We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning scenery from the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked this because it was good value for 3 adults and had free parking. Our apartment was on the 4th floor and was ready early for us. It had a large living/dining/kitchen room with a balcony off it with stunning views.There was a w.c. on this floor . Upstairs there was the main bedroom with en suite bathroom and another balcony with even better views than downstairs.Its a pity the balconies haven't been updated as the plant containers and wooden rails across them restrict the views . The second bedroom was at the back. It was a good size but had only a view of a concrete wall. There was also another w.c. and a shower room on this floor. The kitchen was quite well equipped apart from no sharp kitchen knife and tin opener which we asked reception for.My son used the spa pool every night . There is a bar and restaurant but we used neither.It is an easy walk(10 mins downhill )into Queenstown but I found it a bit tough on the uphill walk back and so we got a taxi which was easy. This was a very bright spacious apartment and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views and are further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 723 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Liked this place, nice balconies comfy bed etc. a couple of faults though... Our apartment stunk of Chinese cooking, which was kinda heinous, not cos it was Chinese, I just hate smelling other people's cooking. Receptionist was a bit surly and didn't accept responsibility for the hotel stuffing up our bed configurations, but neither of those is a biggs. Also ate at the restaurant one night, was tasty, but waitress was hopeless. All in all, would stay there again quite happily.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank mcfaddendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We found the hotel on our search for a motel, and we had a good offer via "booking.com". Usually this price category would not have been our favorite. The receptionist was at first not open to the "booking.com" offer, but finally we found a solution at the same price. The unit ddid not have a lakeview, but this was not what we were looking for. Attention: The bed had the weakest mattress we have ever found - it was like swimming through dough... So not advisable for more than one or two nights. Apart from this, the unit was clean,. ccomfortable and spacious - the four stars of the hotel are justified.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Paid a little more for what i thought was a room with a blacony, turned out to be a 2 floor apartment with 2 balconys. Really clean, tidy and modern - event though you do over look a main road, the view of the lake and mountains completley make up for it. Definitely recommend paying a little extra for a room with a balcony/view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We like others went to the wrong Copthornehotelqueenstown and were told by a very uninterested clerk that it was only a 2 min walk! That's fine without dragging your bags uphill I must say! Lovely reception at the Copthorne Apartments and were straight into our rooms at 11.30 am. View awesome and very clean rooms that have recently been renovated. Think the restaurant was the only down side of our stay . We had taken advantage of the breakfast discount and were quite happy until the 3rd day when there were no plates, no bacon left, no orange juice and no hot water in the thermos. This was quickly remedied when I advised the staff. Sunday night we ate there and the Antipasta platter was not as advertised lacking cheeses and dips. Then my desert of apple crumble was served up straight from the fridge. The waitress said she was sorry but they had the 2nd chef on that night! This was all fixed up finally and we were given a very welcome apology of a complimentary glass of wine each. Spa was very clean. Very handy to town although a bit of a climb to return but we really enjoyed a walk straight opposite the hotel down the street to the Lake. We walked around the Lake edge into the city centre which was lovely. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: 4 th floor was a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamelala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were upgraded due to being on a girls birthday weekend, which was excellent. The staff were fantastic and Jackie the manager needs a special mention. View from apartment was amazing and the beds very good with pillow menu. Easy walk to Queenstown centre. Only downside was the uninviting hotel restaurant but town is not far away and room service for a cheese board not bad.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up gives you a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We booked the Hotel online, first point of confusion, there are two Copthorne Hotsls in Queenstown (one much closer to town than the other). We turned up at the wrong one. Upon arriving at the correct one, the building is an odd shape and the group has arremped to refurbish the Hotel, however there is a lot a cost of paint can't fix. Firstly I would recommend buying a room without including breakfast (it's actually cheaper to do this). Secondly ask for a room on the same level (or side) as the restaurant. If you don't you need to take TWO separate lifts and do some walking. Why they don't open up the "staff only" middle part to prevent this is anyone's guess.... The rooms are clean and tidy and reasonable value for money. I strugled to believe that the rooms don't have air conditioning. Don't use the Internet as its very expensive. In this day and age it should be free. Also the group charges a $4 credit card surcharge which is daylight robbery. Such a big group should be able to absorb this or actually charge the true cost (in my experience for a large business this would be less than 2%). With The above in mind, I would go to the Novotel, which is lakefront (in CBD), newer and a similar price.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 59 in Queenstown
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing