We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedal to Paradise - a highlight of our NZ trip”

Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traverse the western shores of Lake Wakatipu and into Mt Aspiring National Park . Let Revolution Tours take you on Queenstowns original fully guided and supported luxury biking and walking tour. After a day of riding in spectacular surroundings you will enjoy a hearty gourmet dinner and perhaps a good wine (or two!). Following that you may choose to rest your weary limbs in front of the fire or soak in the hot tub. Then happily drift off to sleep in one of the quality historic lodges along the trail and wake refreshed for another day of adventure. Because you deserve it. All luggage is transported by our support vehicle to the following nights destination. This leaves you free to enjoy your ride and walk without the extra weight of all your personal belongings. When riding you can cycle at your own pace along mainly flat and rolling farm and back country roads knowing that all your luggage is taken care of. Your experienced guides are there riding with you, on hand to share local knowledge, take spectacular photos and to fix those unfortunate flat tyres! We take the hassle out of your tour planning by taking care of all aspects of your tour. Everything is included in the price of our tours except 'over the bar' drinks. You just decide you want to come along and we take care of the rest. We love this part of New Zealand and can't wait to share this secret paradise with you.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had such a memorable day tour..the first of the summer season..we fell in love with Glenorchy and the ride was just so special for us...what a day...and even the weather was stunning (as was the morning tea and lunch)
we will be back..we are still buzzing from it all
Our day started with a great morning tea at a terrific cafe in Glenorchy..we hit the bikes and had a memorable morning ride into rolling country....nothing too challenging but awe inspiring nonetheless

the crew Matt and Kate are just lovely (Matt is an expert in Hobbit and LOTR stories (we loved them... and Kate provided able back-up in the support vehicle as well as preparing the best and healthiest picnic lunch ever..if you don't count the chocolate muffins

after lunch we rode into paradise and tried some stony creek crossing on the bikes en route...the best fun!

anyway we will be back...and thank you again Matt and Kate

you guys are awesom

Matt and Karen
Orange NSW Australia

Thank KarenHutchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hi Matt & Karen
Thanks for your great review- we are really pleased you enjoyed riding in Paradise and we are STOKED that our trip was a highlight of your visit to NZ. Next time you're back in NZ please call in for a cuppa/vino, Kate P.S Matt is back into building his 1950's bike after seeing Matt's beautiful creation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

Such an uplifting experience! The fresh air and stunning views were an absolute treat for the soul. Matt and Kate, the tour guides, were great company and made for a lot of laughs along the way. They even gave us the opportunity to cycle ahead, alone for a while (just my husband and I) for some quality romantic chatter, with no children in tow! Bliss! The highlight for me was riding through a heard of sheep being mustered along, not by a farmer on a quad bike, but a farmer walking her toddler in a pram behind the crowd. That was such a great moment, to see the real, true blue life of a farmer (and child) in a high country southland station. I enjoyed the ride so much, I am now addicted to riding! Thanks so much Revolution Tours!
Emma Tyler

1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Manager at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Hi Emma we are so glad you enjoyed your day and welcome to Queenstown we hope we provided you with a good introduction. Now you have been converted to a two wheel junkie we will no doubt cross paths on a trail again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The four of us had a wonderful day with Kate and Matt and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. We had 2 female non cyclists with us and they managed the ride including the fords without any problems.
Matt and Kate were knowledgeable about the area and were great to talk to. The lunch was superb and they catered for a gluten free member of the party very well.
This trip will stay happily in my mind for a very long time and brings a smile to my face when I think about it.

Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi Barry, thanks so much for your positive feedback. We're really pleased you and your friends enjoyed yourselves. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Pedal on! Kate and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our trip,with 5 other couples was excellent.our guides,Matt and Kate ensured we cycled,ate,drank and laughed for three great days. Despite being an older group,over 60,
they designed a great mixture of rides,views and accommodation.
With having a support vehicle plus excellent bikes,we toured the beautiful area around the top of Lake Wakitipu in great style..

1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Hi Mike, thanks for your positive feedback and glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the Paradise Trail. It was a pleasure to guide such a fun, outgoing group such as yours. Thanks again, Kate & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned home after doing the Revolution Tours 4 day trip with 10 friends (all of us over 60) . Some had done a bit of cycling, some like myself had just borrowed a bike the week before for a practise pedal around the block before heading to Queenstown.
Matt picked us up from the hotel and took us into the park where Kate had sized the bikes according to our heights. They gave us safety instructions and an outline of what to expect and then we jumped on the Earnslaw for a wonderful trip across the lake to Walter Peak Station where scones and jam and coffee were provided. Yum! Then it was onto the bikes and off. We were blessed with great weather and the scenery is truly the best in the world. Kate and Matt supplied a hearty lunch and snacks along the way and the evening was spent in the lovely house at Kinloch where we were served a most terrific venison casserole followed by chocolate tart. Funnily enough we were a little tired and had an early night. The next days cycle was again fabulous and a bit flatter and we ended our day at the most perfect Paradise Lodge....well it would be perfect wouldn't it? Glorious old homestead with excellent accommodation. We were taken into Glenorchy for great pizza and enjoyed a most convivial night. On our return to the homestead there were deer grazing under the chestnut tree. Perfect end to a perfect day. Day 3 we walked into the Routeburn. 2 hours in and 2 hours out. Spectacular! That evening Chef Glinnie and her very jolly helper came and cooked for us at Paradise. Wild mushroom soup, leek and potato pies, smoked salmon and lamb, had us all groaning with pleasure. Too much wine (can there be such a thing) and into bed ready for Day 4 which to my mind was possibly the best ride or all. It just filled my soul with gladness. There is something down there in the south that is missing up here in Auckland....something intangible.
How would I rate the whole event? Brilliant! Brilliant guides, scenery, food, attention to detail.
What must you take? Proper bike pants!

1  Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Hi Glenda, thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed the trip, we thoroughly enjoyed guiding your group for 4 days of cycling fun. Thanks again, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing