We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic rooms, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
TN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chic rooms, great value!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of December for 3 nights in a king lakeview room. The room was clean with modern decor. The hotel is about a ten minute drive to Queenstown. We got a terrific rate for the room. Hilton gold members get free continental breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the lake for two people (about $50/day value) and free wireless ($29/day value). Breakfast was lovely - fresh squeezed juices, breads, fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereal, cheeses, meats, etc. The room was very quiet. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best lakeview rooms are on the second floor (not third floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Elsie

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves during your stay at the Kawarau Hotel managed by Hilton.
Thank you for sharing your comments and I am pleased you liked the breakfast options.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    416
    150
    52
    30
See reviews for
176
652
76
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

For the price you pay, it's definitely the best you can pay for a hotel in Queenstown. New hotel and superb quality! It's close to a lake and with excellent breakfast and service. The only disadvantage is that it's slightly far from the city centre.

Room Tip: Gotta rent a car as it's slightly away from the city centre. But other that, it's the perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkkchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear jkkchow

Great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Expect a good experience. Location and facilities world class. Transport to town center by water taxi inexpensive and fun. Motorcycle friendly with underground parking and easy access. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Terry

Great to see you will stay again. Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, with extremely helpful, friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. However, the hotel really let down by it's location on the other side of the lake from the center of town. Water taxi is the most convenient way to get across the lake, but these only run once an hour and only in the afternoon. Otherwise it's a once-an-hour, two-bus affair, or an incredible $60 taxi fare. I also have to mark this hotel down for the lack of free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel. $40 a day for internet access is pretty riddiculous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear cityOfangels

I appreciate your review and thank you for mentioning our friendly helpful team members.

It is a pity you did not enjoy the location as this usually receives good reviews.
We do offer complimentary internet access in the HIlton business centre and HIlton Worldwide are reviewing their fees.

Thank you again and I do hope you will return again one day soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Kawarua for almost a week and found the rooms and venue to be very well done and nicely designed. The staff were generally quite helpful, although we were particularly disappointed with room service. At one point we were told it would take over an hour for a bowl of soup to be delivered to the room. Room service was unable to answer questions quickly, in one case it took over an hour to get a response to a question about dietary restrictions.

It is nice that you can use some of the amenities of the Hilton (which is next door and manages the Kawarua) but you have to book a spa appointment to use the pool and hot tub, and while the spa is excellent, they have only one person working the desk who also is responsible for booking appointments and escorting people to the locker room, so if you are trying to call for an appointment it can be very frustrating.

While there are several food outlets, the noodle place is only open for a few hours in the evening and not for lunch or take-away during the day.

Transportation is a bit of a challenge unless you have a car. The bus only leaves once an hour during the day, and you have to transfer in Frankton to get into the city (this can take a while). The water taxi is quite expensive, at $10 one way and $15 return, and doesn't operate in the morning. This can mean that you have to opt for taxis in the morning or late evening, which can be $25 into town.

Finally, internet is very expensive and is $29 per day. This is really unacceptable as many bars and restaurants in the city provide internet free of charge. In this day and age there is really no excuse for charging so much money for internet to hotel guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_Traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Julie

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the rooms and venue.

I apologise for the delays incurred over this busy season with in room dining service.

Yes you are correct, if you book a treatment with the spa you have unlimited access to the pool and sauna areas. However, if you do not wish to use the spa, you are able to pay a fee of $20 to access these areas. The Hilton is a five star hotel and guests pay alot more to stay at the Hilton therefore the facilities need to reflect that.

We do offer complimentary access in the Hilton business centre and Hilton worldwide are reviewing their internet fees.

Thank you for mentioning the various options for travelling to Queenstown. These are economical and very popular choices for our guests.

I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Kawarau Hotel and was very impressed by the rooms. Small lounge area, flat screen TV, modern furnishings and everything was new and clean. Comfortable bed with sliding door to close off the bedroom from the lounge. We had drinks at the Stacks Pub and sat outside looking towards the lake. We had dinner and breakfast in the Wakatipu Grill. Dinner was delicious with excellent service. Brekkie was also great with a huge selection to choose from. Pretty location with views across the lake towards Queenstown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear vixenbird

Thank you for your positive review. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We didn't get off to a good start as the wrong room had been booked and we got the feeling they were doing us a favour changing it to what it should have been. (Twin not double). The room booked was smaller than average and was without the balcony specifically requested and promised. (The balcony that was attached to the room consisted of a huge air conditioning unit only - which I think was misleading.) It took three days of asking to finally get a different pillow as those provided were huge and although they looked good they weren't practical to sleep on and consequently we didn't sleep well the first two nights.We actually waited in the lobby until they brought the pillows to us. The decor was tasteful and modern but there was no privacy as the floor to ceiling window looked straight out onto the road so the curtain needed to be drawn most of the time blocking out the minimal view from the first floor. The parking basement was virtually always full and it was difficult to find a park with very few on-street options.The location across the lake from central Queenstown was preferable as it was quieter. They insisted on putting $100 a day onto my credit card for incidentals even though they had my credit card details as we had paid in advance and we actually didn't purchase anything from the Hotel during our stay. They then credited the amount on our departure. Their explanation was that my card may now not be valid etc.- which it was. We felt the Hotel was trading off it's association with the Hilton but when it suited them they certainly didnt provide the service or standard the Hilton is known for. All these negatives are not huge, but the sum is enough that I won't be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jude

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Kawarau Hotel managed by Hilton. I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. I am sorry to hear that we fell short of our usually very high level of personal and hospitable service and thank you for bringing this to my attention

I further appreciate your comment regarding the credit card authorisation taken upon arrival at the hotel. A credit card authorisation is not a charge however is an approval guarantee held by the issuing credit card merchant or bank as guarantee.

I understand your frustration with the car parking, unfortunately when we have full occupancy, it does put a strain on the parking spaces. With over 300 rooms full, there will always be the need for parking to encroach on the street area.

I understand how important it is for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated. I do hope you will re consider staying with us again to allow us to show our usual high standard of service given.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing