We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sofa bed?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

sofa bed in the living room?
i want to ask is there sofa bed in every king guestroom? or only the king deluxe room? because there's no information about the sofa bed on the website so i am looking for someone who had experience stay in Kawarau

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank eric2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear eric2003

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I appreciate your enquiry regarding the sofa beds. As only a selcection of rooms have this configuration, they are not specified on the website. You need to make this request at the time of reservation so the correct room can be assigned. If this is not stated, there is no guarantee this room type will be available.

Thank you again and I hope you have the opportunity to return sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Finding KAWARAU HOTEL proved to be a bit like looking for a needle in a haystack because the roads had changed since our Google and GPS maps were drawn. But we got there in the end. The “room” was incredible – it was actually a luxurious apartment, with a separate bedroom, kitchenette and living area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessakoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear vanessakoh

I am pleased you found us and enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately due to Transit New Zealand's restrictions, we are unable to sign post the hotel from the main highway.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Kawarau hotel is located in a excellent location, set amongst a scenic lake. The rooms are clean and tidy and there is a private ferry to main queenstown centre. What impressed me was good rates along with a nice walk next to a lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaidheeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear jaidheeru

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for sharing your comments.
We are very lucky to have such a stunning location.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights there during my NZ trip this year. It is far away from Queenstown in a complex that doesn't look finished, I had this feeling of a post zombie apocalypse video game (as PossumJoy perfectly pointed out in his review).
I was happy with the room, spacious and bright with a comfy bed, people working in the reception were nice and trying to be as helpful as possible, the bar next door serving pretty good food. 5 minutes to the airport..

I didn't like the place where hotel is based, about 15 mins drive to the the centre of Queenstown, the room was clean, but the empty shower gel bottles were not collected from the shower tub (did they clean it??). there supposed to be a few places to eat around, but some of them were closed and I couldn't find any information about that.

Overall, nice hotel in a place a little too far from Queenstown, but close to the airport. If you like silence and don't want to see too many people during your stay, it is a place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msidw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear msidw77

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay at the hotel and your feedback is most appreciated.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return sometime.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Firstly, the room was nice. We had a King Kawarau Deluxe Lakeview, although it seemed a little compact and I felt that it would be much nicer as a studio type room. Free parking, reception were lovely.

The hotel however is not in the heart of Queenstown, and is a 10-minute drive so not really close to anything except a McDonalds up the road and some food places that are built into the complex. Given another chance to stay in Queenstown I would definitely pick something that is closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Freen4

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
Queenstown is a very small town so everything is relatively close. There is the Remarkables Park shopping centre which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel adjacent to the airport.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting New Zealand.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in this self-contained apartment in our 19 days ski holiday in queenstown last winter (aug, 2012). this hotel was the BEST (better than Hilton, in terms of value. if i have time, i will write a review about hilton queenstown later).

our one bedroom apartment was on the north side of level 2 and we could barely see the lake. the lake view is not important to us, but still better than the drive way view (if your room is facing south).

i would say that the rooms were modern and compact rather than LARGE. the room size was just good for us. If you are the kind of old-fashioned and after LARGE size rooms, you may want to book in St Moritz Queenstown (cough! check my first ever review on that horrible hotel, in my opinion though. cough!)

you will be provided with everything you need to make a meal which saves a lot of money compared to eating out (big mac or kfc excluded).

the bed was big for two people, but honestly it was not the most comfortable we had ever slept on. (the one in Hilton was better, but the best ever bed was offered in a five-star boutique hotel in Tasmania....)

The location of the hotel is as good (or as bad, if you want to argue) as Hilton Queenstown. We always had rental car, so it is not a problem for us at all. It is also closer to Remarkable compared to any hotels in frankton or queenstown. it is an advantage for anyone that wants to ski in the remarkable (BUT the remarkable is boring...)

no swimming pool or fitness centre in this hotel, but you can use Hilton's if you want (you have to pay). we did not use and did not care. that being said, when we stayed in hilton, we did use its swimming pool, quite good :)

Room Tip: lv 2 and above facing north (the lake), if you are desperate to have to lake view but are not willin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Eric

Thank you for sharing your detailed review following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a night through the wotif company - firstly the positive aspects of the stay; reasonable price, polite reception staff, free parking, clean.

The negatives - the 'village' that Kawarau Hotel is in has the atmosphere of a post zombie apocalypse video game and about two other people were seen the whole time. Eerie. The hotel is definitely not in Queenstown (as stated on wotif), but is in fact at least 10 minutes drive away.

In all - there are nicer places to stay closer to Queenstown. Glad it was only one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PossumJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Possum Joy

I appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I am sorry you felt like you were in a 'zombie game' October is typically a quieter month for this area. I do hope you have the opportunity to return and experience the hustle and bustle of our busy village sometime soon.

Kine regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,534 reviews
4.3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $148 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing