We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day tour of Milford Sound”

awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour
Ranked #35 of 158 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Explore Milford Sound with a return day tour from either Queenstown or Te Anau with awesomeNZ. Travelling in a modern glass-roof coach for optimal viewing, your local and experienced guide will explain the history of this world famous region. Then board your Milford Sound cruise and explore the awe-inspiring landscape of this world famous fiord, the glacier carved valleys and cascading waterfalls.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We started the morning with a bus tour with our wonderful guide Paul. He was enthusiastic and informative and stopped at some great locations for us to look around and take photographs. The bus was clean, comfortable and had a glass ceiling to engance the views.

This was followed up with a cruise with a lunch box included. We had a fantastic day and took away some beautiful photos. Recommended tour.

Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesomeNZcom, Manager at awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Kia ora Penny, thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your day with us. We're really pleased to hear your enjoyed your day with Paul and will pass your kind comments on to him. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was an excellent adventure. Once again, it was handled in an excellent fashion. Our driver was so knowledgeable and made it extra interesting. The scenery was breathtaking and all in all a trip not to be missed especially by this company.

Thank SandyFord16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesomeNZcom, Manager at awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Kia ora Sandy, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments. We're delighted you enjoyed your day with us and wish you safe travels to your next destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All the other positive reviews brought me to this tour company for Milford Sound. You can choose from a bunch of other, larger tour companies, but this particular one was so perfect, I can't imagine anyone else is better. The coach was really comfortable and it was such a luxury to not have to drive. Paul was such a great host and I loved all the great facts along the tour. We stopped a perfect amount of times to grab fresh air, a snack and an amazing array of pictures.

This tour is a must see. All the reviews are spot on!

2  Thank Elyse1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesomeNZcom, Manager at awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks for your review Elyse1316.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked the trip on line with AwesomeNZ. We were picked up at the hotel right on time. The bus was comfortable and has glass panels in the roof for extra viewing through the canyons. There were a few other stops at hotels and the downtown Queenstown location.
Our tour guide was Paul. He was informative, enthusiastic, and very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. He provided narration about a wide variety of topics including local legends, the flora and fauna, local agriculture and tidbits about the towns and sites we drove through. It was obvious that Paul knew a lot about the area and showed his love for the region. There was no bathroom on the bus but there were frequent stops and we were kept informed about when and where bathrooms would be available on stops.
The cruise on the Sound was fantastic again with very good narration by the crew on the boat.
The narration is broadcast on speakers throughout the boat with a wireless microphone. It was veryeasy to hear. The boat is able to get almost into the waterfalls and if you wanted you could get wet. Rain jackets are also provided.
A box lunch was included with the boat trip. Other snacks and beverages were available for sale. The boat provided good viewing both from the decks or the comfort of seats behind glass.
The trip back was quiet with minimal stops and got us back to Queenstown and dropped us back at our hotel to allow time for dinner at a reasonable time.
It's a long day but well worth it. A very classy operation. It was AwesomeNZ!!

2  Thank mmergener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesomeNZcom, Manager at awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Kia ora mmergener. Thanks for your review and we'll be sure to pass your feedback on to Paul and the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really amazing trip. Was picked up close to our accommodation which made the early start less painful... Paul (our driver and guide) really made the trip with his impressive historical and geographical knowledge of the Sound and his passion for the natural beauty around us.
The trip to the Sound was as enjoyable as the cruise so dont be put off by the long bus journey. On the cruise we saw dolphins, seals and penguins, very cool!!!
Would definitely recommend this trip for people of all ages and fitness levels.
Thanks AwesomeNZ for an unforgettable trip and thank you Paul!! :)
Maria (Ireland)

Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesomeNZcom, Manager at awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Kia ora Maria C, thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your day with us. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to awesomeNZ Milford Sound Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing