We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The view is great”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We liked the view from the rooms. The rooms are pretty well appointed, although missing some basic things to make the kitchen functional.
Our room wasn't ready upon check in and they want to charge you for wifi, which is disappointing.
It's located across the lake from town so not convenient to walk to town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiverLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear DiverLuv2travel

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I was disappointed to read that there were items missing from your room. I have discussed this with our housekeeping team to ensure the setup is correct prior to arrivals.

We have commenced with a scheduled, complimentary, shuttle service into the town that will ease the issue of the 7km distance into town.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    419
    151
    52
    31
See reviews for
178
662
77
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I loved how up market the whole place was by the way the staff conducted themselves as well as the look of the whole complex. Just outside of the main township so the water taxi is awesome. Loved my stay as it was relaxing. Also the price was so cheap and affordable compared to other place in the Queenstown centre it was unbelievable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Taylor K

Thank you for a great review. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and that you found the price to be more affordable than hotels in town.

Come back and see us soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the KHMBH (Kawarau Hotel Managed By Hilton) and while it satisfies as a modern property with stylishly furnished rooms, a full pullman kitchen, free underground parking and access to a posh Hilton across the road, it is still a "puzzlement," as the King of Siam once said. On the plus side, Hilton Gold status gets you a room upgrade (as far as I can tell, rooms are the same, only the view of the lake improves), free internet and free continental breakfast across the street at the Hilton (for the record, our first visit last year included breakfast without the "continental" stipulation, which may be a corporate Hilton development in line with recent devaluations). But if you step back and look at the overall package, one cannot help but wonder - why is this hotel there in the first place?

The complex, located across the lake from downtown Queenstown, includes the aforementioned Hilton (a lovely and sophisticated property in many ways), some shops (not all occupied) and what appears to be rows of condos. It feels like an unfinished project or one that never fully realized its potential. Other than a front desk and an adjoining restaurant, the Kawarau seems more like a time share property than a hotel. The rooms are compact, nicely decorated and the kitchen is a plus if you are self catering. But once you've prepared your meal in the kitchen, where do you eat it? Only on the living area coffee table while sitting on the couch, both of which are fairly low. The step down from the living area to the bathroom, as noted in other reviews, is a liability issue waiting to happen. Minimal storage for unpacked items is also bothersome. And US citizens customarily looking for multiple TV channels to explore will be disappointed, although this is a common issue in New Zealand properties that do not subscribe to SKY TV's costly choices.

If you have a car, know where the New Seasons market near the airport is located, and can adapt to a small yet fully featured room with the quibbles noted here and elsewhere in Trip Advisor, the Kawarau has much to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Billmart

Thank you for your review.

You have made some interesting points that I enjoyed reading.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is good but really far away from Queenstown Town centre and we had to drive fair bit for anything we needed. The accommodation was well managed and well presented as you would expect with a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear IshuG

Thank you for your review.

We have started a complimentary, scheduled, shuttle service into town to ease the distance issue for some guests. This will enable our guests to travel in and out of town and still enjoy the peaceful surroundings of the village and lakefront. With the all-day sun you are in the perfect spot.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great value and stay in Queenstown when you don't want to be caught up in the skitown shenanigans and over-touristy vibe of the downtown. No hard sell and hawkers swarming the streets here. We really liked the sliding door to the bedroom which made it nice and dark... and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear ATripAdvisorMember

Thank you for a good review. I agree it is great to be a way from the town and the hustle and bustle.

Come back in the summer, we get the sun all day, added to that the peace and you’ll be in heaven

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

-nice rooms...you can actually sleep in without any light coming through the curtains. :-)
-spectacular views outside (snow capped mountains)
-just a bit away from Queenstown. renting a car is best if you want to stay out late. buses stop at 11pm.
-just a few issues with housekeeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. No noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Liz C

Thank you for a good review. We are trialling a scheduled, complimentary shuttle service into town that will help ease the issue with distance.

Look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked this Hotel as they had a great special at the time, which included parking, WiFi and breakfast.
Very close to the Airport, but a little out of Queenstown - water taxi cost $10 per person, one way into town... get a rental car from Apex, much cheaper!!
Booked a deluxe Lakeview room. Compact rooms, but had everything you need, kitchen, small bathroom, small separate bedroom, small lounge, and tiny balcony - but it suited us, all great!
Was a little disappointed with the "Lake View" description, maybe it should read "partial lake view". If you really want a full on lake view stay somewhere else. See pic for view from room 2112, looks out into the very top corner of the lake. None the less, this was still better than other rooms that would have looked out onto the rest of the Hotel, or rocks.
The breakfast was awesome, the widest/biggest choice of all sorts of food for all tastes - you wont be disappointed here!
Overall, based on the special rate I had this was excellent value, and if I could get the same rate again I would stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Todd M

Thank you for your review. Apologies if the description of the room type was not accurate. We are trialling a scheduled complimentary shuttle service into town that will help with transport options.

Look forward to welcoming you back, we have some great summer offers, keep an eye out for them

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing