We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stopover”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

A little way out from Queenstown central but plenty of shops etc close by, there is also the water taxi that is able to take you into town if needed. Small but comfortable rooms which served us adequately for the one night we stayed. As we only had the one night there we didn't ge ta chance to look over the complex, maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Q2952RIpaulc,

thank you for your review.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again and experience all facilities we provide.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    419
    151
    52
    31
See reviews for
178
662
77
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Four old friends - we chose the Kawarau Hotel managed by Hilton as it is normally quiet and so the ambiance allows for conversation over a few good wines... We dined waterfront.

The young server... excellent... and impossible to fault.

The menu - I think it was honest but not really showing much local flavour... a few very tasty entrees - a dozen bluff oysters .... and mains we ordered Scampi... Lamb and two servings of chicken.... we settled into a Rippon from Wanaka and a red...

The poor young server returned.. "sorry - only one serving of chicken???????"

Ok...we can forgive perhaps - but this is a "Hilton"... so a steak sufficed, sides etc with onion rings -
A young man who may have been manager noted we had no aioli with the onion rings.... he went to get it... however we are still waiting. Naughty!

The greatest view in a superb place in a superb location and they ran out of chicken... then forgot the aioli.... Ok... We can forgive that maybe, particularly when with great friends .... The young South American server had a glorious smile and she was very pleasant..

But... it was the indignity of drinking what was "rubbish coffee" at a cost of $21 which really sealed the deal for me...

HILTON - YOU NEED TO PULL YOUR SOCKS UP.... We actually don't mind paying you the money....
We do however EXPECT YOU TO DELIVER THE SERVICE

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Jeff M,

thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my sincerest apologise for not meet your expectations during your last visit. Please rest assured this is not the standard we aim to offer. Your feedback has been shared with the Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef to make improvements accordingly.

I do hope you have another chance to experience our true level of service on another occasion. Please contact me to check availability or make a reservation.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent our last two nights at Kawarau Hotel. I loved the rooms - mine overlooked the lake and the town. The shower had great water pressure and the bed was very comfortable. The best part, the bedroom had a door, so if you are like me and like it really dark, you are going to be in Heaven. The Kawarau is right next to the Hilton (owned by same folks), so if you like the buffet breakfast, you're going to love the start to your morning. The village where both hotels are located have several places to eat and they also have a water taxi if you don't want to drive into town. Parking garage was free - that was a nice bonus and if you are Hilton member, you get free wifi (also a plus). I highly recommend this hotel for you stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake, its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoHall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear JoHall123,

thank you for your awesome review.

Great to read how much you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the facilities provided within the Kawarau Village.

I hope you have another opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice clean lake-side hotel with friendly staff. Modern room with separate bedroom made the stay more comfortable. Appreciated the room upgrade to lake-view. Out of town but no problem with a car. Negative was that the bathroom door squeaked when opening and closing as well as the noise from the corridor of other guest talking and opening and closing doors. Annoying especially early morning and late night. Otherwise top.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schuffiatyahoocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear schuffiatyahoocom,

thank you for your review.

Your feedback is highly appriciated and has been shared with our maintenance department to act accordingly.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The location is amazing the views awesome. The rooms are just right. Breakfast is great and dinning at Stacks Pub meals are some of the best I experience in my travels from Auckland to Invercargill. The concept of having what they call a Village is good, so there is a shop/csfe type arrangemnt. This is good because the hotel is kind of remote, altough not far from Remarkables Park Shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Grant J,

thank you for your fantastic review.

Great to read that you appriciate the tranquillity of the village and the multiple dining options available.

I hope you have another chance to return to the Kawarau Village.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we were flying to Sydney the following morning and it is close to the airport. Our stay was obviously short but all amenities including car parking were excellent, staff were very professional and the position of the hotel, lakeside, was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Peter H,

thank you for your great review.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you want a good place to stay in Queenstown without paying the world then this is it. I have stayed at this hotel over 14 nights during three different stays. I like the rooms, the decor, and setting. Handy having the restaurants onsite that provide a good variety of meals and reasonable prices.

The nice feature is you can arrange to take the water taxi into town. This is great on a summer's evening as you head into one of the resorts many restaurants. Make sure you book!

Suggest booking the bed & breakfast package and there are usually deals to be had here. The Hilton next door is a little more up market and has some nicer bigger rooms etc. During the high season period it can be full up with corporates.

Yes, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: ensure you ask for a book room on the second or third floor so you are not looking into the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunedin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear dunedin123,

thank you for your great review.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stays with us.

Hopefully I can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing