We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Kawarau Hotel is gorgeous, clean and set in a beautiful location. Public transport into town is simple and regular. The staff were amazing and the food was exquisite. (Try the potted vanilla cheesecake with pink grapefruit sorbet...it is to die for!) Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Karla R

Great feedback, thank you so much. I agree the potted cheesecake is the best. We have added some new desserts that will compete with the cheesecake, next time try the Strudel or the mini doughnuts

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    416
    150
    52
    30
See reviews for
176
652
75
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Second time we have stayed at this property and was excellent yet again. Great location, and rooms are always clean and well maintained. It is a short drive from Queenstown itself, but handy to airport. It is lovely and quiet, the restaurants are great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Grant V

Thank you your feedback. It's great to share your experience with the team. Your becoming a bit of a regular and should make sure you are joining our Hilton Honors programme, it's a great way to be rewarded for loyalty

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great value for money $130.00-NZ. A nice room with lake views good heating and internet access. The fact it is on the opposite lake shore to Queenstown we found a bonus as it is nice and peaceful. Queens town is a short water taxi ride across the lake if you wish to go to town. Had dinner at "stacks", a pub in the complex; the food was well priced and tasty. A shame there are not more places that provide this sort of overall value and service in the South Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Bob C

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay. I agree that the hotel offers great value for money, and whilst we are not always consistent, it is great to read how much you enjoyed your experience.

Come and see us again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

During the day the hotel is really nice to stay in. It looks great and has all the expected amenities including good bars and a classy restaurant. The staff were awesome and easy to interact with. But there were 3 things that disappointed us. The aircon unit was noisy and kept us awake the first night. The built-in bath plug (with shower over) got stuck on the first day and remained a problem throughout our stay, despite our request to get it fixed. And the bed was too hard. So in summary we really enjoyed our days there but our nights could have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Barry C

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We have started to add the bath plugs to our routine maintenance checks and I apologise this was not rectified during your stay.

We are also currently finishing the services on the a/c units that will reduce the noise, again this could of been completed during your stay. I will review the bed comfort with our Executive Housekeeper as we rarely receive comments about the bed not being comfortable.

Once again thanks for the feedback, it all helps us to improve the service we offer

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twizel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arranged to check in at 4.00pm but arrived at 4.30pm to find the housekeeping staff leaving as they had just "made up" our room. This did not seem a good start! We had booked for two nights and based on the web site and photos thought we were going to have a lakeview. We were extremely disappointed to find our "back of hotel room" was dark and looked out on weeds and a concrete reinforced wall! Reception advised us we could be upgraded to a lake view room for an extra $49 per night. Despite being told the new room would be ready in five minutes it took 45 minutes. We had planned to dine at the Me Mee Restaurant but it was closed along with the in house bar. We ordered a paper on the evening of arrival and when it had not arrived by 9.30am in the morning we phoned reception. Three calls later to the MAGIC number we got an answer. Finally 30minutes later The Southland Times was delivered when we had asked for an ODT or Press!
The room had no face cloths and we were provided with only 2 teabags. While there was a coffee plunger no real coffee was provided. While all of these things are minor in their own right, overall we found the service and atmosphere lacking in this Hilton group hotel compared to a variety of hotels in NZ and overseas we have stayed at. It was over priced for what it was and a disappointment for a treat weekend away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twizelites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Twizelites

Thank you for your review. Your feedback, albeit not good, is much appreciated and allows us opportunity to improve the services we offer.

Rest assured your feedback is not reflective of the overall service we offer and I am sorry we failed to deliver a great experience for you.

I would like to have the opportunity to give you a better experience so please contact me at andrew.nisbet@hilton.com

I am confident your next visit will be as expected

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights.
We needed to change room because we have booked an extra night before our scheduled stay and they upgraded us to a better view room.
Although it is a little bit away from downtown it is an excellent hotel, with excellent location on the lake and terrific lake view. Isolated and quiet, excellent service, variety of options and facilities. Amazing breakfast at the lake view restaurant of the next door Hilton Hotel, boat taxi service to downtown Queenstown.
It was the perfect for our Queenstown honeymoon stay.

Room Tip: Prefer a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dleliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear dleliot

Nice to read a great review and that your honeymoon was an enjoyable time. We all feel very lucky to work here and when we read great reviews it makes it that little bit more special.

Thank you

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was very modern and had nice decor but did not have any writing/dining table. Food had to be consumed and emails done at the sofa low table, which is very uncomfortable. Finding the reception to check in is difficult as road signs were non existent. Also, as I was at the "best" room type facing the lake, I must assume that my view was as good as it gets. The view is blocked by the Residences run by Hilton and the Kawarau hotel only has views of a small part ( a corner) of the lake. Maybe that's why Hilton brands this hotel as such. It found it odd that whilst Hilton manages many hotels owned by others, it doesn't make it so specifically clear in the hotel's brand name. Maybe this is to clearly show that it is not a Hilton hotel?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear kt785

Thank you for your feedback. We are looking at re branding the hotel to one of our Hilton brands that will enhance the offerings, but unfortunately, due to space, we will not be able to add a table. We do have some rooms that are larger that have a desk so next time let us know and we ill allocate one for you.

Thanks again for the review

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing