We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good rink”

Queenstown Ice Arena
Ranked #60 of 125 things to do in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Coolest place in Queenstown! The Queenstown Ice Arena offers a great value, super fun activity for all ages and abilities. Whether you're a seasoned pro or someone taking to the ice for the first time we will provide an unforgettable Ice Skating Experience. If you're not keen on skating but the rest of your group is, you can relax by the warm fire in our alpine style café and lounge. Be sure to try a glass of our famous mulled wine! No bookings necessary.What You Will ExperienceSet in the idyllic Queenstown Gardens,just a short stroll from the town centre,the Queenstown Ice Arena provides:• A great family day out. • An all-weather activity everyone can enjoy. Open 7 days a week.• The arena is a safe environment to drop the kids off while you go out to dinner or shopping in town.• A unique place to take a date or a great place just to carve it up on the ice. We've got something for everyone - from cute penguin skating pals and ice sleds for the kids to hockey sticks and gear for the more daring skater, all set under our amazing LED light display - Watch our entire ceiling change colour right before your eyes! Whatever your reason for coming to the Ice Rink we can guarantee it will be fun.Products:1. SKATING LESSONS: Our Skating Instructors have over 40 years of combined instructing experience. Whether you're learning to skate or trying out ice hockey. You'll be amazed how quickly you can progress with the right help! 2. EQUIPMENT HIRE: Super comfortable ice skates, cute penguin pals for the kids, Hockey sticks for the bigger kids or Ice sleds just for fun! Enquire about an Ice Hockey area if you'd like to get a group together to play! We also hire Frisbee Golf Discs to play the course outside in the Gardens.3. FULL SERVICE COSY CAFÉ: For those that prefer to watch - Spectators are free at the ice rink and we have a cosy, alpine themed café and lounge with a fireplace, big screen TV, view to the rink and comfy seating to relax in.What to Bring: Warm Clothes, Gloves and a Camera!Capacity: 300 + skatersTransport: Call to enquire about complimentary pick up serviceWe Provide: Helmets, knee and elbow pads are free if required. Skate hire is included in the entry price
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Really impressed with the skating rink, great lighting, big screen playing music, Beautiful to walk there through all the gardens too.

2  Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

66 - 70 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went there across 2 days.
Good half day activity filler.
Great place to keep the kids occupied.
TV with comfy couches inside.
Music videos while you are skating in the ring.
Kids can rent little walker penguins and seals so no skating experience required.
Kids had a ball of a time and so did the adults.

1  Thank maxzoomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter thoroughly enjoyed herself on the ice rink as it is something she is not accustomed to seeing here in Qld

1  Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What better way to spend a day than with your friends on the ice. This rink is a bit smaller then an average hockey rink but everything else is just about perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful, the cafe has a wide range of treats and hot drinks, you can skate as long as you want as there is no time restriction within the opening hours, the ice gets groomed when it starts to be choppy which gives you the break you deserve to go and get some cake ;) skates fit really well and are reasonably sharp (unlike in other ice rinks) and the lounge area with that big screen and fire place is just cosy. Not to mention the screen at the rink that plays great music and videos - awesome ! Like I said - best place to be in town !

2  Thank cobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staff were unwelcoming and useless. They were completely disinterested in their jobs and just wanted to go and play ice hockey instead. Asked to borrow (and pay) for a support for my friend who was frozen on the ice, they said no and that they are just for children under 8- which I would have accepted had there not been an adult (35ish who didn't need one) with no kids messing around on one and a bunch of 16 year old teenagers crashing into everyone on one (who also didn't need one). So basically if you are going to mess about then you can have one but if you need one you cant have one, even though you are offering to pay?? Left shortly after. Complete waste of money. If you are going to implement a rule, do it for EVERYONE. Sort your staff out.

3  Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon2745, Owner at Queenstown Ice Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We are sorry to hear your experience was unsatisfactory. The penguin and seal skating aids are not the appropriate size for adults and as your complaint points outs they are often misused by adult skaters when they do handle them. For these reasons we do not generally hire them to adults except in extreme cases where a person cannot skate at all unassisted. At no point did you or any of your party approach staff regarding your friends inability to move on the ice. We are happy to provide suggestions, lessons can be also be had for $20 and if these did not suit then we would have happily provided a skating aid free of charge. As you did not address your concern with staff no solution was possible. We do apologize that staff did not pick up that one couple had taken a seal left on the ice by a parent earlier. The 16 year olds you claimed had a seal were in fact 8 year old girls, one of whom had difficulty skating. Nevertheless, we apologize that the staff were not more attentive and would like to offer a full refund or a free skating session at your convenience with a free seal skate aid for your friend. Additionally, we will look into the possibility of acquiring suitable skating aids for adults in the future. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queenstown Ice Arena also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region

Been to Queenstown Ice Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing