We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Accommodation and the Hosts with the Most” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queenstown Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #6 of 47 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning Accommodation and the Hosts with the Most”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were travelling around the South Island on a busy trip and our night with John and Amanda was one of the best of our whole journey. The house and rooms are stunning in every way, they have really thought of everything - even the view from the toilet was incredible.
Best of all though is John and Amanda's hospitality, we spent around 5 hours with them enjoying food, wine and conversation. They are great people and very involved in the community.
I still laugh when I think about John telling me of a previous American guest who had never seen cricket before so John took him down to the nets and started bowling bouncers to him when he hit a few easy ones early on. You won't get that at the Hilton!
Thanks so much guys and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive comments. Yes, explaining to Americans the ins and outs of cricket is rather challenging but so enjoyable......perhaps solving the world's economic problems would be easier...
Look forward to hosting you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent three nights at the QCL and every apsect of the stay was stellar. The room was luxurious, quiet and with all the modern amenities of upscale resorts. The location near, but not in, Queenstown worked very well. In planning the trip we worried that being outsie the city would deprive us of some of the urban offerings of Queenstown. To the contrary, we quickly saw that while we enjoyed the hustling crowds and tourist-rich parts of Queenstown for a while, it was wonderful to retreat to our quiet haven a few minutes outside town. Being near the vineyards, and Arrowtown were unexpected benefits. The food at the lodge was marvelous. Amanda is a fantastic cook and a lovely and gracious host. Who makes their own granola? Amanda does, as well as many other delicacies. John is extremely gregarious and also has a wealth of knowledge about NZ and its wines. It was great fun spending time with them and their help guiding us to the best places was invaluable. We only wish we could have stayed longer and seen John play a cricket match!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJayWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Laura and Ron, many thanks for taking the time to post a comment. We absolutely love hosting you...it was our pleasure. All the best for the move WEST. Warmest regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The biggest thanks to Amanda and John for 4 days/3 nights of wonderful friendship and delicious meals. The property is gorgeous and our room was simply divine. Beautifully furnished (I just love the tiles in the bathroom) and too many special little extras to mention. Breakfasts and our one dinner were amazing - Amanda should be running a restaurant !!! Not to mention the great evening wine tasting and canapes - John loves to share his knowledge of local wines and we tasted many wines, some which we would never have otherwise tried. It was lovely to sit around in the evening chatting with other guests over a wine. We met some truly lovely people during our stay. As for Amanda and John - to say they go out of their way for their guests would be an understatement !!!! John knows what I am talking about....... THANKYOU !!! They are great in offering ideas on what to do and where to go, and happily arrange any bookings for you, even following up on those you have made yourself. The property is so very beautiful and so well designed with several lovely spaces you can just sit and relax on your own, although I doubt you would want any time out as Amanda and John are really great company. Then there is what had to be the highlight for me - feeding the pet sheep each evening. They are ALL so sweet and friendly but William and Golly (Gosh) were my two very favourites. I had so much fun with them each day. I wholly agree with other reviewers that there isn't anywhere better to stay in Queenstown that at Country Lodge with Amanda and John, and we will definately be staying with them on our next visit to NZ. I hope we can keep in touch, your friends Lindy & Craig.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are superb - we chose the Pinot Noir room which had an amazing jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinnyLuvsBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Lindy and Craig...what can I say? Thanks so much for this feedback. You should be doing all the writing on our website.We loved having you stay at our Lodge and look forward to a catch up in Melbourne during the Ashes Boxing Day Test. Take care and many many thanks once again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights with Amanda and John. This had been arranged by Paul at New Zealand in Depth, who thoroughly recommended us to stay here. How right he was! From the moment we walked in we felt quite at home. Our room was spacious, amazingly comfortable with the best view you could wish for. We had a huge walk in closet, which as I have won the prize for the most luggage ever, I found most useful! The bed was sumptuous, the bathroom immaculate and well equipped with beautiful toiletries together with a host of useful extras. The wine tasting was delightful and I was very impressed with the Pinot Gris. Our breakfasts were delicious, prepared by Amanda who is an excellent cook. My only regret is that we didn’t actually have an evening meal cooked by Amanda as the ones I saw being prepared looked amazing. As my husband has a more than keen interest in cricket and all sports, he got on famously with John. We enjoyed going to see the Highlanders versus the Blues on his birthday and sharing a meal with them after the game. Amanda and John are both exceptional hosts. I would thoroughly recommend Queenstown Lodge and could not think of anywhere more perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clakerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Folks,
Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post these on our Trip Advisor site.
We just loved having you stay with us and help you enjoy the Queenstown area. Do keep in touch and thanks once again for this wonderful feedback.
Warmest regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

There isn't much else to say after reading the other reviews of this wonderful B&B other then I'm not quite sure why this fantastic place isn't rated #1! We could find nothing that would keep it from being the top B&B in Queenstown (maybe even New Zealand) and we stayed at quite a few. John and Amanda truly have a gift for hosting. As others have said, they become your long lost friends within hours of meeting them. The Lodge is beautifully maintained, the grounds a delight to wake up to each morning, and the meals were a culinary delight! We are not big wine drinkers, but we did enjoy the wine tasting John provided each evening as it also meant we would hear Kiwi "tales" which became a highlight of our trip (and there is always a cocktail option). If in Queenstown, whatever you do, don't miss out on a stay at the Queenstown Country Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi to all you special folks who have posted a comment on Trip Advisor,
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about Queenstown Country Lodge with others. Both Amanda and I appreciate what you have done. As I have said many times before, meeting lovely people like yourselves is why we enjoy running our Lodge. We just love sharing stories over a glass of pinot (or two) and helping you plan your next day in the Queenstown area. Take care, thanks once again and do keep in touch.
Warmest regards
John (and of course Amanda)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

John and Amanda were very gracious hosts for our stay. We stayed with them 3 nights. The lodge is conveniently located just outside of Queenstown, only 10 minutes from the airport. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. Amanda is a great chef! The grounds were beautiful and it was clear that John and Amanda take great pride in maintaining their lodge and the property. They also were very helpful in suggesting places to visit in the Queenstown area and actually booked a tour for us on the steamship Earnslaw. When we go back to New Zealand one day, we will definitely plan to stay with John and Amanda again- can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else in the Queenstown area.

Steve and Ann W

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Queenstown Country Lodge gets above and beyond an "Excellent" Tripdadvisor rating! The property owners, Amanda & John, treat you as if you are their friends, staying with them on your vacation. There are 3 rooms available at this lodge: 2 looking out the back with a view of the garden, the sheep pasture (my personal favorite) and the mountains. The front room also has a lovely view. The choices and quality of foods offered at breakfast were unbelievable and lovingly prepared by Amanda who also made a dinner for us. It was the best meal of our trip and one of the most delicious we have ever eaten; in presentation, ingredient selection (fresh!), and taste. Everything is immaculate and luxurious, both in the commons areas, and in the guest rooms. The mattresses and pillows are a little bit of heaven, as is waking up with a view of New Zealand each morning through the large picture windows. Staying at Queenstown Country Lodge for 3 nights was a wonderful way to start our NZ trip and it was very difficult to leave. I hope we'll be back some day to experience the amazing and genuine hospitality of Amanda and John.

Room Tip: We really loved the Kauwara Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationDuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Folks,
Thanks so much for your feedback and also to all the others who have taken the time to post such wonderful comments. One of the real attractions of having a Lodge that focusses on hosting is that we get to meet and know so many special people.
We really appreciate your comments and we are so glad that we have helped make your stay in the Queenstown area so special.
We now have a Facebook page up and running with news and photos of what is happening around the Lodge so go into our website and click on Facebook.
Amanda loved your feedback on the meals and of course she is the one that has that eye for detail....I just get given the list of "things to do."
Thanks once again for your very special comments.
Take care
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
6.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Property: Queenstown Country Lodge
Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown, our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Along with quality bed and breakfast accommodation, we also offer evening dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing