We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, brilliant and perfect day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise

Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traverse the western shores of Lake Wakatipu and into Mt Aspiring National Park . Let Revolution Tours take you on Queenstowns original fully guided and supported luxury biking and walking tour. After a day of riding in spectacular surroundings you will enjoy a hearty gourmet dinner and perhaps a good wine (or two!). Following that you may choose to rest your weary limbs in front of the fire or soak in the hot tub. Then happily drift off to sleep in one of the quality historic lodges along the trail and wake refreshed for another day of adventure. Because you deserve it. All luggage is transported by our support vehicle to the following nights destination. This leaves you free to enjoy your ride and walk without the extra weight of all your personal belongings. When riding you can cycle at your own pace along mainly flat and rolling farm and back country roads knowing that all your luggage is taken care of. Your experienced guides are there riding with you, on hand to share local knowledge, take spectacular photos and to fix those unfortunate flat tyres! We take the hassle out of your tour planning by taking care of all aspects of your tour. Everything is included in the price of our tours except 'over the bar' drinks. You just decide you want to come along and we take care of the rest. We love this part of New Zealand and can't wait to share this secret paradise with you.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, brilliant and perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Kate and Matt were amazing tour guides. They really make sure everyone is comfortable and safe... And they are both great people! I would tell others to use them without a doubt.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Hi Michelle, really great to hear you enjoyed your day in Paradise. It's always a pleasure to guide such a fit, friendly person as yourself. Thanks, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great people, great scenery, great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My hubbie and I took a trip post Christmas to burn off our excess calories!
The guides are incredibly knowledgeable, great fun and very considerate to the differing levels of biking ability and fitness of the group.

We enjoyed some of the best views the south island has to offer from the seat of our bikes - it was a brilliant day out. I especially liked the commentary on local areas of interest, the gourmet picnic lunch - and REAL plunger coffee for morning tea - what a treat.

What we really liked is that the Matt & Kate, the guides, let everyone ride at their own pace, so everyone could feel challenged if they wanted to, or take it easy. Heaps of fun crossing the few fords - I haven't laughed this much in ages.

I'd recommend the trip to anyone, you don't need to be Lance Armstrong to enjoy this fun day out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your trip and the coffee! (Great to meet a fellow caffeine addict). Hopefully we'll see you back in GY soon, Kate and Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Day in paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I did the 1 day bike/hike trip. It was an absolutely wonderful day. They run a great program, are very interesting and engaging group leaders. The scenery was spectacular!
I hope to return someday for the 4 day option!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Hi Neville, we had a great day out showing you Paradise, Really glad you both enjoyed yourselves. Pedal on! Kate and Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Ride to Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had a wonderful tour with Matt as our guide and Lawrence driving the support vehicle. The weather was perfect and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful day to ride into Paradise.
We were picked up in Queenstown and driven to Glenorchy with stops for the obligitory photos along the way. We then had a quick caffiene fix in Glenorchy to get us geared up the riding to come. The ride into Paradise must be one of the most stunning bike rides in the world, biking along the unsealed roads that provided the access for some scenes of the Lord of the Rings is just amazing!
Lunch was delicious and provided courtsey of the cafe in Glenorchy, real mountain bikers food! After lunch we biked some more to the road end and had a lovely walk into the Rees/Dart track which was a great way to stretch the legs after all the bike riding.
After finishing our walk we were transfered back to Queenstown for a well deserved sit-down and a beer!
Big thanks to Matt and lawrence for looking after us and ensuring a magical day in Paradise!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mthorsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Hi Guys, really stoked that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully see you in Paradise again sometime, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Four days of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked this trip at fairly short notice .Someone had passed an e-mail on to us about the trip and having done the Otago Rail Trail (ORT) and enjoyed we thought it looked like fun and we would give this a try . Matt and Kate were very accommodating and put on an extra trip for the five of us , Mum Dad and "kids" 16,19 and 20.
Matt and Kate are incredibly well organised and have thought of pretty much everything
, so you really just have to turn up and it really is a holiday. The bikes are extremely comfortable and while we all had the padded bike pants not everyone wore theirs.
The cycling is probably a little more challenging than the ORT but there is a back up vehicle in which you can hitch a ride . I was the only one to ever do this, the others really enjoying the challenge and cycling every kilometre. So it is very suitable for mixed ability groups like ours( Mum didn't get left behind!). There are long stretches of fairly easy cycling, unbelievable views , fords, great picnic spots for lunch. Even opportunities to swim for the (fool)hardy too!
The accommodation is great . We loved the first night at Kinloch Hotel: lovely setting , quaint hotel and great food and service. The next two nights we had the Paradise homestead to ourselves . This has just been restored and is very comfortable with lots of interesting reading material about the area and the Paradise Trust. It is a beautiful area and the caretaker was very helpful pointing out the best walks.
On day 3 we had a rest from cycling and walked on the Routeburn track up to the Routeburn flats about 12km round trip and not too taxing.
The final day includes cycling and a bit of a walk on the Rees Dart track . You can book a jet boat trip from there into Glenorchy as an extra . We hadn't done this and as it turned out it rained that day but we would have regretted not having booked it if the day had been fine.
The food is all provided with tasty sandwiches for lunch, great muffins and slices for morning teas and even the odd lolly! Dinner the second night was great pizzas in Glenorchy ( very popular with the "kids") and on the final night Matt and Kate brought in a chef who prepared an amazing meal at the homestead. She was also a very interesting local character and stayed on to chat with us.
We all had a great time. The "kids" thought it was more interesting than the ORT. the scenery is certainly more spectacular and having Matt and Kate along with you as guides certainly adds immeasurably to the experience. They are very helpful and great fun and have local knowledge.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip . Great for families with teenagers, groups of friends etc. Though the initial cost may look a bit expensive the level of service is such that we thought it was very good value for money.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevolutionTours, Owner at Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
So glad you enjoyed yourselves, we really enjoyed guiding you and getting to know you all over the four days. Pedal on!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Revolution Tours - Pedal to Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing