We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dinner and satisfying breakfast buffet”
Review of Wakatipu Grill

Wakatipu Grill
Ranked #63 of 303 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the lakefront, Hilton Queenstown's signature restaurant the Wakatipu Grill reflects the best of New Zealand on a grand scale. The cuisine is inspiring, with provocative takes on New Zealand flavours. Vast windows frame the extraordinary sight of the lake. An open kitchen and rotisserie, along with two circular slate fireplaces, lend even more drama to this magnificent and sensuous space. In the bar, be tempted by yet another captivating perspective of the lake, or an exceptional vintage – the 1000-strong wine cellar has a keen focus on Otago’s best winemakers. Or linger on the generous terrace where the elements combine to spectacular effect: the lake’s indigo depths, the clear air, rich earthy tones and a decadent outdoor fire pit.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

We stayed at Queenstown Hilton and enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Wakatipu Grill every morning. We had cook-to-order omelettes, hot dishes like lentils, fresh fruits and scrumptious croissants. It was always a satisfying start for the day.

We also enjoyed a nice dinner on our last night, and the food and service were great. They offered a delicious vegetarian option which was a treat.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 542 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019

We had dinner twice here because of great view, atmosphere, food and service. Have a cocktail and sitting by the fire outside before dinner !

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

For our final dinner in New Zealand after touring the country for almost a month, we reserved a window table at the Wakatipu Grill with the wonderful views of the lake and surrounds. Our choices of their Provenance Roasted Lamb Rack and the 300g Aged Wakanui Rib-eye were delicious beyond belief...cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. The Chocolate Fondant with roasted white chocolate and macadamia ice cream, as well as the Braeburn Apple dessert, were fitting exclamation points to an exceptional dining experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Just loved this restaurant which catered for a family of five. There was a varied menu of food and drinks and there were no complaints during our dining visit.

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

If you're a couple traveling alone, with breakfast included with your room, don't expect a peaceful setting over coffee. On our visit, the tour groups all must have had breakfast as well, since restaurant was packed and buffet line mobbed. As a result, even though the food overall was fairly good, we had to wait for service. Not to the point it was a bad experience, but just not very pleasant. Expected a more quiet area with hot meal.

Date of visit: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wakatipu Grill also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing