We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gratis upgrade for our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had our marraige ceremony overlooking the city of sails in North Island and flew to Queenstown the next day. The transfer from the airport was very laid back with several options for the 10 minute journey. Arriving at the Hilton which looked fresh and modern we had our bags taken inside for us and being slighly early for check in they secured our luggage and added us to the free mini bus into central Queenstown. I was thinking of playing the weve just got married ticket at reception but they got in first with saying they had upgraded us to the Kawarau apartments attached to the main hotel. When we returned in the evening (by water taxi) we were amazed at the standard of our apartment and fittings provided, we were on the ground floor so we had our own patio and mini garden looking out onto the lake. We spent 3 nights at the hotel the modern gas fire was needed in the evenings as the chill was blown down off the mountains and it really gave a great atmosphere. We discovered there was an underground tunnel from the next floor which took us to the Hotel indoor pool and steam rooms, at times when swimming we had the pool to ourselves and at other times it was never crowded. Although we had the bus or water taxi journey rather than being walking distance to the town it added to the charm and arriving at the Hilton jetty by speedboat was very Bond movie ish! Due to the wonderful choice of eateries in Queenstown we did not use any of the Hotel restaurants although one evening we used the attached Sports bar for a light meal which was good quality with attentive staff. We also used the coffee shop whilst waiting for the minibus departure which also sold essential provisions to have in the apartment. Q. would we stay at the Hilton on a future visit to Queenstown - yes but we also came across some lovely hotels in Queenstown central and as we frequently travel about we might try somewhere new. I stayed in the Shangri -La Hotel in Singapore earlier in the year both recd. top marks but for different reasons the Hilton by the lake wins through on the picturesque views and a certain solitude.

Room Tip: If an upgrade to the apartments is available this would be our choice and a ground floor location gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Paul L

Wonderful review, thank you. You raised some really good points for future travellers that will make their decisions easier.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Kawarau Hotel just outside of Queenstown, on our honeymoon trip to New Zealand.

Before we arrived, we had received emails from the hotel's MAGIC team, stating we were made VIP's for our stay and would receive complimentary upgrades, use of the leisure facilities, early check-in / late check-out, etc. Never have I experienced so many broken promises in one go...

We accidentally called to the Hilton Hotel upon arrival and were kindly directed to the Kawarau Hotel. From there, things went rapidly downhill. The staff on the front desk were very unfriendly, proceeded to offer us all the above at a charge PER NIGHT - $30 for lake view - $50 for Hilton upgrade - $25 for leisure facilities - $30 for late check out....

We were so offended having been made 'VIPs' for our stay - what a load of rubbish! The only positive thing was the room is quite nice and spacious.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JKPR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear JKPR87

I was very sorry to read how we had disappointed you on your recent stay. An unacceptable situation for which I apologise.

I will share your feedback with the team to ensure we are exceeding on expectations and delivering on promises.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We came to Kawarau having just spent 3 days walking the Kepler Track, in need of a shower and some r&r. The hotel ticked all the boxes on this front and the regular water taxis into Queenstown worked better than driving.
My only minor criticism would be that to try and charge extra for spa access is a bit cheeky - the hotel is not cheap (but not as over priced as some reviewers found, maybe we got a good deal) and given the facilities are onsite I think they should be included in the rate.
Enjoyed a few drinks in Stacks bar and coffees from the cafe (although be prepared to wait at the cafe!)
All in all - just the job

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear mgm2007

Thank you for a great review.

We currently charge to use the pool and gym as the difference in rate to stay at the Hilton is significant and therefore has added benefits.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at Kawarau Hotel for 5 nights and found it very good. It is beautifully set on the lakefront with views of the lake and the mountains from the room. The room had well stocked kitchenette and was decorated to a high standard. The breakfast at the Hilton Hotel was a highlight for us with pastries, freshly squeezed juice and breakfast cooked to order. The down side is it's quite far from Queenstown and although there are a number of restaurants on site, there is nothing outside the resort within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessapau t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear tessapau t

Great review, thank you.

We have a complimentary scheduled shuttle service that makes getting into town easier. Next time you visit give it a try, nice and easy.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel website says “Credit Card payments relating to Australian hotels incur a merchant service fee of 1.5% in addition to the total amount payable” and when I booked the hotel in Dec 2013, hotel website says such 1.5% merchant service “only applies to selected rate products, click on rate display for applicable rate” but now this term disappeared from Kawarau Hotel but still appears in Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel. So I clicked on all rate plans and noticed that 1.5% credit card surcharge only applies to Business Rate BB and Dinner Bed Breakfast plans. For my selected Leisure Escape plan, the website didn’t mention about the 1.5% credit card surcharge and the confirmation email didn’t mention this too. However at time of check out, the front desk staff Jennifer insisted the 1.5% credit card surcharge applies to all rate plans in New Zealand. I showed her the hotel website said that 1.5% applies to Australian hotels only and for selected rate plan then she said since I was upset about the charge, she will waive the charge. She indirectly accused me of being unreasonable and so she gave up. Hotel should better train staff to respect to booking terms which is a contract and also respect to guest. Recommend all travelers to carefully read and print hotel terms when you travel. Apart from this final disagreement with front desk staff Jennifer, I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear ChanH123

Please accept my apologies for any misunderstanding with the surcharge on credit card payments.

I will review the booking channels to ensure all is correct and clear and I will discuss the raining with our operations team to ensure we are dealing with such issues in the correct manner.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014


The room given to us on the 3rd floor was more like a mini apartment. Functional kitchen area with a fridge, comfortable seating area and a lovely large bed in a room which can be divided from the rest of the living space with a sliding door. The view of the lake was a bit restricted and the balcony was really a small outdoor space but on the whole, the quality of the hotel was very good.
There is a free shuttle bus connecting the hotel to the town - takes about 20 minutes and there is also a water taxi from the town jetty straight back to the hotel costing 10 dollars each. Both good services.
Helpful reception staff and large, free, underground car park.

Only small gripe, the on-site bakery / shop is limited if you need supplies for your kitchen. Best to buy these in town.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BobCScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear BobCScotinWales

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, which I found to be very informative. I will pass on your feedback to the team, they will review the offerings we have in the Lake Counter.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Enjoyed staying at the Kawarau Hotel the lakeside room had a great view. The restaurants at the complex were great and the staff were really helpful and accommodating. The room was really quiet for a peaceful rest after enjoying playing golf at one of the many golf courses available around the Queenstown / Arrowtown area. I would recommend staying at one of the rooms in the Hilton complex as the facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Glenys M

Great review, thank you for taking the time to send it in.

I was pleased to read that you recommending the hotel

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,459 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $122 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing