We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Restaurant on the heart of Queenstown”
Review of No.5 Church Lane

No.5 Church Lane
Reserve a Table
Ranked #73 of 305 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: No5 Church Lane is a bar with a difference for the discerning drinkers in Queenstown, whether local or just here for a quick visit the team at No5 Is ready to satisfy the taste buds with delicious cocktails, fine champagnes, carefully selected local and international wines and some of the tastiest dishes in Queenstown - Modern New Zealand cuisine sourced locally.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

It was five of us and we all enjoyed tremendous service, ambiance and food. We tried the chef's special which was absolutely great. The pate was amazing, chicken was tasty and all other dishes were delicious and beautifully presented. The drinks are a bit expensive but cocktails are innovative and tasty. In sum, I will visit again and invite others to visit this beautiful restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 352bettyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperium_Group, Manager at No.5 Church Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 352bettyh

Glad you enjoyed our new menu and our chef specials, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 317 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

Went at the weekend with 2 friends and they had a new menu out. Couldn't decide so ordered a few to share with the help of Shannon our waitress. The food was excellent. The rich, flavoursome kumara dampers were a favourite, as was the hangi vegetables and and banana blooms. The surprise was the smoked fish which came in a smoking jar and was melt in your mouth delicious. Great food, great service, Shannon was friendly prompt with our drinks and good on recommendation. The Highland samuari changed up with rum to suit my tastes was a great suggestion. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Wanderlostwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperium_Group, Manager at No.5 Church Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Wanderlostwoman, Thank you for your great review I will make sure I past your comments onto Shannon.

Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

We met friends here for a catch up meal and had a lovely evening. Our corner table had comfortable chairs and was cosy without being cramped. Unsure of local wines I asked for guidance with my selection and was provided with 2 tastings - both of which were great. We chose the chef's choice at a set price which proved to be great. We had 4 courses with shared plates and all the food was wonderfully prepared and delicious. We enjoyed having the burden of selection taken out of our hands and ended up with meals we would probably not have chosen but were nevertheless enjoyed. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. All round a fabulous night out.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperium_Group, Manager at No.5 Church Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tania R

Thank you for your wonderful feedback I will pass your comment onto the chefs and service team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I ate here for lunch. Good drinks selection and drinks were nice. The service was fast but food wasn’t great. We ordered a range of small plates and a pizza. The pizza was ok and the chips were nice. The falafel and also wild hare croquettes were nice but very dry and would have been better with some sort of sauce or dip on the side. The lamb ribs were fatty and cold, the pate we ordered had an awful taste (kind of like vomit!) so we left it and just ate the bread and cracker it came with. When asked how our food was we did tell him our feedback of the pate dish but did not get a response. Overall, the food was not very good and certainly not worth the money, left feeling disappointed and expected more.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank emmalc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperium_Group, Manager at No.5 Church Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, emmaic88

I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience, we have changed our menu and would love to see you back. if you would like to try some of our new menu items please email me at jworthington@eichardts.com.

Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

We were enjoying our last night in QT after wedding celebrations the day before. Was a large party of 15 and they set us up in the middle room across 2 tables that gave us freedom to move from table to table and not interupt other diners.
We chose the set menu which was very tasty with lots of different food to enjoy. I love the Beetroot falafels which were unique in flavour and texture and tasted yummy. The lamb ribs were interesting with a middle eastern flavour.
A lovely evening completing a fabulous 10 days in NZ

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperium_Group, Manager at No.5 Church Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi millsie58, thank you for your great feedback, hopefully we will see you back soon.

Kind regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No.5 Church Lane also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to No.5 Church Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing