We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food could be better.”
Review of Eat Humble Pie

Eat Humble Pie
Ranked #6 of 6 Bakeries in Queenstown
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: It’s the smallest shop in town, not more than a few square feet, but it is there. Website is a work in progress, but there are fans on Facebook too… it’s a pie shop, of which I note you don’t have a cuisine category for, despite having Pizza and Hamburger. Perhaps adding Pie as a cuisine would help narrow it down. A photo can be provided if you need more proof, though I’d ideally add it to the page once it’s listed.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great service, food could be better.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As a hangover cure,a pie should hit the spot. Prospective son-in-law Rich recommended this place to me after a long "welcome" to Queenstown the night before. Hmmmmm.....
Although the Steak in Red Wine pie seemed to do the trick I was still feeling its effects hours after the alcohol had dissipated.
Great guy who served this stuff, word has it that he can't leave until the last pie is sold, I foresee some long days, mate!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best pie in town”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The best food in the world comes from small stands and hole in the wall places. This is no exception. Immaculately clean. Crust is awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Triplovers1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Pies, Great Conversation, and a Great Story!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you're only interested in how the pies are, all I can say is that they're simply amazing. I think I had 5 total the entire time I was in Queenstown. Absolutely loved them.

Now for the rest of my story! Let me set the stage for you. My wife and I have just arrived in Queenstown for our 2 week honeymoon. And unfortunately for us our luggage decided to take a side trip to Australia. After waiting a few days with no word from the airline, we're starting to panic. Our 5 day backpack on the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks is just 2 days away.

After another failed call to the airline, we decided that we'd see if we could push the backpack further out to allow more time. Unfortunately for us, we couldn't. It was booked solid. So next we thought about renting gear. Another dead end. Or at least a very heavy toll booth down that road.

So, there I am in the midst of a complete emotional breakdown as my dream honeymoon is falling apart. I remember walking around the block a few times only to find myself sitting on a bench in front of a little hole-in-the-wall vendor. That vendor, was Eat Humble Pie.

After looking at it for a few minutes, I walk over to ask him what a Humble Pie is. He looked at me like I had 2 heads and said "well, it's an expression." I clarified that I meant what is a "meat pie" as we don't have them in the states (at least in my area). After he explained it to me, I ordered a couple. He could tell I was upset, so he asked why. Boy was that a mistake! I told him the whole story. The honeymoon. The lost luggage. The woes! Oh the humanity!

He listened very calmly and we had a great conversation. This was the beginning of the upswing of the story of course. Our luggage arrived in the nick of time (1 hour to spare) and we managed to make it to the track for the perfect backpack!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There isn't much to say...”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Except that this store does exactly what it says on the box. Good pies.

A little pricy, for what is, in the scheme of things, a slightly smaller pie, but they do make a very good Chicken and Cranberry Pie.

The service is always good, and the pies are always hot.

A great stop for a snack.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuniorSwordsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really hit the spot! Grrrrreat value!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This has been my first visit in ages and ages and what a lovely surprise to get steak and blue cheese pies now! I was eating on the run in my lunch break so it was super convenient. The pie was so delicious that I was planning to return for a second one, but surprisingly enough, it made me feel full, so I didn't need to. Fantastic value and great that EFTPOS is accepted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Humble Pie also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eat Humble Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing