We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Well Priced”

1876 Bar And Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1876 Bar and Restaurant is a distinctive & much valued landmark of Queenstown.The old stone courthouse building was erected between November 1875 and September 1876. The Old Courthouse is one of the few structures that survive from Queenstown's early gold mining days. Now over 130 years on 1876 offers an upmarket menu, relaxed atmosphere, great service & friendly staff. With the option of indoor and outdoor dining 1876 is definitely the place to be. During the long summer months, the huge sun-drenched deck will host various activities with a cider garden, outside cocktail bar, Sunday BBQ & live music...
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Well Priced”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a place to come to for a few drinks before dinner then this is the place! From 5pm to 6pm you can get Monteiths handles for $3, house wines for $4 and spirits also for $4. Whatsmore, the prices don't go up much after 6pm. There is outdoor seating with gas heaters and plenty of room indoors. didn't get a chance to have a meal here but if the drinks are any indication, should be good value

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frits L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    127
    36
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went there with our teenage kids. When we arrived at 7pm the place was deserted but filled up as time went on. The waitress was very nice and helpful and overall everyone enjoyed the food we ate. The ribs were very good and the steak my kids had was cooked perfectly, medium rare (a rare feat - normally it is overcooked).

They have lots of different beers on tap, so we tried a few of those while we were there also. The classic was the best of the local ones.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good location for a gang to have beers. Happy hour was a great incentive to visit more than once. Heater and rugs kept up warm. Really good night location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Happy Hour(s)”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great place for Apre ski drinks into the early evening. FANTASTIC prices on all types of drinks. We sat outside in the warm late afternoon sun on a clear day and watched the parasailors. When we came back a little later it was standing room only inside. Earlier in the week we shared a family meal here. The meal was adequate but unremarkable. Pretty good for a pub. Definately recommend 1876 for afternoon/evening drinks at great prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foxylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We all had a great time. The service was absolutely amazing and very accommodating. Recommend everyone who comes to Queenstown should visit them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nessa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1876 Bar And Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to 1876 Bar And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing