and pancakes) everyday, there are not many options for asian travellers when it comes to food.
Also very surprisingly they only offer 20 mins of internet which is very disconcerting if you want to be in touch with your family back home and share lovely q'town pics on social network. Overall I feel it is a bit expensive and given a choice might go for a cheaper option close to the city.

Room Tip: High floor i.e 2nd or 3rd floor also towards the city side and confirm in advance for a King or Quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaideepSingh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netanya, israel
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from Queenstown center, however these 15 minutes include a pretty steep part going towards it, and worse, a long climb when walking back.However, a bus can be taken instead, or a cab charging roughly $7- 8 each direction.
What the hotel lacks in location it compensates by spacious rooms, nicely furnished and equipped, offering in the higher floors some view of the lake and the stuff was very helpful and friendly. Believe the hotel could be more generous with its free WI-FI, offering only 20 minutes/20MB.

Room Tip: rooms with unobstructed view of the lake on floors 3 and 4 on the Queenstown side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The team at this Hotel are kept very busy with a constant flow of guests during the snow season, its just outside of the main town area of Queenstown and provides a free shuttle service in and out every hour. This is great because the walk from town to the hotel is not far but is up a 40 degree slope. All in all it was a nice stay, the rooms are clean and comfortable and housekeeping do a great job. Would definitely consider this Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the sevice was impeccable, the staff here make this hotel, friendly , great advice on attractions. We had breakfast included with our package, it was delicious with plenty of variety and lovely views over the lake. The rooms are comfortable with nice views even though our room was a little old and tired it did serve us well. Queenstown is a fantastic destination with many sights and attractions.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have better vies of the lake and cable car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillypilly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is a lovely location in Queenstown. I liked the fact that it was not right in the center of town but was just a short walk away because it was quieter. I could walk to restaurants and the sites of my adventurous tours from this hotel. I got a lovely corner room overlooking a lovely garden at one end, the lake and mountains from my balcony. The staff at the reception desk were very attentive and helped me pick some of my tours. Two things I disliked were that the balcony chairs and table di don’t look like they had been cleaned for a while; and there was no free Wi-Fi in the rooms. What I liked most is the location of the hotel and the spectacular views from my room. I really enjoyed my stay here and may stay here again when I am in Queensland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabGlobetrotter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff was very nice and tried to be helpful, but I was clearly upset at the quality of the location and then quality of the room. The hotel was along a main road with some traffic. The room we got was on the first floor and walked out to a ground level patio. Their was no air conditioning so to get fresh air, you have to open the door/windows then it was noisy from the road even at night. The beds and linens were fine. The room was large and moderately clean. Mislead at lakeview - was not. Maybe a higher floor would have better views, but not our room and there were no other rooms available. Go elsewhere if you want view of this lovely area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy2645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing