We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great view”

The Waterfront Bar & Bistro
Ranked #109 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Waterfront Bistro & Bar is located on level 1 of the Steamer Wharf Complex. We have the best "VIEWS" of the lake and scenery that Queenstown has to offer. We offer Great views, taste bud tantalising food at affordable prices. Come on in and try us.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Waterfront has really good food, well-prepared, in a nice atmosphere. The service was very good. Even if you are not by a window, you can see out to the wonderful scenery. Highly recommend the Waterfront for anyone wanting a relaxed, nice meal after a busy day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CZTHOMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    69
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Visited for dinner in March 2014.

Service: friendly, fast and competent.
Food: well cooked, nice presentation.
Atmosphere: interior a bit to simple, not too noisy, good views.
Extras: you can draw with crayons all you like on the paper tablecloth :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilulkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Efficient, friendly service and delicious, well-presented food. The views across Lake Wakitipu to the botanic gardens were very pleasant also.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lmmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great views”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We were met by the waiter who was very pleasant and talked us through the specials. By the time our drinks arrived, the food wasn't far behind - great service. We both had fish of the day which was Orange Roughy - a first for us both, but highly recommended. We had a lovely meal in very pleasant surroundings.........and very reasonably priced. The total bill for drinks and food was only about £30. Give it a go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome steak sandwich and "fush and chups"”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We wandered into The Waterfront after our lake cruise for a late lunch because I saw on the menu that they had a steak sandwich (I was craving NZ beef) and Jim wanted the fish and chips. Wow, both were fabulous! We had a great meal (including a nice glass of wine) with very friendly service and the prices seemed very reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allison_722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Bar & Bistro also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Waterfront Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing