We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional hosts and great food !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queenstown Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #6 of 47 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional hosts and great food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Amanda and John are such wonderful hosts. We had a lovely time with them and I must confess Amanda makes excellent food ( despite us having vegetarian dietary preference ). Really cozy little place and easy to get to Queenstown as well as Arrowtown. Lake Hayes next to lodge is perfect for a stroll / cycling. This place is filled with character and the interiors have been designed tastefully too.

Definitely a must if you want to stay away from the hustle bustle of Queenstown yet just 15 minutes ride to Queenstown. Self drive travellers would not have any problems getting around.

Room Tip: Merino Room - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pritish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Queenstown Country Lodge in April and had the most amazing time! We stayed here at the end of our 3 week trip to the south island and truly the best was saved for last! This place is a true gem and we were so well cared for! John and Amanda are salt of the earth type of people and were the most incredible hosts. They were thoughtful beyond words and made every effort to ensure our stay with them was the best it could be. The hot breakfasts were so yummy and I love rhubarb, so they specially made rhubarb pancakes for me as well as stewed rhubarb to go on the yogurt. This was such a special treat. We enjoyed evenings chatting with the two of them over wine tasting and delightful snacks, and learning about the wine in the Otago region. One night John showed us his astronomy skills and taught us about the southern sky. It was a great lesson on the stars and we could see the milky way, which was so special. The accommodations were thoughtfully prepared and we had a spacious room overlooking the farm and the mountains. The two of them have years of experience in hospitality and tourism and it's ALL put into practice at their lodge. The pet sheep on the property are great and much fun to pet and feed. They were also really helpful in planning our trip to Te Anau and Milford Sound, giving us their sage advice for the best trip . We've learned over time that vacationing becomes more about the people you meet along the way and we had this experience with John and Amanda. They will be lifelong friends and we were truly blessed by their gift of hospitality and are so grateful to have spent time at Queenstown Country Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethelorBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our family stayed over Easter 2012 with Amanda and John. We loved every minute and would have stayed longer if we could. John and Amanda are wonderful hosts who truly go out of their way to make you feel at home. John even put Easter eggs in the chicken hutch for our girls to find on Easter morning. The rooms are amazingly comfortable. In fact, the entire house is comfortable and beautiful. If you stay with Amanda and John you must have dinner at the Lodge. Amanda is a wonderful cook who uses fresh ingredients straight from their organic garden. When we go back to Queenstown the only place we would stay is with Amanda and John. It's worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent just one night at this excellent B and B and it certainly has left a great impression on us. Amanda and John made us feel very welcome with their warm, friendly and relaxed style. Nothing was too much trouble and everything they did for us was very thoughtful, including the wonderful pre-dinner wine tasting and the care parcel Amanda made up for us to see us on our way. The room was very comfortable and quiet with great views of the mountains and the neighbouring farms. We were sorry to leave and would have liked to have spent longer. Queenstown Country Lodge is conveniently situated just a short drive away from Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was the 1st time that we had deviated from the norm of booking nice hotels around the world and decided this time to treat ourselves to something different. It was different alright, thank goodness. We simply could not find anything to complain about! To list the things that we loved about our stay would take forever and they are all covered in other reviews of this New Zealand paradise. On reflection I can think of a complaint, Genial hosts John and Amanda were so informative and entertaining that we found it hard to go to bed and consequently I woke with a hangover but that rapidly dissappeared after the wonderful breakfast from Amanda's kitchen. This wonderful place is better than a 5 star hotel with John and Amanda giving genuine, personal, one on one service, experienced advice and information on what to do and where to go without being intrusive and as we had done most of the touristy things on previous trips to Queenstown it was wonderful to simply relax and enjoy what is definitely not a B and B but a true top of the line Country Lodge. We will return, thanks a million John and Amanda!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyvose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were midway through a honeymoon in New Zealand . We had stayed in several B and B's and this one was the best. The accommodations were super but best of all the people were incredibly friendly. John and Amanda are some of the nicest people we met in all of New Zealand. If you're looking for a 5 star meal ask Amanda to prepare Blue Cod. John's wine choice's were spectacular not to mention John's expertise in astronomy. Our time there there will be remembered and when we left they felt like old friends. David and Diana Kingsport,Tn.USA

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

My mother and I stayed at Queenstown country lodge in early March 2012. What an experience! I never want to stay in a hotel ever again. If you are looking for warm hospitality, a place where you are made to feel like you are in your own home, where no request is too much and if you want genuine friendliness rather than polite service - then this is the place to stay.
I made a point of reading the reviews on trip adviser before booking and was a little sceptical at how I could leave after only a 4 day stay feeling like I had 'made new freinds' - but I can honestly say that this was the case. John & Amanda are so warm and friendly. I would definitely stay there again. The stay was SO much better then a swanky hotel. The property is idylic - surrounded by mountains with friendly sheep and cute bunnies hopping around at breakfast time. The breakfast menu was classy and Amanda's cooking is 5 * level. The homemeade muelsili and fresh fruit was so wonderfull I had to have it every day & I am not a muesili fan! The rooms are gorgeous with wonderful views and there are nice biscuits and soft drinks available all day long. Amanda & John went out of their way to find out information on places I wanted to go and background and history of places they thought might be of interest. John is an experienced walker and could advise on all the things we would need and the good places to walk. In their own time without my asking they managed to find a road named after my great great grandfather!. They lent us coats, umbrellas, backpacks and maps. You wouldn't get any of this care and attention at a hotel. I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. Don't go to Queenstown without staying at the Country Lodge. Caroline Duncan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Property: Queenstown Country Lodge
Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown, our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Along with quality bed and breakfast accommodation, we also offer evening dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing