We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best stay in our NZ trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Maybe the best stay in our NZ trip”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights.
We needed to change room because we have booked an extra night before our scheduled stay and they upgraded us to a better view room.
Although it is a little bit away from downtown it is an excellent hotel, with excellent location on the lake and terrific lake view. Isolated and quiet, excellent service, variety of options and facilities. Amazing breakfast at the lake view restaurant of the next door Hilton Hotel, boat taxi service to downtown Queenstown.
It was the perfect for our Queenstown honeymoon stay.

Room Tip: Prefer a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dleliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear dleliot

Nice to read a great review and that your honeymoon was an enjoyable time. We all feel very lucky to work here and when we read great reviews it makes it that little bit more special.

Thank you

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    419
    151
    52
    31
See reviews for
178
662
77
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was very modern and had nice decor but did not have any writing/dining table. Food had to be consumed and emails done at the sofa low table, which is very uncomfortable. Finding the reception to check in is difficult as road signs were non existent. Also, as I was at the "best" room type facing the lake, I must assume that my view was as good as it gets. The view is blocked by the Residences run by Hilton and the Kawarau hotel only has views of a small part ( a corner) of the lake. Maybe that's why Hilton brands this hotel as such. It found it odd that whilst Hilton manages many hotels owned by others, it doesn't make it so specifically clear in the hotel's brand name. Maybe this is to clearly show that it is not a Hilton hotel?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear kt785

Thank you for your feedback. We are looking at re branding the hotel to one of our Hilton brands that will enhance the offerings, but unfortunately, due to space, we will not be able to add a table. We do have some rooms that are larger that have a desk so next time let us know and we ill allocate one for you.

Thanks again for the review

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second stay in the Queenstown area. Last time we stayed in central Queenstown but this time we stayed further afield at the Kawarau Hotel in Frankton. We enjoyed the location, Queenstown was only a few minutes away by bus or boat, and our suite was outstanding with superb views of the lake. It was better than a hotel room, but smaller than an apartment. The kitchen had a two-burner cooktop, a bar-sized fridge, a tiny oven and a microwave. Packages of instant coffee are provided but I needed real coffee - I was able to request a plunger coffee pot and bought ground coffee and other groceries at the nearby supermarket in Remarkables Park. As HHonors members, we weren't sure how the "managed by Hilton" moniker would transfer to privileges. Well, I'm happy to say there was no difference - as far as we were concerned, it was a Hilton hotel. Transport wasn't an issue for us as we had rented a car (in my opinion an absolute must in order to visit Arrowtown, Wanaka, Milford, Cromwell, Gibbston etc) but we also used the water taxi ($NZ15/US$12 pp return) to go to downtown Queenstown in the evenings - advisable if you plan to have a drink or two. The connectabus ($6 pp return) went right past our unit but we never had a need to use it. One special thing about this location is the walking/biking path along the lakeshore. To the left must be the most beautiful walk in the entire world up to Frankton Golf Course and, if you have the energy, even further to Jack's Point. To the right is another beautiful (but long!) walk all the way to downtown Queenstown. On the negative side, the wifi is very expensive but apparently (we didn't try it) there is free wifi in the business center of the Hilton hotel next door. It's true that the small balconies are entirely filled by the airconditioner - can't fault the hotel management for that but the architect should have been fired!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank covecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear covecutie

What a fabulous review and so informative. It was great that you took the time to advise people of the great areas to visit, this really is a remarkable region of the world.

The team were so pleased to read how you enjoyed our village. Next time come and stay at the Hilton, another great experience

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were thrilled when we walked into our room, the "King Kawarau Deluxe" room which looks onto the lake. Very cosy living space and the bedroom is partitioned from it by a sliding door. Modern decor of the room was a nice change from B&B stays. Overall, well furnished, spacious with a lovely view of the lake and view of the town across the other side. Will need a car to reach the location as it is off the town centre, the restaurant in the premises serves delicious food, and it's pretty popular hence reservations are recommended. Staff seems to be kept to a minimum but it could be due to it being off-season. The Kawarau Village has 3 types of residences and King Kawarau was not very well signed so initially we ended up at the more luxurious hotel side with was nearly $400 per night! Ask for directions to get to the right residences.

Room Tip: Ask for the "King Kawarau Deluxe" room with lake view, it comes with complimentary interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Charlotte S

Thank you for your great feedback. You are right that during the low season staffing is to a minimum and we try to ensure that does not impact on your experience. Nice to read we delivered a good experience to you and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe Kawarau suite. it's definitely smaller than I'd expected – quite compact. But it does include a reasonably equipped kitchenette which was an attraction for us. And the rooms were nicely decorated, clean and tidy. It's on the other side of the lake to Queenstown town centre, but that's only a 10 minute drive away. I wouldn't stay here without a car, though theoretically that's possible by using a bus that goes through the complex and water taxis. It's quiet, which again suited us, though there was access to the Hilton's restaurants and bars, and a couple of other outlets if you want to use them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear kiwi095

Sorry for the delay in responding.
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Also thank you for pointing out the various transport options into Queenstown, when you add that the sun shines on the village all day you have a great venue.

Come and see again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were quite impressed with our two nights in a "King Kawarau Deluxe" room, looking onto the lake. The room was in three parts: the entryway has a pretty comprehensive kitchen area, which leads into a lounge space with TV, seating, table etc, and finally there's a bedroom area. The bathroom is also quite large and comes off the lounge. There is a tiny balcony but the airconditioning unit takes up virtually all the space on it - though that isn't a great fault in my view. The rooms are well equipped and tastefully furnished; see my photos for a better idea.

The complex is set out in a village layout, with various buildings and streets winding between them, on a fairly steep hill. It's close to Queenstown Airport but about 20mins drive from Queenstown itself. There is a (privately run) water taxi every hour (about 10am-6pm if I remember correctly) which is reasonably priced, and a lot of fun - I highly recommend it! Alternatively there's a public bus service or you could take a taxi.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and were very unimpressed - I had to ask to be seated, then for menus, then approach the bar with my order (as opposed to the waiter taking the order as they did with others), and then had to ask where our food was almost 30 minutes later. We sat for 15 minutes waiting to be asked about dessert before finally giving up and leaving. (And it was only my conscience that made me go in and ask to pay for the meal - I suspect I'd otherwise still be waiting for a bill!) The restaurant experience really surprised me as the other staff we encountered all seemed very helpful and interested in their jobs! I was glad to find quite a few alternative eateries a mile or so up the road close to the airport, in the township of Frankton.

Overall I liked this hotel as it had a nice clean, modern design, and the rooms were everything one could need for a short break. The location would be an issue if you wanted to be "in the thick of the action" in Queenstown, but if you have a hired car or are prepared to do (minimal) planning to use public transport, or if you value the relative serenity of being a little out-of-town, then this is the place for you. Just don't plan on eating in their restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank so3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear so3003

Firstly please accept my apologies for the delay in responding.
Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read we had failed to deliver great service in the restaurant. Rest assured I have spoken to all concerned to ensure we improve in those service areas.

It was nice to read you enjoyed your room and the team you encountered.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I felt cosy in my deluxe junior suite with great lake view over a lawn. Shower, not bath; bedroom corner with sliding door, plus kitchenette. Restaurant and bar at Hilton.
The grey layered stone walls fascinated me and seemed to come from near the hotel.
Both the Kawarau and the Hilton are thoroughly enjoyable. Due to lower price I've been generous rating the Kawarau. A double lock might have been nice, as would have a face flannel. Skeleton staff were helpful and relaxed.

Room Tip: View, please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expectans_expectavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Expectans_expectavi

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. The schist finishing on the hotel is very appealing and quite unique to Queenstown.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing