We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy..”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and most accommodation in Queenstown is expensive and this is expensive for what you get as well. We were originally put into a queen room when we booked a twin room so had to go back downstairs and wait about 20-30 minutes for staff to fix the issue. Breakfast was good at $17 for cooked buffet. Be prepared that the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk out of town so if you like being in the hustle and bustle of town this probably isn't for you however we enjoyed the leisurely stroll each time we went into town. Lake & mountain views are outstanding and the hotel rooms were very clean. Overall we had a pleasant stay but a few things need to be worked on before I would rate it 4 stars (internet access, only 1 lift, room keys)

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th level to get good lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    293
    161
    46
    25
See reviews for
201
269
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On arriving, we were welcomed and given an upgrade .Two families had 2 apartments side by side. Each apartment had 2 bedrooms that were spacious. We had amazing views. Everything was top quality
Would definitely recommend Copthorne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralmcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

With 3 adults and 2 kids, we found the 2 bedroom apartments to be sensational value. Very spacious over 2 levels with 2 big bedrooms, big living area, good size kitchen and 2 bathrooms, it was reflect for our weeklong stay.

The apartment has 2 terraces overlooking the lake, the heating was good and the rooms very clean. They are very out of date by modern standards and needs an update, but for the money it is excellent value, well located, and very friendly staff. Every staff member we came across was exceptionally friendly.

Restaurant breakfast was good value though a little uninspiring, we did have 2 breakfasts there though and it was quite acceptable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eggie168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After spending quite some time looking at information on Queenstown hotels, we booked a superior lake view room at this hotel because it would have a private balcony with a lovely view of the lake. This reservation was made through Trailfinders many months before travel. Imagine then our surprise and dismay on arrival to be told by the woman on reception that we had been given ‘a complimentary upgrade to our Millennium Hotel’. When asked why, she just repeated the phrase. When asked if the ‘upgrade’ was to a room with a lake view she didn’t know (when we later saw the Millennium we could tell that its rooms had neither balconies nor lake views. It had marble bathrooms but was clearly a business hotel not suitable for people on a touring holiday).

We stood firm, rejected this ‘upgrade’ and said that we wanted the room that we had booked and paid for months ago. Eventually a manager appeared and said that he would sort it out. After about half an hour we were given a room with the specifications that we had booked, and vouchers for two free drinks.

The room was indeed lovely and it was a delight to sit out and watch sunset and then sunrise over the lake. We used the guest laundry and had breakfast from a very extensive buffet.

But clearly the Copthorne management is guilty of over-booking and bumping guests off to other hotels so I could not take the risk of booking here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hierocles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked this on a Bed/breakfast deal for a family ski trip. Lakeview room. Tidy. Functional kitchenette. 2xQueen beds. My boys (6 & 8) were happy to share a bed. Recently updated bathroom.
The pre-purchased breakfast deal was a good option. Decent cooked breakfast buffet. My one peeve is the coffee; too weak for my liking! (Minor complaint)
The ski locker/drying room is a great idea, and the hotel is on the delivery route for Browns Ski Shop (awesome rental place)

Room Tip: The Hotel sits along the main road in to Queenstown centre (Frankton Road), and the Lakeview rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwihusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Good value!! 10 mintue walk into town, $10 taxi or $3 pp for the bus which leaves right acroos the road. Very tidy, nicely decorated and spacious rooms. Not a huge menu to choose from at the restaurant but so many eating out options in Queenstown that it is not an issue. Staff were fantastic. A private spa pool you can book to use. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tylersmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights and over-all a pleasant experience. Below are the plus points:

* The view from the room was fantastic (although didn't open the window pane coz it was freezing in Queenstown).
* Very helpful staff and easy check-in and check
* Clean, neat room
* Good bed
* Good value

The not so great side of the hotel :
* A little far away from CBD ( walking takes around 20 mins one side) - so ppl not having cars -avoid
* Paid wifi - I am not sure about the prices of other hotels/motels, but plenty of them were advertising free wifi
* the bed is soft - not sure about others but a soft bed gives me backache !!
* No idea why they provide 2 queens bed :D

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel, insist on taking the rooms on a higher level as it gives a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing