We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked a kingsize deluxe room with lake views ! Room was tiny , one small window overlooked the lake, bedroom was tiny pod , no windows at all in bedroom ,
Very dissapoointed especially after reading the great reviews on here !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timeoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Timeoutnow

Thank you for placing your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the room. It is a shame you did not request to be shown a different layout.

Thank you again
Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We wanted something special for a mid week break and the Kawarau Hotel was our choice.

Close enough to Queenstown Airport, on the Lakefront, yet away from the hustle and bustle of Town made this a perfect choice for our, all too short, stay.

Check-in was quick, easy and stress free. Rooms; ours was a standard King with Lake view. Good sized bedroom, smallish bathroom with shower over bath (not my preference), good size vanity and Toilet, in our case all with a Lake View. Modest living area with mini galley kitchen area.

Tried The Lake Counter, a combined Cafe come convenience store, for Brunch while awaiting the water taxi to go into the Town. Nice enough, good coffee, great view. Oh, and the water taxi is a must do. Just be aware first trip is 12:30pm so sleep-ins and lazy mornings are guilt free.

Dinner was at Stacks Pub, a pleasant pizza with a glass of wine, or 2. Casual dining with a good pub atmosphere and a great open fire for those chilly evenings.

Clean, tidy, modern affordable Hotel in a 'to die for' location. So if you are looking for something a little different, a little special and affordable in a quiet setting. Then the Kawarau Hotel is worth consideration.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Rob_Angel

I appreciate you taking the time to place your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel managed by Hilton.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make use of the many facilities within the village.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here the last two nights of our trip to NZ. Booked through Qantas by our travel companions. Checking in was a problem due to the way the rooms were booked but it was soon sorted out by the staff. Do not know what type rooms were booked but guess it might have been advertised as lake view which it was not. Also the AC unit was on the "balcony"! Was not a usable balcony even if the unit was not there. The whole decorating scheme of the hotel was too modern for us..lots of black. The room had a galley kitchen unit as we walked in, then living area with tv, uncomfortable couch and a chair and coffee table. No where to eat any food we might have prepared in the kitchen. The bathroom is a lawsuit waiting to happen. Who designs a bathroom with an incline leading into it? Even knowing it was there we kept tripping! The toilet was behind the door in a very odd way also. The bedroom was sleek. Great comfortable bed. But no tv and the tv in the living area swiveled, but not far enough to be seen from the bed. There was a sliding door to close off the bedroom, but we noticed that if you did this there did not appear to be any ventilation in the bedroom. Odd. The wifi was ridiculous. It was $29 for 24 hours or $19 for one hour. And that was for ONE device. Spoke to reception and they advised they would delete the charge for the other devices. And they did. Loved the location. Near the airport for our morning flight. Took the water taxi in to Queenstown on St Patrick's Day and spent the day in town. Ate in Stacks one night. The food was delicious. We sat on a covered, but open, porch area with a view of the lake. Really lovely. The prices at the restaurant in the Hilton were very high but the place looked awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Darcy

Thank you for placing your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I understand your comment regarding the air conditioning unit. Unfortunately at the time of construction, there was no alternative area to place the unit. The bathrooms were installed as completed units with the step being required as a health regulation. This is something we will be reviewing when our first renovation falls due.
I am happy to advise we do offer complimentary internet in the Hilton Business Centre.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your dining experience at Stacks Pub.

Thank you again and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

GOOD THINGS:
I stayed in this hotel for 14 nights and it was fantastic.
I stayed in the Queen Studio appartment (which had breakfast included) which had a little lounge area, self contained kitchenette bedroom and bathroom of course.
Every day the rooms were serviced and the staff were always friendly and knew what they were talking about.
The hotel was on the other side of the Waikatipu lake from the township of Queenstown and was very quiet and pieceful which was good for me as i was using this time to relax.
The hotel is about a 5-7 min drive from the airport and i walked here on a number of occasions and it only took 15 mins over the Kawarau Bridge.
I would not suggest this hotel if you want easy and quick access to town as there was only 2 types of public transport other than a taxi (which would be approx $50-$60NZ to town). The water taxi was great and takes approx 7-8 mins to get into town ($10 one way or $15 return for the day) and there was a public bus which took approx 15-20 mins to get into town ($7 one way or $8 return for the day).
At the hotel there was the 'Stacks Pub' which was very reasonable in price (i ate there often), the actual restaurant (i did not eat here so i can not comment on price or how good it was) and there is also a little cafe/upmarket deli which provided very basic daily needs. I found this deli to be quite expensive so i preferred to go into town to buy my groceries.
Breakfast - OMG this was a highlight of the stay!! This was a smorgasboard of food and drinks. There was everything from 5-6 types of juices, 4 x cereals, hot breakfast inc. bacon, eggs, hash browns, sausages, baked beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, pancakes, 5 x types of breads to toast, 5-6 different fruits, 2-3 different flavoured yoghurts, cheese, crackers, cured meats, asian breakfast inc. noodles, dumplings etc. I could not believe my eyes when i had all of these choices every day of my stay!! i was so happy as brekky is my fav meal of the day, i was in heaven.

BAD THINGS:
There is no laundry facilities on site to do any washing (there is a dry cleaning service - FAR TOO EXPENSIVE eg. it was $6.20 to have 1 x t-shirt washed) i had to go into the township of Queenstown to complete my washing when i needed to. My first suggestion to the Hilton is to add a laundry to their site for this very purpose.
I am a lover of going to the gym and a little bit of swimming but to use the gym it was $20 per visit and it was the same for the swimming pool $20 per visit. This i find to be absolutely absurd!!! I was not going to even entertain this idea at my stay here. I truley believe that for the amount of money that one pays to stay at a place like this the hotel could have atleast made the gym and pool free to use, even if it was between certain times of the day.
Even though the actual internet was free to use at the Hilton Hotel i would have liked to use Wifi on my phone but this again was so astronomically high that i was not going to entertain this idea either. I was quoted $19 for 15 mins, this is approx 6-7 times higher than any other hotel that i know of who offers wifi. Again for the price one pays there could have been free wifi for all custmers.
I would stay here again as i did enjoy my stay and it was luxurious, but i think when making my next booking i would probably call them and negotiate to have free wifi and to have the use of the gym with in my stay.
I do recommend this hotel but dont expect to get any freebies.

Room Tip: Make sure you add in to have breakfast every morning on your stay, you will not regret this and ever...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Shannon

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel managed by Hilton.

I understand your comment regarding the pool/gym area. The Hilton Hotel is 5 star and guests pay alot more to stay in this hotel. Therefore the facilities need to reflect that.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your breakfast selection.
Thank you again and I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were suprised by just how nice this place was! We got a really great room with a huge bed, full kitchen, and beautiful bathroom. Everything was very modern chic, very enjoyable! It was just a few minutes drive from the hotel to downtown Queenstown, there was a water taxi available but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amers815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear amers815

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice property, but seriously you pay $120 per week for wifi, and that is only good for one device, so if you have two computers and two iPhones you are paying $480 per week....seriously insane and as a result I am not a happy camper....

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, in spite of the Wifi issues.....You will want to have a lake view roo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Laurie

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor.

I understand your comment regarding the internet and am happy to advise we offer complimentary internet in the Hilton Business Centre.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A new clean modern chic hotel which is even equipped with a kitchenette - stove, microwave, fridge, sink. The feeling is great from the walk into the lobby all the way to the room. It's everything you really need in a hotel as long as you have a car to get around and don't mind being removed from the action of Queenstown. A cinema room is also available although we ran out of time to use it. Beds were comfortable and the room was sufficiently big. A pity about the 'balcony' being occupied by the air con unit although it wouldn't be too useful for much else apart from standing anyway.

Will definitely consider staying here again!

Just a quick side note - the amenities like soap and shampoo don't have to be thrown away, wasted and replaced every single day. It was a big bar of soap too! It just seems to contradict with the whole "don't change the sheets to save the environment" theme. And with the tea selection - either have a bigger range of other teas or at least be consistent with the replacement of them. A hot chocolate/milo option would also be appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ANZ787900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear ANZ787900

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for your suggestions.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $138 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing