We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ben Lomond Horse Treks Ltd is located just 15 minutes from the centre of Queenstown making us the nearest trekking business to the centre of town. We offer complimentary bus transfers from your accommodation and tours start from $80. Our tours comprise spectacular lakeside and mountains views, river crossings and we ensure that you will be left mesmerised by the beauty of this 35,000 acre working farm. It doesn't matter if you are a total beginner or very experienced we will tailor make your trek to suit. We have 18 gorgeous horses that are highly trained and 11 trek guides to ensure that you have safety and fun in Queenstown's number 1 horse trekking company. We are open 7 days a week.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

It was a really nice trek. The landscapes are amazing, the horses are adorable, and the team is very friendly. What else to say?
Plus, the owner can you ride you from town to the equestrian center.
Thanks again!

Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 237 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

I am 11 and they teach me how to ride a horse wonderful scenery well trained horses encouraging and friendly humorous stuff very close to queenstown very adventurous

Thank 2125Ronaldo2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, Public Relations Manager at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear 2125Ronaldo2125,

Wow your review has made our day here at Ben Lomond Horse Treks thank you! We really appreciate customer feedback, and feedback from an eleven year old is very special indeed! We're delighted you got to spend sometime with us and our lovely horses, and have a fun adventure along the way! We hope you get to visit us again one day. Until then, all the very best to you and your family :-)

Kind regards,
The Team at Ben Lomond Horse Treks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Thanks to Britta our guide and our horses Sailor and Alicia, we had a wonderful 3.5 hour trek up the valley and back down the river. wonderful views and scenery. river crossings up and down tracks to see the old stone school/library of early gold mining settlers. the guides and owners are a really friendly and knowledgeable /capable team. the walk down the hill very timely for my muscles.. :) :)

Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BL_HorseTreks, Public Relations Manager at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Mary S,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experience with us, we really value your comments. It sounds like you had a lovely horse trek out into the old Seffers township, it truly is a really special place to visit, and one of the highlights of the area. It gives you a whole new respect for the Earlysettlers and the life they had to carve out for themselves - they were a hardy lot! We're delighted that you enjoyed Britta's company, as well as Sailor and Alicia, all our staff (horses included) are our greatest asset, and we're glad it all came together to create a lovely time, and memory for you. All the best to you.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ben Lomond Horse Treks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I had been slightly put off horses by a previous horse riding trip but thought I would try ben lomond horse treks out again. They have new owners this year and what a change!! They have lots of horses which are looked after really well, all new saddles which are the best of the best. It was obvious the staff and owners get on really well and the staff are well looked after and enjoy their jobs. Prices start from $80 which is a bargain. I chose the horse ride with gold panning trip which was awesome. Brent the owners is super knowledgeable about gold panning and he helped me find a few nuggets! It was a great half day trip. Thanks guys!!!

Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KikiBee2014, Public Relations Manager at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Kirsty G,

Thank you for your review, and taking the time to share your experience here. We're delighted you chose to trek with us, and value your comments. We're so pleased that you had a great trip, and reignited your love of horse riding ... and found a few gold nuggets along the way too! All the best to you.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ben Lomond Horse Treks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I did the full horse trekking with the newest free addition of the gold panning stop off and it was absolutely amazing. I had Sailor the big horse and he talked to me the whole way around. The owners Brent and Kelly were there to show us around and get us involved in the newest addition to the days activity with gold panning. They were super friendly and caring. During the trek we panned for about 20 minutes and pulled out about $50 worth of gold each! They put it into little glass bottles and let us take it home to do what we wanted with. Well worth the price and an experience we will always treasure. Queenstown's best activity I have experienced yet!

1  Thank Brad008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KikiBee2014, Public Relations Manager at Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Bradley I,

Thank you for your review and encouraging comments. We really appreciate you sharing your experience of our latest addition (The Gold Trek) and what a thrill it can be! We certainly think there's something really special in trekking in on horseback and panning for Gold, in the way folks did years ago. We're glad you and your girlfriend shared a lovely day with us, and our 'chatty' Sailor too :-)

Kind regards,
The Team at Ben Lomond Horse Treks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ben Lomond Station Horse Trekking Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing