We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Views, not so delicious food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Shores Restaurant

Shores Restaurant
Ranked #154 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set against the breathtaking Remarkables Mountain Range and boasting immediate Lake Wakatipu frontage, Oaks Shores offers spacious Queenstown apartment-style accommodation in New Zealand's most popular ski town. Our hotel rooms, spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments and stylish four bedroom penthouses are impeccably appointed with luxurious furnishings, quality linen and personal amenities, under floor heating, double glazed windows, 50 inch TV with cable channels, internet access, and most offer gas fireplaces and balconies with views over the lake and mountain ranges. Perfect for families, couples and individuals looking for deluxe accommodation to meet their holiday needs, all rooms offer privacy and plenty of space to ensure complete comfort during your stay. Plus, there's also a landscaped courtyard with barbeque facilities, a gymnasium and sauna to enjoy and a range of guest services including a 24-hour reception, drying room for ski equipment, undercover car parking, a complimentary city shuttle bus service and guest laundry service. Oaks Shores is ideally located just 15 minutes drive from Queenstown International Airport and within easy reach of some of the best ski fields in the world including Coronet Peak, The Remarkables, Cardrona and Treble Cone. We're also only minutes away from world-class golfing, boating, wineries, shopping, walking trails, a host of high adrenalin sports and the Queenstown Convention Bureau.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Views, not so delicious food!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We dined here on 22 December 2013. We were the only diners at the restaurant (this should have been a warning to leave!!!)

Crispy Pork Belly - Was not crispy at all, the skin was slimy and jelly like, lacking any taste, The top and bottom of the belly were inedible.

Corn Fritter tasted like it was bought frozen from the supermarket and reheated and the apple sauce from a jar.

The desert took forever to arrive. The Belgian Fondant cake desert was like eating play dough, it lacked any flavour what-so-ever, there was nothing fondant like about it,

We have spent the past week traveling around the south Island, this is by far the worst meal I have had and one of the most expensive.

Avoid at all costs, there are FAR better restaurants in Queenstown!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andymitcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went for Breakfast. The waitress forgot our coffee order (there were only 2 other people in the restaurant) and when I reminded her and she brought it over it was terrible, all 3 of us took one mouth full and left it, it was bitter and almost burnt tasting.
We all ordered something different. I ordered french toast with the syrup on the side, it turned up covered in syrup so I returned it. The next batch was basically bread fried in butter (no egg mix, etc) I couldn't eat it. One of my daughters ordered pancakes, they were tiny(Piklet size) and soaked in syrup, and I mean soaked. She couldn't eat it.My other daughter ordered the fruit and yoghurt. It consisted of 3 thin slices of 3 types of fruit and the tiniest bowl of yoghurt, tasty but way to small. Will never go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cook69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My four year old could cook better!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We just had a terrible experience at Seasons. We had pizza for dinner which took half an hour to arrive and there were only two other people in the restaurant.. On arrival the pizza was lukewarm and the base was burnt. The bases were cheap and bought from a supplier, the toppings were also cheap and nasty. There was no flavour whatsoever and minimal toppings. "All made with the finest mozzarella cheese and fresh herbs on crispy baked bases" - strongly disagree. There was barely any cheese and definitely no herbs. For $21 a pizza, they were extremely small and very poor quality. I do not recommend this restaurant and I think my four year old son could have made better pizza. Very disappointed

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
588 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,376 helpful votes
“Thanks Darren for a Great Meal”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We ate here for a birthday dinner and it was yummy.Although we were the only ones dining here-as we are staying here, We got exceptional service from Darren who made our night ever so special.We ordered the ribeye fillet and chicken which both didnt take to long to come out and were cooked to perfection.Also the desert was one of the nicest cheesecakes ive had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mynewlifeistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Location and Great Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Oaks Shores and had several dinners in the restaurant during our stay. Fantastic outlook and great food. Thankyou Jack.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shores Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Shores Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing