We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chopper with cool cyclic control!”

Heli Tours Queenstown
Ranked #46 of 159 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heli Tours is owned and operated by Paul and Katherine Mitchell. It is the ONLY privately locally owned Helicopter Company that fly in Queenstown. We are New Zealanders who grew up in the region. We have a passion, the knowledge of and a relationship with this land. All year round we specialise in Helicopter flights around Queenstown,Milford Sound, Fiordland and Canterbury.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We really loved this trip - and I dragged my pilot husband along: Paul was fabulous, and his Squirre with him as Pilot in Command was more than capable of delivering in this very competitive market: calm, heaps of power for the 4 passengers and put us on the mountain top safely,on time, without any stress.Superlatives cannot describe the view or experience.

There is no where to hide in this market: Fabulous! Thankyou.

Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliToursQTN, Owner at Heli Tours Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Hi Lesley, thank you so much for the review, I enjoyed meeting yourself and Joe, yes the Squirrel is a great Helicopter, safe, smooth and reliable. I hope you have a fantastic holiday and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Booked with Heli Tours after we were told twice by another organisation that they couldn't fly. We phoned up and were offered a bespoke service tailored to our requirements and within our budget.
The service was exceptional from the administration to the flying and we had the best day out, far exceeding our expectations.
I could not recommend this company highly enough, and if you are visiting Queenstown I would say they are a 'must do' activity as they will taylor their trips to suit your needs.
Brilliant!

Thank ReneeLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliToursQTN, Owner at Heli Tours Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thanks very much! We are happy to offer tailored packages suitable to all our clients, I enjoyed showing you guys around our amazing mountians and valleys and meeting new people! Cheers Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were only in Queenstown for 3 days, originally we booked one of the “set Helicopter tours” which was cancelled due to the weather out at Milford Sound. The following day I rang what I thought was the same company but actually I had rang Heli Tours. They explained that again the Sounds were in bad weather, but offered as some alternatives, well within our budget.

We had an amazing afternoon, seeing Glaciers, the breath taking scenery even landing on a peak and drinking a lovely Peregrine Wines Pinot with some delicious cheeses.

The whole trip was so relaxed we felt like we were out with a friend, not on a commercial sight seeing trip! Paul was brilliant!

If you want a friendly tailored service, created for you, then give these guys a try, you will not be disappointed!


Stuart, Renee, Tony and Shona

2  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliToursQTN, Owner at Heli Tours Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your response! I enjoyed showing you guys around this amazing environment that few get to see. Please do come back, I wish you all the best for the rest of your holiday and all of us at Heli Tours look forward to seeing you back again soon! Cheers Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a fantastic Helicopter flight over Queenstown on Jan 25th, including a landing on top of mountains overlooking the town... incredible views.
Excellent service from Heli Tours company, including pick-up from our hotel and drive back... flight was very safe and smooth in Squirrel Helicopter. Excellent... we highly recommend you take this flight with Hel Tours... Paul & May Tove, Stavanger, Norway

Thank PaulD_Stavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliToursQTN, Owner at Heli Tours Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you very much Paul and May!

We really enjoyed your company and meeting new people from other interesting parts of the world. It was our pleasure showing you around our back yard and look forward to seeing you again soon, thanks Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

As the organiser of The Sociable Club, I organised a trip with Heli-Tours. It was a huge success, we were totally impressed with the professionalism and flexibility of Heli-Tours to meet our needs and provide a great value for money event. We are looking forward to working with them again very soon!!

Thank Taylor635536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliToursQTN, Owner at Heli Tours Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thanks very much Angela!

We loved making your day special and enjoyed meeting everyone! We look forward to helping you guys out again in the near future, happy to help, thanks Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heli Tours Queenstown also viewed

 

Been to Heli Tours Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing