We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel a plus if staying in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very good accommodation. Staff were friendly. Little bit far from town center, but not a problem with the water taxi or if you have a car. Room was very well priced, very clean and had an amazing breakfast. We also had a great meal at Me & Mee Noodle Bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimZerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear JimZerbe

Great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
Thank you for sharing your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is very close to the airport and not too far from downtown Queestown but transportation is required to get there. The rooms are very nice and clean. It is in a very quiet and peaceful location if you are looking to be away from the downtown activity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsiemion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear dsiemion

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, fab hotel and nice and quiet room with great facilities - the best night's sleep I've had in ages. Be careful of the mosquitoes when you open your balcony door at night and the Internet access is costly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouB818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear LouB818

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself. We have had an unusually hot summer which unfortunately has attracted some mosquitoes.
I would like to advise we do offer complimentary internet in the Hilton Business Centre.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On our recent, first trip to New Zealand and Queenstown, our party of 3 couples stayed at the Kawarau Hotel. The hotel is just outside the city of Queenstown but is located on the edge of the lake. It's a quiet, peaceful setting. While there, we were surprised to see the Prime Minister of Australia happened to be here for some sort of conference.

The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds with several in-room amenities. With the exception of one pizza, we decided to eat our meals in Queenstown (just because the city had so much to offer).

If you've rented a car, it only takes 10 minutes to drive around the end of the lake and be in the heart of Queenstown. If I was ever to return to Queestown, I would definitely book again at the Kawarau Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear GLaker

Nice to hear you enjoyed yourselves during your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Would stay here again without a doubt a marvolous hotel and the water taxi is so easy to get to and drops u off in yhe center of queenstown go to the lone star for a lovely meal husband would defenently rate the ribs and staff are great

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear sanandtone

Great to hear you had a good time and thank you for your positive review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pros were very well priced room with an amazing breakfast (both food and staff contributed to this). Only cons were overpriced wifi and after a day out we came back to the room to discover that our bathroom door had locked itself from the inside and we required maintenance to fix this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZColtsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear NZColtsFan

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I understand your remark regarding wifi and we do offer complimentary internet in the HIlton Business Centre.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton and found the hotel to be very stylish and modern. we got a great price online and then got an upgrade on the room when we arrived. The receptionist was very friendly, and we had a great walk round the lake on the nearby track.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear TCS78

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $138 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing