We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value & Service!!!!”

Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.45*
and up
Lake Wakatipu Cruise and Mt Nicholas High Country 4WD Tour
More Info
$36.88*
and up
Lake Wakatipu Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise spectacular Lake Wakatipu on the Queenstown Discovery. See the towering Remarkables mountain range, Cecil Peak and the Frankton Arm. The Queenstown Lake Cruise focuses on the history, local legends and stunning vistas. Be greeted in Maori and enjoy the 'sound of silence' at Kelvin Heights, five main photo stops and two 360 degree turns for uninterrupted views. This cruise also includes free admission to the Queenstown Underwater observatory and complimentary tea & coffee.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best value & Service!!!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Could not fault this company or it's staff at all, amazing value for money and the service is impeccable!! Our Skipper Turgut went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable, informed and enjoyed the cruise! We also cruised souther discoveries in Milford Sound and they were also amazing!! Forget the rest try the BEST!!! Thanks guys!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jit70499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Manager at Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review! We love your little motto  It sounds like both of your trips with us have been great experiences and we are so happy you have left with awesome memories from your time here. We will be sure to pass on the kind feedback to Turgot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    48
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Probably the best cruise in town”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a lovely 90-minute lake cruise. Great views of the scenery and at one point, we got to see a 'hidden island'. There were complimentary coffee/ tea and biscuit on board and we even got to taste the water from the lake. The captain was very friendly and knowledgeable and we received a complimentary pass to the underwater aquarium. Will definitely come back for another ride in our next visit to Queenstown!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TaufiqSahafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Manager at Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful trip with us on the Queenstown Discovery. Thank you for your kind review. Now you know why it is called Hidden Island, pretty cool right? We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing lake cruise”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went on the Spirit of Queenstown for approx 1.5 hr cruise up to Mt Nic station and back. The weather started off bad... we were laughing as you couldn't see much due to the weather and the skipper was at a bit of loss when it came to pointing out highlights..but he did VERY well in the circumstances. The weather came out and it was absolutely stunning. We loved the scenery up and around Mt Nic station. Got some fabulous photos. We paid $27 each thru Bookme for the cruise which was really good value. I would have thought $55ph a bit steep without the inclusion of a cuppa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddy1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Informative cruise”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Value for money with having children free in the school holidays. Really great cruise. The skipper was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the history of Queenstown

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kind Captain!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The trip was awesome, we saw the amazing scenery there and learnt history stories about this area. The Australian captain is really nice!

Helpful?
Thank slcunn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries also viewed

 

Been to Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing