We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B on all counts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #6 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

All the previous -- excellent -- reviews were spot on. This is simply the best B&B we have ever stayed at.

The experience was flawless. The rooms are terrific; the house is extraordinarily comfortable and inviting; the views from the front and back of the house are sensational; the food is first-rate; and, best of all, are the proprietors, Amanda and John. They did everything they could possibly do to make our stay memorable and were the most accommodating people imaginable. The hours we spent talking with them, sharing experiences, learning the rules of cricket, and drinking some wonderful wines helped make our trip to New Zealand truly wonderful. They really love (and know) Queenstown, which is now one of our favorite places in the world.

This is the place to stay in Queenstown. It sets the standard for B&B's.

Room Tip: All three rooms have their unique advantages and views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Queenstown Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is without doubt one of the best places you will ever stay. Five stars is inadequate. From the luxurious rooms to the top notch food, you will find it hard to match. But the hospitality and kindness shown by John and Amanda is what sets the Lodge apart from other places. Don't waste time looking elsewhere - make the booking now, you will not regret it!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Queenstown Country Lodge in January and it was the highlight of all the excellent hotels we visited in a 3-week trip to New Zealand. Having stayed on the lake in central Queenstown on a previous trip, we wanted to be away from the tourist action, but still close enough to enjoy dinner and the attractions of the area. The Queenstown Country Lodge is the ideal location -- close to the airport, close to town, close to vineyards, close to the bungy bridge -- but just far enough away to feel like we were in the gorgeous countryside that makes New Zealand so special. The lodge is situated at the foot of a tall, scenic hill, in the midst of a sheep field and near a beautiful lake that's accessible for running or walking. We took bikes from the lodge for a tranquil ride one morning that turned out to be one of the nicest experiences we had.

The accommodations are top-notch. The rooms are comfortable and stylish. The views are stunning. The linens are soft, the robes are plush, the towels are warm, and the gourmet breakfast is made to order! Best of all, the morning meal was fresh, creative, and gourmet all the way. In fact, breakfast was so beguiling we had dinner at the lodge twice during our stay, and even though we ate at every top restaurant in the area, our meals Amanda made for us were better. Why? Because they were handmade and home cooked with high quality, local ingredients, paired with scrumptious local wines and graciously served in a comfortable, relaxed environment -- by candlelight, outside at dusk, overlooking the rolling hills.

But the location, the scenery, the comfortable rooms, and the delicious food are not why you want to stay at the QCL. The reason you want to stay at the QCL is the hosts, John and Amanda. They are warm and welcoming, they are generous, they are attentive, they are gracious and most importantly they are knowledgeable about all things New Zealand. You don't need a tour guide or a travel agent or even a map when you have John and Amanda. They made sure we saw the best vineyards, ate in the best restaurants, took the best excursions, saw the best attractions and helped us plan our days efficiently to get the most out of our time in Queenstown. This was our second trip to Queenstown, and it was an entirely different experience from the first. We saw a different Queenstown, and it was all due to the care and attention of John and Amanda.

If you're a curious traveler who enjoys learning about the environment you're visiting and the local way of life, the QCL is the place to stay. Want to know about the stars in the southern hemisphere's night sky? Ask John. Want to learn about New Zealand wines? Ask John. Want to know which tour to take to Milford Sound, which vineyard produces the nicest pinot, the history of bungy, how a speed boat driver gets his license, where the best lamb chops come from? Ask John.

And the hospitality doesn't stop there.

Each evening, we were invited to sample fine wines, poured by John and accompanied with delicious appetizers served by Amanda. We'd enjoy a fascinating conversation with the other guests and learn something interesting about a far away place from John & Amanda, who, we learned, circumvented the world as the captain and first mate of a luxury yaught. Does it get more interesting than that?

In short, I wish all the hotels I stay in around the world came equipped with John and Amanda. Because nothing compares to having hosts who make you feel like friends.
If it weren't 12,000 miles away, we'd be regulars.

Enjoy your stay and say Hi from Kristi and Bob!

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable with gorgeous, sweeping views. The lodge is small...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoKristiGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were travelling around the South Island on a busy trip and our night with John and Amanda was one of the best of our whole journey. The house and rooms are stunning in every way, they have really thought of everything - even the view from the toilet was incredible.
Best of all though is John and Amanda's hospitality, we spent around 5 hours with them enjoying food, wine and conversation. They are great people and very involved in the community.
I still laugh when I think about John telling me of a previous American guest who had never seen cricket before so John took him down to the nets and started bowling bouncers to him when he hit a few easy ones early on. You won't get that at the Hilton!
Thanks so much guys and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks so much for your positive comments. Yes, explaining to Americans the ins and outs of cricket is rather challenging but so enjoyable......perhaps solving the world's economic problems would be easier...
Look forward to hosting you again......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent three nights at the QCL and every apsect of the stay was stellar. The room was luxurious, quiet and with all the modern amenities of upscale resorts. The location near, but not in, Queenstown worked very well. In planning the trip we worried that being outsie the city would deprive us of some of the urban offerings of Queenstown. To the contrary, we quickly saw that while we enjoyed the hustling crowds and tourist-rich parts of Queenstown for a while, it was wonderful to retreat to our quiet haven a few minutes outside town. Being near the vineyards, and Arrowtown were unexpected benefits. The food at the lodge was marvelous. Amanda is a fantastic cook and a lovely and gracious host. Who makes their own granola? Amanda does, as well as many other delicacies. John is extremely gregarious and also has a wealth of knowledge about NZ and its wines. It was great fun spending time with them and their help guiding us to the best places was invaluable. We only wish we could have stayed longer and seen John play a cricket match!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJayWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Laura and Ron, many thanks for taking the time to post a comment. We absolutely love hosting you...it was our pleasure. All the best for the move WEST. Warmest regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The biggest thanks to Amanda and John for 4 days/3 nights of wonderful friendship and delicious meals. The property is gorgeous and our room was simply divine. Beautifully furnished (I just love the tiles in the bathroom) and too many special little extras to mention. Breakfasts and our one dinner were amazing - Amanda should be running a restaurant !!! Not to mention the great evening wine tasting and canapes - John loves to share his knowledge of local wines and we tasted many wines, some which we would never have otherwise tried. It was lovely to sit around in the evening chatting with other guests over a wine. We met some truly lovely people during our stay. As for Amanda and John - to say they go out of their way for their guests would be an understatement !!!! John knows what I am talking about....... THANKYOU !!! They are great in offering ideas on what to do and where to go, and happily arrange any bookings for you, even following up on those you have made yourself. The property is so very beautiful and so well designed with several lovely spaces you can just sit and relax on your own, although I doubt you would want any time out as Amanda and John are really great company. Then there is what had to be the highlight for me - feeding the pet sheep each evening. They are ALL so sweet and friendly but William and Golly (Gosh) were my two very favourites. I had so much fun with them each day. I wholly agree with other reviewers that there isn't anywhere better to stay in Queenstown that at Country Lodge with Amanda and John, and we will definately be staying with them on our next visit to NZ. I hope we can keep in touch, your friends Lindy & Craig.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are superb - we chose the Pinot Noir room which had an amazing jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinnyLuvsBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Lindy and Craig...what can I say? Thanks so much for this feedback. You should be doing all the writing on our website.We loved having you stay at our Lodge and look forward to a catch up in Melbourne during the Ashes Boxing Day Test. Take care and many many thanks once again. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights with Amanda and John. This had been arranged by Paul at New Zealand in Depth, who thoroughly recommended us to stay here. How right he was! From the moment we walked in we felt quite at home. Our room was spacious, amazingly comfortable with the best view you could wish for. We had a huge walk in closet, which as I have won the prize for the most luggage ever, I found most useful! The bed was sumptuous, the bathroom immaculate and well equipped with beautiful toiletries together with a host of useful extras. The wine tasting was delightful and I was very impressed with the Pinot Gris. Our breakfasts were delicious, prepared by Amanda who is an excellent cook. My only regret is that we didn’t actually have an evening meal cooked by Amanda as the ones I saw being prepared looked amazing. As my husband has a more than keen interest in cricket and all sports, he got on famously with John. We enjoyed going to see the Highlanders versus the Blues on his birthday and sharing a meal with them after the game. Amanda and John are both exceptional hosts. I would thoroughly recommend Queenstown Lodge and could not think of anywhere more perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clakerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Folks,
Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post these on our Trip Advisor site.
We just loved having you stay with us and help you enjoy the Queenstown area. Do keep in touch and thanks once again for this wonderful feedback.
Warmest regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
892 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.3 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $233 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown Airport, and 15 minutes to Queenstown,or 10 minutes to Arrowtown, we are centrally located to explore the area. Our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland with our own flock of friendly sheep and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Quality bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful setting, with the option of exclusive use for a large group or family, or small conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing