We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

The Waterfront Bar & Bistro
Ranked #111 of 259 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Waterfront Bistro & Bar is located on level 1 of the Steamer Wharf Complex. We have the best "VIEWS" of the lake and scenery that Queenstown has to offer. We offer Great views, taste bud tantalising food at affordable prices. Come on in and try us.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went there for dinner and that was fabulous! The food was fantastic, the service was great, and the view from the dining area is just beautiful. We had such a lovely dinner that we went back for another time and we received a free bottle Gibston Valley Wine!!! That topped it all off. Thanks guys :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank newtothis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    69
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with a friendly smile and pleasant manner.
Although we only had coffee, hot chocolate & cake here the menu looked very appealing although some a little pricey.
The couch outside overlooking the wharf and lakeside scenery was perfect.
Hats and cosy soft blankets provided for diners dining outside for added comfort for whatever the weather conditions may be which was quite a special touch.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1986couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very family friendly with incredible views. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb location but food and service disappointing”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First time dining at this restaurant and felt they let themselves down.
Lovely upstairs dining right on the wharf with fantastic view from our table of Lake Whakatipu.
Friendly welcome and shown to a table with great views, left with wine list and menus and then forgotten. Another waitress arrived to take our order but when asked did not know what specials were. We then ordered Caesar salad entree, Vege Pasta and Lamp Rump. Then advised that no Caesar Salad or vege pasta. On further checking vege pasta made available.
Mains arrived and the Lamb rump lovely and tender but roast veges overcooked (almost burnt). Potato mash also pretty tasteless. Pesto, sundried tomaotoes and feta pasta ok but the amount of pesto overpowering.
No table check of meals but setting and views helped.
Floor staff appeared inexperienced - no wine knowledge either.
Overall disappointed - shame as setting lovely
Phil

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, erratic opening”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location on Queenstwon Waterfront and good food at prices more reasonable than the rest in what can be an overpriced location. The fish and chips ordered by my friend we fantastic - light tasty tempura style batter - causing serious menu envy. Service was friendly and the armchair style seats looking over the lake just right for out jet lagged state.

Sadly an attempted return visit was impossible due to closure for carpet cleaning and then early chef finish due to a "slow" evening - bad habit of a number of kiwi restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fizzcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Waterfront Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing